We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing start to our honeymoon!”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Ras Kutani was the first stop on our honeymoon in Tanzania booked through Imagine Africa. We needed some relaxation before our safari and so stayed for 3 nights. The place is absolutely fantastic. It's off the beaten track, which is just what we wanted. We were lucky that during our stay in early December, the place was very quiet with only a few other couples there at the same time. Our bungalow was beautiful, spacious and very private facing the small lagoon adjacent to the beach. The sounds of the bullfrogs in the lagoon in the evening helped us drift gently off to sleep. The food is simply outstanding. My wife is vegetarian with a couple of other specific dietary requirements, which were all catered for without any fuss, and the variety was amazing. The resort staff were incredibly attentive, and always made the effort to speak to us, teaching us our first few words and phrases in Swahili. The beach is beautiful, quiet and very long. We spent our days moving between the poolside, beach and room, reading books from the library and just generally unwinding. The only breaks we took in between were for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The bar area and restaurant overlook the beach and the decor really reinforces the fact that you are in Africa. The whole place felt very exotic. The bar snacks and cocktails are wonderful, especially the banana crisps & guacamole! Mark, the manager whilst we stayed at the resort, made the effort to come and get to know us, and even hosted dinner for us and 2 other couples one night which was such a nice touch. The resort also put in some really nice personal touches, such as a candlelit dinner on the beach for our first night, and little notes in the room. We fell in love with the place and would love to go back some day. Especially loved the morning coffees and biscuits supplied in monkey-proof boxes! A perfect relaxing start to our trip in Tanzania.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Joel D

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ras Kutani - and for us the point you made about feeling like you are truly in Africa is for us very important. We are not a "placeless" resort, you continue your safari at the beach with our natural nirvana of coastal forest, turtle hatchings, hump back whale watching and listening to the sounds of the jungle!

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this lodge, and different as most other people we stayed here before leaving on safari, we just wanted to cool down for a few days from busy life before starting our trip..

And this proved to be an excellent choice, already when driving in (make sure to ask to go through the city center and take the ferry, this will give you already a good view on the daily colorfull life of Dar), welcome in Ras Kutani is great, no fuzz, just relax !

We had requested a cottage with enough privacy and got the most remote one, having view as well on the lagoon as the ocean. This one very nice, open and a terrace, all what we were looking for the start of our holiday. Staff is great, management (david) understands his guests needs perfectly, the food was very good, we twice had dinner (romantic for the two of us) on the beach, fantastic...

We had a few nice walks on the 3 km beach, certainly worthwhile when low tide to discover some sealife, on the same time it's fun to sit on the white sandy beach to see local people passing by (on bicycles, one even on a motorbike.. All this not disturbing at all) . There is also a short lagoon walk, but this one less interesting, on the lagoon itself you can do a short kayak trip..

We loved it and would certainly recommend this place as a start or end for a trip in tanzania..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear yvakat

Thank you so much for posting your review of Ras Kutani and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

Please come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Manager David runs a fantastic tranquil holiday hideaway. His team are helpful, friendly and courteous at all times and do everything to make your stay perfect

Food is excellent. We had a hill top room and the view was certainly worth the climb. Our alarm call was monkeys running across our roof and jumping off into the trees

Stunning 2.5 mile sandy beach.

Would happily return
Bmb

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Jwanny

Thank you for taking time to post a review and you must return soon!!

Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our last stop after 3 nights in each of the other sister camps (Siwandu and Jongomero) and it is paradise. The high quality of all three locations is top notch and the food is different at each place but all superb. We also loved our room which was fabulous.

The property is on a lagoon on one side and the Indian ocean on another side. Just getting to the property by boat is a memorable experience. A truly beautiful location with lots of activities. We didn't do much but you can hike and snorkel if you like. We loved the beach and the pool and took advantage of the on-site library to read a few good books.

What a beautiful property with excellent staff. Thank you to David for being a great host. Highly recommend relaxing here after safari.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Maccer64

Thank you so much for your reviews of all three of our properties - they make a wonderful itinerary - the perfect snapshot of the southern service. We pride ourselves that each camp is very different from one another - all having their own characters and personalities from very different menus to match the varying climates as well as decor, accommodation and experiences.

Karibu tena to paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the last of 3 camps during a trip to Tanzania to celebrate my 60th: all were superb. Ras Kutani is small and unpretentious yet absolutely luxurious. The 'tents' are stunning with views across the lagoon and comfortable decks to relax on. We were quite near the main camp and pool which was lovely (and still quiet) as we could then get to teh beach within a few minutes. The living/dining room is fabulous and so comfortable, although the bar prices are high so be careful to think about how much you drink, and the food/service excellent. They were releasing baby turtles from their nest on teh beach while we were there - Ras Kutani spnonsers the project to protect them - so that was a bonus. We flew in and took teh road back - not sure I'd do the road again as it was long with a 2 hr q to cross the river by ferry into Dar, but an experience in itself as we see so little of the 'real' country when we are tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear shaktisha

Thank yo for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ras Kutani and continued the celebration.

We would always recommend guests travel around the port on the Mbagala road as its usually more free flowing, even though a longer distance - the ferry can become very congested and traffic becomes static. All transfers booked with Selous Safari Company go this way so please ask your operator to ensure they take this faster route.

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights following a Safari and Gorilla trek in Uganda and what a perfect way to unwind.

Our room (No. 7) was beautiful – huge bed, hammocks, a view across the lagoon, beach and ocean.

Cocktails were great and the food was delicious – particularly enjoyed the BBQ prawns and also the lobster starters and we were even treated to a surprise birthday dinner on the beach!

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and Kalimani taught us the game of Bao which you can purchase in the local curio shop. David the manager went out of his way on a daily basis to ensure all guests were happy!

Definitely recommend a visit to Alice in the massage room – Indian head and back, neck and shoulder massages were superb.

Really fantastic place to unwind – wholeheartedly recommend!

(Booked via XA! African Wildlife Safari’s – a fantastic and faultless African safari company).

Room Tip: Room 7 - stunning views over the lagoon, beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear CandO83

Thank you for your marvellous review and thrilled you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us after your trekking!

Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We started our honeymoon here in Ras Kutani and it was just wonderful!!
Very quiet place, very nice staff and really good food! We really enjoyed that the place was not crowded with people. Always room at the pool and on the beach, just great!
Our room was very nice and clean and if you wanted something, you just needed to ask. The manager David was very kind and helpful, as was the staff.
If we ever go back to Tanzania, this place will definitely be on our list again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liesbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Liesbeth D

Thank you for your lovely review - Ras Kutani makes a wonderful pre-safari destination as well as a place to relax after seeing Tanzain's wildlife. With its proximity to Dar es Salaam - its a slice of paradise when you get off the plane!

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time
Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
1.8 mi away
Villa Nyangumi
Villa Nyangumi
#36 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
18 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
526 reviews
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#19 of 129 in Dar es Salaam
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing