We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting, wonderful staff - perfect place to relax.”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting, wonderful staff – perfect place to relax.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights following a Safari and Gorilla trek in Uganda and what a perfect way to unwind.

Our room (No. 7) was beautiful – huge bed, hammocks, a view across the lagoon, beach and ocean.

Cocktails were great and the food was delicious – particularly enjoyed the BBQ prawns and also the lobster starters and we were even treated to a surprise birthday dinner on the beach!

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and Kalimani taught us the game of Bao which you can purchase in the local curio shop. David the manager went out of his way on a daily basis to ensure all guests were happy!

Definitely recommend a visit to Alice in the massage room – Indian head and back, neck and shoulder massages were superb.

Really fantastic place to unwind – wholeheartedly recommend!

(Booked via XA! African Wildlife Safari’s – a fantastic and faultless African safari company).

Room Tip: Room 7 - stunning views over the lagoon, beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear CandO83

Thank you for your marvellous review and thrilled you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us after your trekking!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
178
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vosselaar, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We started our honeymoon here in Ras Kutani and it was just wonderful!!
Very quiet place, very nice staff and really good food! We really enjoyed that the place was not crowded with people. Always room at the pool and on the beach, just great!
Our room was very nice and clean and if you wanted something, you just needed to ask. The manager David was very kind and helpful, as was the staff.
If we ever go back to Tanzania, this place will definitely be on our list again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Liesbeth D

Thank you for your lovely review - Ras Kutani makes a wonderful pre-safari destination as well as a place to relax after seeing Tanzain's wildlife. With its proximity to Dar es Salaam - its a slice of paradise when you get off the plane!

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here at the end of a safari trip. It is a ten minute trip by small aircraft from Dar Es Salaam to their airstrip, or a much longer journey by road. It was idyllic: location superb, accommodation in thatched cottages in gardens overlooking the ocean, food and facilities exceptional. The staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear SueBe68

Thank you for your review - for future guests the trip from Dar airport by road takes approx 90 mins, the tarmac along the road is still being laid but currrently we only have 9km of dirt road so the drive is getting easier and easier and the biggest benefit is to see a bit of real Tanzanian life - through a bustling market town full of colour and chaos, which is fascinating! The plane flight is 10 mins and we offer a daily scheduled charter at 11am and guests are also free to book their own charter.

Thank you Sue - and come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived after a few days of safari in Siwandy/Selous. If you´re looking for your "run of the mill" island resort with infinity pools, perfect gardens and the endlessly replicated "resort style", keep looking. This place offers the chance of staying in a place with 20-25 other guests, in houses where (at least from our house) you cannot see anything else than bush and beach. You´ll share the miles long beach with a few other guests, no competition for sunbeds, no getting up in the morning securing your place. The beach, set along the Swahili coast, competes with anything.
The small pool has 10 beds around it - always a few of them available. This place offers an authentic rustique style - rustique because its built that way, not because its worn down.
Charming staff, excellent food with the opportunity to experience the swahili kitchen.
For those in need of action, the kite surfing is excellent - waves included. You´ll have the beach to yourself, launch right outside the hotel.
The manager also arranged a visit to a local village and school nearby - a great experience, especially given we had kids with us. Make sure to bring basic school supplies such as school books, pencils etc - they need it.
Thanks David and Upendo and your staff for making this an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: If you´re a family - go for the Hill House. Amazing views - and you can not see any of the other ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnargnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Gnargnar

Thank you so much for your utterly perfect review of Ras Kutani - its the perfect description of our blissful beach retreat - its an African safari camp at the beach with its intimate service and unique experiences!

Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Established 35km south of Dar es Salaam, Ras Kutani offers you a unique experience: long deserted beaches of white sand, turquoise sea and lagoon.
Beautiful rooms, private swimming pool with exceptional views of the ocean.

The best places in the world to relax, love, share and why not live there?

With a little luck, monkeys will invite around your room, and sometimes, you can witness the birth of baby turtles on the beach.

Nice and my favorite place in Tanzania !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargauxLecrenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear MargauxLecreney

Sounds like you had a magical time with us at Ras Kutani - its a blissful retreat away from Dar's urban life and really get back to nature, with a large side of luxury!!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My family of 5 arrived here after safari in Selous and Ruaha. We took a tiny plane from Dar, were met at the landing strip by a jeep and then whisked away by row boat to this pristine beach resort. Dave and his staff met us as we were rowed ashore. He and his staff were professional, courteous and very helpful during our entire stay. My family vacations are precious to me and I look for places that will keep the entire family engaged. But, I also want a place that is quiet. I don't enjoy fighting for lounge chairs pool side or queueing at the water slide. My children are 7, 12 and 14. They boogie boarded, kayaked and snorkelled the day away. We built massive sand castles, sand airplanes and yes, a sand tank. Dave provided us with mixing bowls from the kitchen and a garden spade to help us with our work. After the long day at the beach we relaxed at the bar with drinks and snacks and played cards as a family. This never happens at home. Dinner was served on the patio overlooking the ocean or on the beach, at a romantic table set for 5. The food was delicious and when it looked a bit intimidating to my little one, the chef prepared something more recognizable for her. Outstanding service. We stayed in the Hilltop Room. It was a mighty climb but worth every step. The view was inspiring. A highlight of our stay was watching the sea turtles hatching and making their way to the ocean.

Room Tip: We had the hill top room. 83 stairs to get there but worth the effort. Views were remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear myturtles

Thank you so much for your magical review - Ras Kutani is the perfect place for families to connect - wonderful to spend days in this naturally beautiful environment and relish time with your children!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We flew from Ruaha after spending a week treking the wilds of the bush. Loved the jeep and little boat approach rather than driving up through the gate. Our banda, no. 8 was just perfect - a view of both lagoon and ocean, very shady as we had been walking out in the sun for days and craving some cool shade.....beautiful decor and lovely touches.

Main lounge area was delightful - comfy, great view and good conversations with staff; most of the other guests kept to themselves.

Beach was gorgeous; very clean and the color of the sea was incredible against the white sand
and nice shade was provided for those of us who don't want to stay in the sun all day. I'd always wanted to float in the Indian Ocean to add it to my list of beautiful seas I had visited and it was as nice as I had hoped. A few whales could be seen in the far distance!

The star of the show other than the view was the food....incredibly fresh seafood with spices true to the area. We were quite impressed. The staff was very friendly and when there were a few small issues, David, the manager took care of them rightaway.

The walk throught the jungle was a delightful way to walk off a few calories from the fabulous meals. There were kayaks, body boards, snorkeling; enough for a few days...or just chill.

A surprise dinner on the beach was very special, albeit a bit chilly with a breeze, so wraps were given me and with the lanterns scattered about, it was very memorable.

We would return before and after the next safari! Staff, food, location - Ras Katuni has it all.

Room Tip: Loved the lagoon/sea view as we like shade/breezes and the monkeys in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Gracieva

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ras Kutani and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - please do come back and see us again!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
23.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
20.6 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing