We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget motel but good value and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Budget motel but good value and quiet”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We had to fly from Canberra early in the morning and this motel is very convenient, 20 minutes easy drive with no holdups
For the price with a full breakfast included was good value, rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful
We did not enjoy the evening meal as nearly everything was fried and not to our taste, would have enjoyed less chips and more salad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Lee,

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the convenience. We are starting a new menu next week which will be right up your alley. Give the receptionists a call and they will get a copy sent out to you.

Thanks again.

Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    143
    120
    53
    37
See reviews for
177
107
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Staff were friendly, room was simple but clean. We were very warm in the cool evenings and were happy with the room in general. There was plenty of parking near our room block, so we were able to get a park within 20 metres of our room with ease. Shower pressure was fine, hot water was always in good supply. Split system air conditioning unit was great to pump out the extra warm air when needed. In room bar fridge with daily milk and tea restocking was definitely appreciated.

It was an easy 20 minute drive to the city centre, so we were happy with the location -- especially as we saved about 80 dollars per night by not staying in the city centre.

Perfectly fine hotel/motel that suited our requirements as a "base of operations" for our Canberra trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room as far away from the highway as possible. There's a live ammunition f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Robert,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and our convenient location, Away from all the hassle and easy access to all of Canberra.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was at the Eaglehawk Ibis for an Indigenous youth parliament, every staff member was very accommodating. I don't have anything bad to say apart from the gym. 2 pieces of equipment but the breakfast was good, dinner was always great, the staff were understanding as down in the front conference room we did get quite loud. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms always clean.

Curtin(?) was very good, she was there nearly every morning and nearly every night. Always friendly and helpful. Not to mention they had an oversized chess board in the lobby, great fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Willae!

Thanks for the awesome review. I will make sure I tell Chantel (you were close...) about how much you appreciated her service. It will put a huge smile on her face!

It was great having you and your group in the hotel.

See you next time you are in town.

Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at 11pm and had not trouble with check in and finding our room.

Room was far better than what I expected from reading the reviews.

Room was warm with adjustable settings, heated blankets provided with a spare blanket if required. Bed was extremely comfortable.

Easy access even when arriving in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was fantastic - we had the buffet option which was included in our price.

Located just out of town - very easy to find our way into Canberra from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickledavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Nickledavey,

Thanks for the review. Always happy to hear back from our happy customers.

See you next time you are in Canberra.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrabomberra
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent staff, clean rooms with many options (joint family rooms, bunk beds) and all on one level (no stairs cases to go up and down). Fantastic breakfast options (continental or full buffet). Located away from the hassle of city traffic.

Room Tip: All size families catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Glen,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Always nice to hear about the things we do well. I will make sure the team read your review.

See you next time.

Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We overnighted here on our way to the ski fields. So it was cold weather.

The room air con wasn't working so the room was freezing cold - the staff eventually rustled up a little blower heater but it wasn't fun.

It wasn't lovely, it was difficult to find and was all rather depressing really.

The breakfast was quite nice, though.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Sariban,

Thanks for your review, I am sorry the air con was not functioning properly. We have identified a couple of units in the hotel that haven't been able to cope with the recent cold fronts moving across the country and are replacing these.

I hope you decide to give the hotel another chance in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#51 of 57 in Canberra
419 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#22 of 57 in Canberra
1,727 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
6.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Property: Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing