We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Amani Beach - Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Amani Beach Hotel Team…

Congrats..

Well-maintained property. The cottages are huge, spacious & beautiful. Excellent location, facing the sea. Less than one hour drive from Dar City.

Delicious meals, top rated complimentary breakfast.

The other advantage is that they do no charge for children up to the age of 12 . They can share the room with parents.

Advance booking, you will get a good offer.

A BIG Thank you to George & his crew, who was beyond our expectations. Hospitality, at its excellence. The property & its services deserves a five star rating.

Amani lived up our expectation. The best resort in Tanzania. Definitely will go back again !!!


Jacob, Jessy & Aaron.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jacob J

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great and detailed review. I am really glad that you had a memorable time, I will definitely share this with George and the rest of the TEAM. We are privileged to have such great people working with us, each and every one of them puts in their best effort at all times to ensure GUEST satisfaction. I Thank you for acknowledging them. We look forward to host you again soon & exceed your expectations, it is an absolute pleasure to host gracious GUESTS such as yourselves.

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel seemed ideal for me and my family and with online booking (Hotels.com) a discounted price of $98 per night was quoted for a midweek stay in a four person apartment.
There are four of us, we have a 2 year old and a 12 year old, so we were bit perplexed when we booked and the total for two nights came to $288!
I emailed the hotel and the manager got straight back to me with the news that we were being charged $30 per night extra for our 12 year old as he is an'extra guest'.
The manager was not able to change this charge as it's a matter of 'policy' so we cancelled :-/

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Deadhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear GUEST

Good day, sorry to hear that you had to cancel your booking due to rates issue. As a hotel policy we DO NOT charge for children up to the age of 12 sharing the room with parents. The only reason for the higher online rate is that the system must have calculated the rates for 4 or 3 adults instead of 2 adults and 2 children. The child's age of 12 must have been the reason why the third person charge of $30 was applied. I will still investigate the online rates anomaly and correct where applicable. I will also chat with the manager and ensure that the child age limit policy is clearly communicated.

We hope to accommodate you and your family soon, please do contact us and we will ensure that you have a pleasant and memorable stay at the Protea Hotel Amani Beach.

Thanks and regards,


Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Protea Hotel Amani Beach truly lived up to its expectation!
A secluded location for that perfect getaway.
Although we arrived a bit late, we were welcomed by friendly staff and the calming sounds of the crashing waves of the Indian ocean.
The cottages are huge with a great rustic feel, yet modern. I fell in love with the bathroom space especially the bathtub.
The meals were also delicious and served on time!
Definitely going back again!
A BIG Thank you to George who was beyond helpful and gave personal attention from the time go. Truly appreciated!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mariam J

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am delighted that you had a great time & George and his TEAM looked after you very well. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amani... Peaceful as it is named after... we had a short but peaceful stay at Amani and truly speaking it was something me and my boyfriend had in mind before planning this weekend getaway. From the time we arrived till the time we departed our stay was made pleasant by the team of Amani. Special thank you to George for his hospitality.

The rooms are exceptionally big and spacious. The bed was huge... beautiful bathroom and amazing breeze of Indian ocean through the big windows. Electricity is a bit of a problem though at times in that area but stand by generator helps. What we loved about this place is you get your own privacy as the cottages are located at a quite distance from one another. All you hear is the waves of the ocean throughout the day or night (depending on the tide of course).

The pool setting is with great view of the Indian ocean. We preferred the lunch area more then the dinner area as dining near the beach is something not every hotel in Dar es Salaam offers.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you once again to the team of Amani.

We are definitely coming back soon :)

Room Tip: Room No. 7 near the ocean and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysteriousPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear GUEST

Jambo, thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience here on TA. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time with us, more importantly we managed to offer your exactly what you came for - a peaceful getaway from Dar. I will share your feedback with the STAFF and George, they will appreciate your kind and encouraging review. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Zanzibar
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Amani lived up to the expectation of being a haven of peace. The beach was beautiful, the rooms were spacious - modern yet charmingly rustic. Staff members were also friendly and gave that personal attention most hotels lack. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Watare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Watare

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, will compliment the TEAM on job well done. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a fabulous pool area and beach. The location is not where the map points to on tripadvisor and booking.com app though (which points to the Protea Courtyard instead as of April 2014) so be aware that it's an hour's drive from Dar and most likely you'll have to take the Car Ferry to get there, which in my case added an extra 3 hours to the return journey as they only had the small ferry working instead of both large ones. I would recommend this hotel for a short break or a week but probably not for just a day or so especially at the weekend as the rate increases exponentially.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Mark E

Good day, thank you for staying with us at the Protea Hotel Amani Beach and taking time to write this review. Thank you for pointing out thee error in location on the map, we had asked the Trip Advisor team to look into this a couple of times, guess we need to escalate the matter to have this corrected. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

lovely and peaceful. Small enough so it feels very private, but big in area so you have lots of space around you. The beach is great and there is hardly anyone else on it ... The pool is good too. And I even played some tennis ... Great for a few days' beach get-away from central TZ

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear venlal

Jambo from Protea Hotel Amani Beach, thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience with the travel community. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
18.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
19.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
17.3 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
701 reviews
2.1 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#26 of 124 in Dar es Salaam
10 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es ...
#34 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach

Address: Kigamboni, Temeke, Kutani, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Price Range: £115 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani means “peace” in Kiswahili, and that’s exactly what you’ll find at Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Just 33km south of the bustling city of Dar es Salaam, down a sandy road to the ocean, hides our small African paradise and a total escape from the outside world. Set amongst 80 acres of beautiful tropical gardens, each of our 10 luxury beach bungalows overlooks the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. They combine the opulence of Zanzibar sultans with African craftsmanship and charm. Around the bungalows the grounds are alive with wildlife and, on the unspoiled white sands of our secluded beach turtles have chosen to make their home. We have two dining areas - one that serves breakfast and lunch, whilst our main restaurant provides a much more romantic and atmospheric setting for the evening meal. Our food draws its influences from the exotic flavours of East African cooking as well as from the simple fresh flavours of the Mediterranean. The open-sided makuti thatch beach bar provides the ideal outdoor seating area to enjoy the refreshing coastal breeze without the glare of the African sun. Whether you’re looking for total relaxation, a romantic holiday, adventure or simply to experience unspoilt nature, you’ll find it here and more. Welcome to an unforgettable experience, welcome to Amani Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amani Beach
Protea Hotel By Marriott Dar Es Salaam Amani Beach Kutani, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing