We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Matfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sorry, but it seems that this pub has totally gone down hill since a change of management (the previous bar/restaurant manager seems to have left) and since my last review. Just terrible, loutish behaviour and swearing at the bar, the pub does not look very clean and I can no longer recommend the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ICK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

its hard to imagine how a pub can go down hill so much since last visit , dirty floor boards , poor food and had to eat listning to appaling language from the bar, not a place to take ladys ! food prices were high considering the atmophere is is worse than a greasy spoon cafe

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Hi Tony B,

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your last visit to The Star. Since then however we have changed both owners and management.

We'd like to think that we're better than what you found last time and would love you to give us another try.

Yours

Richard Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The service was good. The food - scampi and chips was tiny. Thought I may have been given a kids meal by mistake. I am sure it was straight out of the freezer. The burger was dry. The chips were cold. The pasta was bland. It was just lacking in everything. The deserts were expensive for what they were - ice cream was extra?! I dont think that the majority of food could be classed as home cooked. The menu is too vast to be that good at everything. A lot of things were not available - iceland gone off line?? the place had a bit of a grimy feel to it. The toilets were unpleasant. A dog was locked up in the back garden, barking at us through the window. The side patio is covered in weeds and generally looked unkept. Wont be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aliyacov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Hi aliyacov,

I'm sorry that your visit to The Star was such a disappointment, but I am happy to tell you that since then we are under new ownership and have a new manager.

All of our food is now home-cooked and hopefully you'll enjoy yourself more if you give us another chance.

Yours

Richard Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's been a while since our last visit to The Star Inn and we were very disappointed. Previously the meals have been very good but things seemed to have gone down hill. We should have realised that it wasn't going to be a good evening when we asked for a table for two and we were waved in the direction of a dark cold corner. There was a fire alight down one end of the room but the end we were directed to was very cold and although the fire place had clearly been used for some reason a fire had not been lit on this Saturday evening. There were also three men sat at the bar who seemed to think the rest of the pub would like to hear their mobile phone conversation as they had the phone on loud speaker.
We had to wait a long time for the food to come, one of as ordered chicken with brie and bacon which was very nice. The second meal was chicken, leek and mushroom pie with hand cut chips. The pie was sadly lacking in chicken with only about 3 or 4 pieces in the entire pie. The chips were awful. They were grossly overcooked on the outside, very greasy and not at all crispy. We sent them back and asked for some more. The second batch were almost as bad, they were not cooked on the inside and were still greasy with no crispness, suggesting either the oil was not hot enough or needed changing. We also had to ask for a spoon to serve the vegetables, serving peas with a fork takes forever!
We won't be returning to the Star Inn again until we hear some good reports about it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

First visit on a Sunday. It was was busy which was a good sign. The food was lovely and there was a choice of 5 vegetables which tasted fresh and not overdone. The roast potatoes were the best I've tasted in a restaurant and were almost as good as my husband's. Service was a little slow but the staff did apologise for any delays. The only down side was that the snug where we ate was cold. I would definitely revisit but would want a table in the main part which was warmer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing