We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is what a quiet secluded beach lodge should be like”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“this is what a quiet secluded beach lodge should be like”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed for 7 nights , after an 8 day safari, always in the past we thought we would not do a safari , then a beach holiday , we were wrong. our original plan was to fly back to Dar from Kwihala camp , pick up our luggage we had left with Safari Air , then drive to Ras Kutani , Imagine our surprise when we were collected and our luggage was on the plane , and we were dropped off at Ras Kutani's private airstrip all for free , Thank you
Met at airstrip by land rover , driven to lagoon , and rowed across , lovely touch , could have driven us to reception , but makes it special
The lodge , nice swimming pool . lovely al fresco , or covered dining , good massage room , beach activity hut with bar ,shop,relaxing areas and bar but.....absolutely amazing room.
we stayed in suite 2 , one of the 4 rooms with a private plunge pool . outside is a large circular seating area , where morning tea and coffee is left , and where the monkeys may steal your biscuits , do not be put off , this is charming . then you walk into the bedroom , which is gigantic , the largest 4 poster bed , tables chairs , wardrobes , windows are open to the wind , but covered with bug screens , fantastic views . then 2 doors , one of which leads to a very large bathroom , twin sinks ,large shower etc , the other leads to another outside seating area , with a private plunge pool and sun loungers. perfect for the afternoons and laying in the tub , watching the stars
The food was , very good indeed , clever , inventive , and very tasty. the chef is talented .
alcoholic drinks were reasonable , and a good cocktail selection - well it is a holiday.
did we have any complaints , not in the slightest . we were very well looked after
we each had a couple of massages , which were very reasonably priced , and well done .
we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves , and would recommend Ras Kutani to anyone who wanted a peaceful , relaxing ,stress free time

Room Tip: the suites with pools only cost a bit more than standard rooms , and are so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear pilgrm3739

Thank you SO much for such wonderful review and for posting your photos!

Please come back and see us again soon
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
175
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in Ras Kutani. The new management topple is very nice (Leo and Frankie) the both really care for the guests and try everything to make you comfortable.
The chef (Mwalimu) is very good, dining (weather permuting) is in the open air in a very nice restaurant, next to the very nice lounge area.
The beach is really great, with at least 20 minutes walk each side, the beach is really silent, no commercial things at all.
The drive up to this resort is 2,5 hour from Dar, with a 5 minut ferry trip included, you can also fly from Dar to Ras Kutani which is off core more comfortable but also more expensive.
We will be back here !!! Thanks Leo and Frankie!!!

Room Tip: there a bungalows with view of lagune and sea, and only sea, it is just wat you want, they ar all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear donaldr

Thank you for your review - to access Ras Kutani you can fly - a 10 mins flight from Dar es Salaam which we sell at $99 per person. Or guests can drive through a bustling market town - we would always recommend this route around the estuary rather than using the ferry as the ferry can add a lot of time on to the journey with long queues. The drive around the estuary from the airport takes approx 1hr30mins at the right time of day

Thank you again
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our third time in Ras Kutani over eight years, and it has not changed in the slightest. I don't think I need to say much more than that it really is the perfect place to unwind after a safari. Superb suite with plunge pool, excellent food and friendly service, beautiful beach and nothing to do other than swim, read, eat and drink. Even flipflops are superfluous! An example of their attitude to customers was that although checkout is officially 10.a.m. but we would not be leaving until 6 p.m., and our successors would be arriving early, they simply gave us another banda as our base with the use of all the facilities until we left, at no charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear PeterB

Well you simply have to come back a 4th time!! Thank you for posting a review - we really appreciate your kind comments

Karibu tena
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for five nights in January; it was the perfect choice to compete a three destination trip exploring some of the mainland coast lodges in Tanzania. We flew down to Dar es Salaam from Pangani where we were met and taken by car to Ras Kutani, the journey was around 1.5 hours and was fascinating especially through the outskirts of Dar. Ras Kutani is a very special place, the team runs like a well-oiled machine…. from the Managers, Mark and Nasson, the bar and waiting staff, the beach staff, housekeeping (who are invisible but keep the bandas looking perfect) and to the guys who work hard in the heat to keep the grounds looking pristine every day (when we were there we experienced strong winds blowing in leaves every day!) All the staff work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. The bandas are spacious, beautifully decorated and have HUGE comfortable beds, they are well spaced apart around the site. We had number 7 which in our opinion had the best of everything; it overlooked the fresh water lagoon and the beach beyond. Sitting on our deck in the early morning, watching the birds and monkeys whilst enjoying the coffee delivered to our room was a special part of every day.
The beach is stunning, you can walk for miles and only see local people fishing or on bikes probably using the beach to get to and fro places more easily as the roads are very rough. When we were there the sea was choppy and lively especially at high tide which made using the boogie / body boards provided at the beach hut really exhilarating! The pool area is also a nice alternative to the beach.
During our stay we had the privilege of visiting one of the local schools that Ras Kutani supports, we met teachers and were taken into four of the classrooms to meet the students. It was humbling to see how hard the teachers work with little or no resources and how much the students want to learn. Thank you to Nasson for taking us and patiently answering all our questions and explaining more about the education system in Tanzania.
One other aspect that makes Ras Kutani really stand out against all the other places we have visited in Tanzania is the amazing food, it is of a very high standard and every meal we had was delicious.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something positive to offer, we loved Room 7 as it has a fantastic view of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear DicknDan

Thank you for your lovely review and we were utterly delighted to host you - please come back and see us again soon!

Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent four nights at Ras Kutani in February, celebrating a birthday. We came by car from Dar es Salaam - a long journey but well worth the bumpy ride. Greeted by Frankie and Leo, the new managers, with cold drinks and a damp cloth to wipe off the dust. Being 9 people in our group we were got 2 double bed cottages and the Hill House which has 2 bedrooms. All rooms were fabulous, different beautiful color schemes with a white base. The beds - to die for, with mosquito nets hanging from high up. Lots of space and air. The turn-down service placed small treats on the beds at night time, filtered drink water was provided in a cool thermos to avoid excess plastic waste and the soap/shampoo was handmade and organic.
The food was the best we had during our entire trip - super fresh, locally sourced, lots of vegetables and always choices during dinnertime. We had lots of fish and seafood but the meat and chicken was also great. Best of all was the breakfast with home made granola, fresh fruits, lots of choices of eggs, pancakes and everything you could think of.
The beach was a dream, with just 1 other hotel. Totally empty, just a few local people swimming and biking past. It took about 50 minutes to jog the full distance and it was totally doable during low tide. Clean, turquoise waters, great waves and total peace. Anything you needed was provided by the beach hut, including snorkeling gear and kayaks.
I shouldn´t post this review, this is a place one would like to keep a secret, but on the other hand it is too good not to be visited by friendly and happy people who appreciate the personal service and efforts made.
The best beach hotel I´ve ever stayed at. I didn´t want to leave and I´m ready to go back any time. Thanks to all at Ras Kutani who made my mother´s birthday such a fine memory, something to cherish for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: The Hill top house is great for families with two bedrooms and a nice outdoor seating are in-between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annavpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear annavpt

What a gorgeous review! Thank you so much! Being top of your beach retreats means a lot to us - so thank you again

Come back and see us again soon!
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Ras Kutani was an excellent way of calming down from the adrenalin filled activities on safari. We had thought about returning home directly after our safari adventure but then decided to unwind for two nights in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere of Ras Kutani. We were pleased to catch up with other guests that we had met earlier on safari. Many of whom had stayed at all three sister establishments in Tanzania. Siwandu and Jongomero being the other two.

We emerged from the plane to be greeted by a friendly man called Swedy who drove us a short distance through a wooded area to a small boat on the lagoon. We were then rowed across the lagoon where we could see David and his staff ready to welcome us onto the sandy beach - a great introduction to this mainland retreat.

During our stay David and his staff were on hand to cater for all our needs in a professional but relaxed manner. The food was excellent and one evening we enjoyed a Swahili style BBQ. Our cottage accommodation was spacious and amazing and overlooked the garden and ocean beyond. There was a mosquito net over the huge bed which is essential as my husband and I were bitten at Ras Kutani more than on safari, but maybe this was because we were more lapse with insect repellent! My husband also encountered a 10" Giant African Millipede on the floor in our room one night. Pleased we had a torch! In the morning it had disappeared and we were assured by David that it had been a harmless intruder. We also had inquisitive monkeys in the grounds who seemed to keep a close eye on us whenever tea and biscuits were around. However, a clap of the hands kept them at bay, although they did make great photographic models!

There is little to do at Ras Kutani but I guess that's the idea. We had hoped to snorkel but whilst we were there the ocean was not as calm as we novices like it to be. Fine for regular snorkelers and a 'wreck' has been submerged in the water for their enjoyment. Also there are sun loungers placed on the beach where waiter service is provided. It was a bit too windy for lounging there for long when we stayed at Ras Kutani. Again, I think we were a bit unlucky with the weather as it rained and was very cloudy one day. However, on the very hot, sunny day we did go for a forest walk nearby which had a mapped out trail for guests. We saw many native trees which were helpfully labelled with their names and three colourful butterflies. No monkeys interestingly. Too hot perhaps!

At the end of our stay we were returned to the airstrip the same way as we arrived. Other guests were lucky enough to have a helicopter ride back to Dar due to the small plane being out of service. We waited for our plane chatting with Swedy and sitting with 5 polite Masai men who said nothing to us or one another. Very surreal. Many schoolchildren were by the runway ready to see the plane arrive and then as we took off, they waved us goodbye.

All in all the perfect place to stay if you just want to put your feet up, preferably in a hammock!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2woollyjumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear 2woollyjumpers

Many thanks for your review and yes Ras Kutani's keynote is relaxation - after a busy safari circuit its important o put your feet up and ease into Swahili living - so you go home refreshed!

Come back and see us again soon
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights in beach cottage at wonderful Ras Kutani over New Year.
I was looking forward to that part of our trip and had high expectations of the place having heard great things about it. It actually exceeded my expectations (and I am VERY fussy!)
We were in Room 1 which felt a little more private as it was on the end. The room was fabulous if you love nature. We had monkeys visit us and it was a dream to wake up to the sea breeze.
Food was awesome and the team catered amazingly to my 'no wheat and dairy request'.
The water and beach is paradise and even though there are a couple more places to stay along the 7km beach, feels remote and empty.
The communal areas are open to the breeze and decorated beautifully.
It is a place to completely relax and for sure my favourite beach holiday having been to Zanzibar, the Maldives, Thai islands and Mozambique.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Alan0

What a gorgeous review - thank you! And for us to top your beach properties list, we are delighted!

Akribu tena
Selous Safari Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
23.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.7 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#19 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#17 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing