We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed and a shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A bed and a shower”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Basic (but nice enough) accommodation...the highlight was seeing a couple of kangaroos nibbling on the grass very close to the rooms.
Check-in and check out was quick and friendly....and the room was clean and reasonably large.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    143
    120
    53
    37
See reviews for
177
107
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Promised a 4 star experience but delivered a musty aging motel room with noisy highway traffic, old bathroom and amenities, noisy bar fridge and everything except the peace and quiet advertised.


The bed linen and blankets were old and thin, bed was super soft and uncomfortable. I would have been more comfortable in my swag!

The bathroom has mould, the oldest most inefficient shower heads and plumbing in Australia I guess.

A full refund was provided by management by it was supposed to be a relaxing night before a long drive to Adelaide next day.

New management is one thing but this property seems to detract for the Ibis Styles brand - it needs a thorough makeover, double glazed windows and new bathroom, desk etc.

There is a lot of space, quite a nice entry and meals area for the property but first things first - give me a decent night's sleep or don't sell the night!

Receptionist was nice (it was 11pm when I checked in), grounds look lovely and spacious.

Lots of tour groups there - perhaps that was why I ended up with such a crappy room.

It is an absolute contrast to Ibis Styles Narrabunda which has great service, is quiet, has nice amenities, reappointed rooms, new TVs, clean as clean and did I say great service.

The location has potential but being near a major hill on he highway

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Actualeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I will start with the what I did not like, as we were tired we decided to eat in the restaurant and though it was a Saturday night the only option was a Buffet, Beef, Chicken & Fish, mixed vegetables, tossed salad and what was supposed to be Coleslaw. Everything was room temperature even though they were in warming dishes, the tossed salad had a jug with dressing to go with it and it was OK however the Coleslaw well it was like no other I have ever seen or made, the cabbage was sliced in huge pieces with virtually noting else added and definitely not a coleslaw Mayonnaise - there had been something put on it which had an oil base but could not detect a flavour and for what we paid it was a huge disappointment. Breakfast the next morning was a lot better.
Yes the rooms were a little tired but that is the worst you could say, they were very clean and very, very comfortable beds, the shower was good and all in all for the price I can't complain about the room. On the whole the grounds were quite nice with a well maintained swimming pool and tennis court.
Though other reviewers have said the staff were surly etc I did not find this so, they were pleasant and helpful.
You are only about 10 minutes from the centre of Canberra and all in all quite a nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the property so had no one walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel under Rydges and now Ibis management and have been impressed always with the staff courtesy, satisfying breakfast and the natural beauty surrounding and within the grounds of the Eagle Hawk Resort.

Room Tip: Ensure you find out clearly where your room is located as numbers are difficult to see from your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is being advertised as 4 star property, but in real it's just a low budget motor inn with an old TV, poor furniture and weared out towels. Walls are very thin, so prepare to get up at 6am along with your neighbours. The only positive thing was kangaroos and rabbits feeding at the property grounds very close to public.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank double_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Room was clean and comfy, but had a funny smell due to wet carpet from bathroom.
Wall was a bit thin, I was able to hear neighbor in both rooms next door.
Plenty of Kangaroos about, even a rabbit.
As per other on this website suggested I brought Aeroguard and citronella candles, which we didn't end up needing. But the candle did help with the smell of the room.
Pool was nice but a little far to walk, also could use some shade.
Food was average, a little slow to serve. But staff made up for it with their friendliness.
Pizza bar was close and so was the bar, which was a bit disappointing.
In all, its not a bad place to stay for a budget overnight trip.

Room Tip: If go in summer ask for a room closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The room was a bit dated, the shower did not work properly and the bed coverings were at the end of their life. The lady checking us out was clearly bored.Would not stay their again and was not 4 star. Did see kangaroos outside but no view at all from room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#51 of 57 in Canberra
418 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,646 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#22 of 57 in Canberra
1,727 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Canberra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Property: Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing