We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to wind down and relax”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Great place to wind down and relax. We had a suite with a private plunge pool and if you want to spend time alone, well worth the extra. But the main pool is still great and very quiet. Casual atmosphere, great service and food. Really enjoyed the 'special' at breakfast every morning. Beach lovely, rooms lovely, biggest bed I've ever slept in, visits from the monkeys priceless. The staff and management can't do enough for you. The only reason I marked down the sleep quality was because you can hear the sea. This is just personal taste, some may find it relaxing, others may not.
You only have the use of electricity for 6 hours a day. You may find this a con, we found it to be a pro. Its really romantic to go back to candles and oil. If you get a chance, take a trip to the nearby village and school. See real african life.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoniaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

After 5 stop overs in Tanzania,this being the sixth we felt pleasantly surprised by the whole operation, a great place to relax and unwind,the staff was a delight!If the quiet beach life is your thing this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I booked Ras Kutani for the last lef od our honeymoon, after a safari at Beho Beho.

Ras Kutani is a gorgeous hideaway with a small selction of cottages and a few suites, with which i booked a suite for our honeymoon.

We were allocated Suite 1 whcih has amazing views over the oceans and trees which is perfect to watch the sun go down whilst relaxing in your own pool.

I have read a few reviews, one from the gentlemen from Istanbul who complained about the resort, after arriving from Beho Beho.

Please do not let his review put you off, it is not the same exceptional quality of Beho Beho, but it is special in it's own way.

The lack of carpets which are straw mats on the floor over sand was different and lovely as a change, no phones in the room was great and if you did have a suite you do have a little walk but it is not difficult unless you have weight issues as struggle to climb a few stairs or walk 700 yds!

Food is great and the staff are so attentive along with the management who are keen to speak with you and make you feel at home.

Beach is lovely and the beds are great.

All in all, a great place for 3 nights and one in which i would recommend after a safari.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaredLeedsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Ras Kutani is a very special place but it depends on what you are looking for. This is certainly not a “luxury” resort by Western standards. The rooms have straw floors; the sheets and towels are of low quality and worn; and the shower could use a makeover. That said, I really enjoyed the 2 days that I spent there. The food was excellent. There are not always a lot of choices but I am a picky eater and I always enjoyed the meals. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. There is a nice breeze on the beach so it never gets too hot and I spent most of my days sleeping on the beach. I would definitely return to Ran Kutani and hopefully spend more time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Ras Kutani - was the perfect way to end our Honeymoon! Whilst Honeymoons make you happy, rest assured we are also extremely picky so this is a truly considered review.

A worthwhile drive to the resort (although, we found you can actually fly in to their nearby air-strip), off the beaten track, no signposts so you don't get unwanted interruptions to the peace and quiet, and allows staff to focus 100% on you..........and they do, in a great unimposing way. Mark, the Manager, was particularly pleasant and helpful and always took the time to have a quick catch-up with you and see how you were doing. Nice that they all knew you by name, particularly impressive!

We booked fairly late so couldn't get a suite......and on reflection are actually very happy we didn't - the standard cottage is huge and the bed is immensely huge, and had no sand stairs to climb (suites were on the hill, standard cottages were on the lagoon/beach front). True, there are no modern amenities in the room, no TV's, no air con, no radio etc etc......this is what made it perfect. The room remained delightfully cool with the sea breeze flowing through. The standard cottages also benefit from having 2 hammocks in the front section (which the suites do not have!), which were perfect for losing yourself in a book, with a cold kilimanjaro beer, and then having an afternoon nap out of the sun.

The food was impressive - it is mainly seafood, but oh boy do they know how to cook seafood! But they did have a couple of meat dishes during our 5 night stay......including beef kebabs (i.e. on a stick), but they had used Fillet steak that just melted in your mouth. The lounge/bar area was also very nice - a number of soft seatings, and the bar playing music in the background.........the bar served a wide selection of drinks, including great cocktails, at reasonable prices. Also had a number of games available should you want entertainment for your evening.

The beach was very inviting with great rustic sunbeds made out of wood and coconut matting, also allowing safe walks up and down should you be feeling a little more energetic. We were lucky enough to be there for the release of baby turtles (protected nurturing in that area).

If what you are looking for is a concrete mega complex of 7-star rating, with every amenity possible so you can spend time watching TV instead of spending quality time with your partner, then this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for an absolutely perfect, relaxing, idyllic, unimposing beach setting that allows you to unwind amongst brilliant staff, exquisite food and comfortable spacious surroundings, and have great uninterrupted time with your loved one, then this is the one for you!! Such a shame Tarky1968 didn't experience this perfection - confusing how someone could experience something so different to what we experienced.

Would recommend this place over and over again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We have recently visited Ras Kutani and it is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The staff were wonderful, the food was delicious (in particular dinner), the hotel was lovely and had the perfect setting on the beach.
As I dont eat fish and had read that most meals contain seafood, we contacted the hotel in advance to let them know and they went out of their way to make sure I liked what I was going to be served.
I couldn't recommend this hotel and staff highly enough and I cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Ras Kutani looks great on the web however when my wife and arrived and went to our suite we decided 'no way'. The suite was not clean, they have this straw carpet right over sand and sand is everywhere. We lifted it and there were dead bugs under there. The bathrooms where 3rd rate and they didnt appear hygenic.
There is no room phone so if you want anything you need to walk up and down stairs that go on forever. I went for a sandwich and it was delivered wrapped in cheap cellophane as if we were in a hospital. With all due respect for those that have given high credit for this place, if you are looking for a 'high end' resort this is definately not it!
We were lucky to find a place at Mnemba Island...thank god! so Mnemba together with Beho Beho made our trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
16.8 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#19 of 127 in Dar es Salaam
38 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es ...
#31 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing