We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Retreat”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Retreat”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was at Ras Kutani for a Yoga retreat and I cannot tell you how relaxing it was. The service was impeccable and the food was phenomenal! I felt as though I was at home yet so far away from reality (the busy hustle and bustle of work and routine).

The ocean breeze and sounds of nature just blew me away.

Living in Dar-es-Salaam, I will definitely be back again for the peace and silence.

I recommend it anyone who wants to spend quality time with family, friends or just themselves.

Great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayesha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
178
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had four nights here after a seven night safari. It was perfect, amazing setting, fabulous food and really friendly and helpful staff. We were woken gently each morning by our tea and biscuits being put on the table on our veranda, a lovely start to the day sitting there overlooking the lagoon and watching the kingfishers and monkeys. The beach was excellent and we made good use of the boogie boards and snorkel equipment. when we could stir ourselves from our sun loungers. The food was gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendacliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for only 1 night during a weekend break from work in Dar es Salaam but the experience was lovely. The staff were great and very accomodating and allowed us to check out later that was required! The beach was also very nice and clean - although they were a few jelly fish washed up on the shore! The food was simple but nice - the buffet dinner could have been better though with more variety.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

From reception to check-out, thie staff at this resort did everything to cater to our wishes. The food, accommodation, service and side trips were all memorable and completely to our liking.
Pathways of beach sand connect all the facilities, so shoes are not needed nor recommended once you arrive. The room is spacious with an enormous bed, and with clean and modern facilities. The veranda had a beautiful view of the lagoon and the beach, an egret was parked outside our room most days to inspect the fish!
A fine restaurant and a beautiful beach added to the enjoyment.
Marc, Lana and their staff did a wonderful job in making us feel part of the family and added many insights in the Tanzanian experience as did a visit to a local village.
We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms 5-9 offer a great view of the lagoon and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were thankfully recommended this fabulous place as a pre safari unwind on our honeymoon. It was so the right thing to do.
This is the epitome of barefoot luxury. It had no pretensions at all, but just offered total relaxation, beautiful food, cheerful staff, and simple effortless authentic luxury.
We had one of the suites, with an incredible view over the resort out to the sea. It is not Four Seasons luxury, which would be so inappropriate here, but tasteful, immaculate and comfortable villas. We had bags of space (the bed would sleep 4) and an outside plungepool and loungers. Plus a terrace either side. Our window was a sheer panoramic mosquito net around the front 3 walls, so we would always have a delicious breeze and the sound of the sea. No wonder we unwound in 24 hours.
The kitchen were very aware of my wifes dairy allergies, and ensured there were no mistakes.
Body boarding in the warm sea was great fun, as was our hilarious New Years Eve with other guests and staff. Its an easygoing place so easy to get chatting to the other happy guests, many of who are regular expats living in dar es Salaam 90 minutes drive away.
We arrived on a small plane on a dirt runway which was great fun, especially considering I am not a massive flyer. Highly recommend the extra splurge for the experience.
All in all a perfect short getaway. They say 3-4 nights, though now back at work, I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamcd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What a heavenly place!.We visited Ras Kutani on our 1st wedding anniversary.
If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind,then this is the place to be.

We booked Ras Kutani through 'African Quest safaris in Nairobi for 4 nights.They did an excellent job in handling our booking.Thanks Mr.Taher for a job well done!

We took suite 1(i highly recommend this) which is on a raised ground with splendid view of the ocean.It has a plunge pool as well.
Ladies be warned,you dont need your shoes there.From the room to the lounge is pure white soft sand.

The service is wonderful and consistent.The staff were very knowledgeable about the food being served and would go to great lengths to explain each and every quiz asked.
The room is kept clean at all times and the facilities just awesome.

The only advise i can give is YOU NEED TO EXPERIENCED IT! it can be explained in writing.

Room Tip: Try suite 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank onekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Ras Kutani for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic. We stayed in one of the bungalows overlooking the lagoon and the beach, which had an huge bed, a lovely bathroom and dressing area and a fantastic terrace which had two hammocks and a nice seating area.

Whilst we loved the cottages and the way in which they were decorated and constructed so that they were very cool and open, the best thing about Ras Kutani is definitely the staff and the small things that are done to make a stay at Ras Kutani truly special: Lana and Marc manage the hotel wonderfully and arranged some lovely suprises during our stay and the other staff around the hotel are really friendly and chatty; the beach hut contained lots of equipment that could be borrowed at no charge; the drinks and other extras (e.g. massages) were very reasonably priced (again, in contrast to other beach hotels we stayed in on Zanzibar) and the food was very very good.

In short, this was the best possible start to our honeymoon and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
23.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
20.6 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing