We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay, would not rush to go back”
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ok stay, would not rush to go back”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed at Ras Kutani over the New Year period. Overall I'd say it was ok. Our room was a cottage not a suite, the suites might be better. Our view was not exactly beachfront, actually you are quite a way back from the beach. It was roomy, with a nice front porch with a hammock. Big king sized bed and then the bathroom. Nothing really special about the room. The monkeys do tend to come in but they don't touch anything so it was quite fun to have them visit.

Beach and the pool were nice. Food was average at best. Really did not think the meals were that great. If I were doing it again, I would not stay here I'd recommend staying at one of the beach resorts on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
175
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ras Kutani. There is something special about arriving at the lodge in a canoe (even if its a 5 minute ride), the common area is simple but charming, the beach is picturesque, the white sandy beach is very nice and there were very few people on the coast hence it was peaceful, remote and relaxing. The food was amazing; we were expecting good food as a result of the reviews we read but were surprised by how tasty everything was. Service was also very good though beachside service was somewhat lacking. The pool is small, and didnt look too appealing but maybe thats because the beach area was lovely. The ocean itself is ok, not amazing, the water is not clear, and there is a good amount of seaweed at certain points in the day so I would not say the ocean is top notch but still nice to look at and good for a cool down dip. We stayed in a suite, which was large and while simple, it served its purpose. The straw mats on the floor are an interesting touch, and all the sand stayed under the mats so it wasnt messy at all. There was only one, very small, old fan with no adjustable speed hence was not ideal when trying to sleep but was nevertheless fine. The room could have used a general upgrade as sheets/mosquite netting, etc looked old/worn out. The bathroom was clean and again, for a rustic, remote place, it was acceptable. Half the room (from waist level upwards) is constructed with mosquite netting type material hence the breeze flows through and the sound of the ocean is clear. The room is not entirely sealed off from the outside even with the net hence we had a bat visitor one evening but was able to get it out of the room after some maneuvering. The walkway to the rooms are all sand, and while this does add character to the hotel, after a great (but large meal), walking back to the suite (suites are a bit higher up the property) does get a bit old after a few days but not a big deal. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Ras Kutani and think that it makes for a good combination with a safari.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We fell in love with Ras Kutani, an absolute haven. If you want a rustic experience without compromising on 5 star hotel service this is the place for you. Marc, the manager, cannot do enough for you along with his wonderfully attentive, clever and fun staff. Mark and I enjoyed a great Christmas break here after spending time at the Selous Safari Camp which also lived up to the group's extremely high standards - in fact the reason why we checked out of our 5 star well known hotel in Zanzibar to go to Ras Kutani (another story all about building works, poor service and blooming awful food!)

I note one negative review about RK being dirty, pulling up the hessian carpets to find bugs etc. It is certainly not dirty. Our accommodation was perfectly looked after and was nothing but perfect paradise. Marc upgraded us to suite with plunge pool but in all honesty we loved our cottage just as much on the first night with the hammocks as we did the suite.

No need to take shoes or even flip flops, we went for Christmas dinner in our bare feet, as we did for all of our stay - very refreshing.

Very jealous if you decide to go soon. We certainly plan to go back after our planned adventures in South America - any recommendations welcome,

Lorna

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Tanzania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This is an astonishing place to say. It's beautiful; the rooms are huge; the staff are totally committed to you; the food is lovely and you can really relax. It's true that there are mats and sand on the floor (see earlier reviews from people who didn't like this!) but this is a beach hotel. It's not a hermetically-sealed bubble with carpets and multi-channel TV. You go to sleep hearing the sea.

Lana, the manager, is totally on the ball. One of my friends was allergic to shellfish and they remembered this at every meal, even understanding the need for things to be cooked in a different pan, not just having the prawns picked out!

It's expensive but worth it. The only reason I gave it 4 rather than 5 for cost is that I feel the hotel shop is really overpriced.

I've been twice now and I absolutely love it. You should really go. Especially if you like fresh tea and biscuits delivered to your verandah in the morning, at exactly the time you specified!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucymarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Our last stop on our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the suites and we cannot fault this hotel. Service was amazing, food outstanding, room to die for.

I cannot recommend Ras Kutani enough, I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallym106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Great place to wind down and relax. We had a suite with a private plunge pool and if you want to spend time alone, well worth the extra. But the main pool is still great and very quiet. Casual atmosphere, great service and food. Really enjoyed the 'special' at breakfast every morning. Beach lovely, rooms lovely, biggest bed I've ever slept in, visits from the monkeys priceless. The staff and management can't do enough for you. The only reason I marked down the sleep quality was because you can hear the sea. This is just personal taste, some may find it relaxing, others may not.
You only have the use of electricity for 6 hours a day. You may find this a con, we found it to be a pro. Its really romantic to go back to candles and oil. If you get a chance, take a trip to the nearby village and school. See real african life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthiana, Kentucky, Usa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

After 5 stop overs in Tanzania,this being the sixth we felt pleasantly surprised by the whole operation, a great place to relax and unwind,the staff was a delight!If the quiet beach life is your thing this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
23.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.7 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#19 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#17 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Property: Ras Kutani
Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing