We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a Mystery Booking with this place through Wotif but my plans changed and I wanted to switch to the week before but their policy was no changes so I lost my money. I know they have policies but I used to enjoy going there when it was Rydges and you'd think that Ibis would be encouraging folk to stay there. I'll find somewhere else next time I'm down in the ACT

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bucko1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Bucko1957,

Thanks for the post. Due to the restrictions around this deal and the discount provided through Wotif.com for this package we are unable to make adjustments. The deal you booked is a no change no cancellation rate. We do have other deals that are unrestricted for you to book so you can change your plans if need be. I apologise that this caused you some inconvenience.

Thanks again for your comments. I hope you decide to give us a try in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We experienced all of the positives with few negatives. Budget price but a lovely warm room with extra blankets. Kangaroos and rabbits a few steps away to spot all day.
We were in one of the back rooms with little traffic noise, more noise from the air con pump actually.
Breakfast was excellent, and we only had the continental.
For the price- cant fault it... It's at the right end of town for cockington Green and the dinosaur museum (which wasn't that flash compared to the exhibition at the australian museum).
Canberra is a stones throw away by car... No one wants to walk anyway in winter!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Mum T!

Thanks for the great review. Always nice to hear when our guests enjoy our hotel.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jason Buckton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had to fly from Canberra early in the morning and this motel is very convenient, 20 minutes easy drive with no holdups
For the price with a full breakfast included was good value, rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful
We did not enjoy the evening meal as nearly everything was fried and not to our taste, would have enjoyed less chips and more salad.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Lee,

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the convenience. We are starting a new menu next week which will be right up your alley. Give the receptionists a call and they will get a copy sent out to you.

Thanks again.

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Staff were friendly, room was simple but clean. We were very warm in the cool evenings and were happy with the room in general. There was plenty of parking near our room block, so we were able to get a park within 20 metres of our room with ease. Shower pressure was fine, hot water was always in good supply. Split system air conditioning unit was great to pump out the extra warm air when needed. In room bar fridge with daily milk and tea restocking was definitely appreciated.

It was an easy 20 minute drive to the city centre, so we were happy with the location -- especially as we saved about 80 dollars per night by not staying in the city centre.

Perfectly fine hotel/motel that suited our requirements as a "base of operations" for our Canberra trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room as far away from the highway as possible. There's a live ammunition f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Robert,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and our convenient location, Away from all the hassle and easy access to all of Canberra.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was at the Eaglehawk Ibis for an Indigenous youth parliament, every staff member was very accommodating. I don't have anything bad to say apart from the gym. 2 pieces of equipment but the breakfast was good, dinner was always great, the staff were understanding as down in the front conference room we did get quite loud. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms always clean.

Curtin(?) was very good, she was there nearly every morning and nearly every night. Always friendly and helpful. Not to mention they had an oversized chess board in the lobby, great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, General Manager at Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Willae!

Thanks for the awesome review. I will make sure I tell Chantel (you were close...) about how much you appreciated her service. It will put a huge smile on her face!

It was great having you and your group in the hotel.

See you next time you are in town.

Jason Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 58 in Canberra
437 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
5.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#22 of 58 in Canberra
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#25 of 58 in Canberra
1,797 reviews
4.7 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
8.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk

Address: 1222 Federal Highway Service Rd, Sutton, New South Wales 2620, Australia (Formerly Rydges Eagle Hawk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk is set amongst 30 acres of natural landscaped native gardens. This truly unique property offers an inviting alternative to the Canberra CBD hotels. ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk now offers visitors to the ACT the ideal accommodation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Eagle Hawk Hotel Sutton
Rydges Eagle Hawk Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing