We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great management, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, great management, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked a week here to relax after the rigours of safari. Wonderful setting with people who really know how to make guests feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Food and wines both excellent. Will definitely come back and would recommend it to anyone.

One improvement point - Tanzania produces some great high quality coffee !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deaddogsdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear oharae

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate guests taking the time and effort to write comments about our camps. We appreciate your coffee comment and you'll be pleased to hear that even though the old brand was also Tanzanian coffee we have changed to another brand - so when you come back again please let us know what you think of it! All guest feedback is much appreciated so we can improve our service and we do our very best to tick every box!

We look forward to hosting you again
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
175
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rijsenhout, NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

A white beach, bamboo sun beds, barefoot walking throughout the resort, hammocks with ocean view, excellent food, more than accommodating staff, cottages furnished with the bright colours of Africa, relaxing lounge area, etc etc. A perfect quiet hideaway where only monkeys break the silence playfully and the waves breaking on the sand make you aware of the open nature that you are staying in.

Many high quality resort accommodate for chique, but at Ras Kutani the African chique accommodates you.

Room Tip: We preferred a beach cottage with open space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Mieke Z

What a wonderful review - thank you so much! Feels like you truly captured the spirit of Ras Kutani and I really hope you return to experience it again

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Whether you are looking for a break from the city or from the safari or from anything, Ras Kutani is the perfect break. Great food, attentive staff and ideal location on the beach. We have been several times, with family, friends and just the two of us - enjoyed each one more than the last one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suites for those seeking total total privacy... otherwise all rooms have sea and sand in abundant ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear MJB-Travel

Thank you for your review - it means so much that you have come back again and again - with your family and just as a couple - Ras Kutani is a perfect place for everyone to relax and as you say if its from a city or a safari - you couldn't find a better place to get balanced and revitalized!

Come back again and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I spent 5 blissful nights at Ras Kutani having packed up our house and life in South Africa in three short but busy weeks. Ras Kutani, Lana and her staff provided the perfect antidote to the intensity of the move, thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear JamesHAfrica

Thank you for reviewing Ras Kutani - especially considering how busy you must be now settling into your new home! Thank you for your feedback and we were delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us and it was a good relaxing tonic for your hectic schedule.

Karibu tena and enjoy your new home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Is even better than the photos! We choose this resort hotel to rest after our safari as it is small, not touristy and 'African.' The chalets were lovely and ours had an amazing view of the ocean and the lagoon. The food was excellent and, as it was our birthdays, we had a private dinner on the boat landing jetty and a birthday cake. The staff were very friendly and attentive, referring to us by name. There were few activities but as we were resting after our safari this is one of the reasons we choose to come here. Most people on safari were going to Zanzibar but as we wanted minimal travel this was the perfect beach break to end our holiday.

We flew from Selous Game Reserve direct to Ras Kutani with Coastal Aviation.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear CaleyS

Thank you so much for taking the time to give Ras Kutani a review - it means so much to get feedback and we were delighted to hear you had such a restful time with us! Ras Kutani is a beautiful location to purely relax after a busy, bumpy safari - kick back on a hammock or by the pool with a book or better yet just snooze!

We also make a great location for a PRE - safari holiday - somewhere you can get your bearings and relax into your holiday before the bush adventure begins

Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is my second review of Ras Kutani, having been there in November 2011 already, returning for ending this trip with some relaxing days at the beach in familiar atmosphere. I felt like coming home, the same staff, the same managers, the same wonderful food. Nothing changed and I can extremly recommend this resort for relaxing after a safari. You don`t have to go to Sansibar.
There is nobody else on the beach but the guests of the lodge and you can walk the beach in both directions, just you and the ocean. The sea is wonderful and if you prefer a lake the swim in the clearwater lagoon, beautiful and refreshing. This time we walked to the village nearby and visited the school and the hospital, very interesting. Ras Kutani is member of "packforapurpose" and they do a lot for the village and its people.
So I can say that the standard kept and I would return for a 3rd time, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Teeny29

Thank you for your second review - it means so much to us when returning guests enjoy their second stay with us as much as their first. Selous Safari Company ensure all their camps retain a high standard of service, attention to detail, creative menus and that intimate family atmosphere. As you say you must come back for a third time - karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Ras Kutani is such a lovely spot, the staff are so welcoming, the food is delicious and it is in the most beautiful location. The perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic trip. A true gem! I can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Alexandra D

Come back, come back! Sounds like you have to! Thank you for posting such a lovely review of Ras Kutani - it is a superb spot for romantic getaways - a true idyll away from modern life!

Looking forward to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
23.9 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.7 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#20 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es ...
#36 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing