We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms set in a picturesque location”

Crown Inn Groombridge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groombridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown Inn Groombridge
Ranked #3 of 3 Groombridge B&B and Inns
Céglie Messápica, Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms set in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The owners could not have been more helpful and I really enjoyed my night at the Crown and breakfast the following morning. Mine was a last minute booking to attend a wedding in the area, but had I known how lovely the Crown and surrounding area were, I would have booked the previous night to enjoy what looked to be a really welcoming looking pub. Should I ever find myself in this part of Kent again, I'll definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaContadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night for a recent nearby family party. Beautiful 16th Century Inn with nice accommodation. Good range of beers and wine, and a really nice varied menu. Food sourced locally and really tasty. Full marks to the kitchen staff. Landlord really friendly and helpful; couldn't do enough to make our stay really enjoyable. Only one slight criticism - only one en-suite room, so had to share the facilities. But no problem to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JethroBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

traveling through Kent we came by this little pub with lot of history and a very friendly owner, good to get away from big hotels and feel the good of an old inn ....only problem were the weird "paranormal activities" ????? caused by a ghost????????? good food too!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnie9993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I booked all of the rooms at The Crown Inn for a weekend at the end of July. The food was not great, and the rooms weren't much better. The door to my room was poorly boxed in with plywood and the window didn't shut. The random furnishings were rather tatty, and didn't live up to the wonderful exterior of the building, which is a great shame when companies like IKEA make it possible to make even the most basic B&Bs look tidy and welcoming. Other reviews have already mentioned that there is one very small and poorly furnished shower for all four bedrooms, so I will not dwell on that. The floors and walls slope beautifully, which the two young (two and four) children in our party were fascinated by - up until the owners came up to tell them off for making a noise at 4pm in the afternoon... I pre-booked and paid half the money in advance, and was disappointed to find that when my brother (doing me a favour) paid the outstanding balance, he was over-charged by £120. Fortunately when I called to query this, the owners accepted that increasing the price of the rooms after selling them was not acceptable...The owners were nice enough to talk to over the bar, and perhaps the bedrooms are next for renovation, as the downstairs matches the exterior well enough and it is a lovely place to stop for a drink. Let's hope they get a decent chef in again, start making vegetarian breakfasts available as a normal option rather than something you need to have pre-ordered, and then make a serious attempt to sort out the rooms they have available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groombridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As a multiple visitor to this pub/inn it has always had a simple charm with very good food.
The new owners started off well fixing up the restaurant and adding nice linen cloths etc.
But they let the chef go and it has lost its charm.
The food is average, the breakfast is skimpy and it shows all the signs of falling off the twig. And guess what? They increased all the room prices by 20%!
No thanks!!

Room Tip: not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Superfliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Positives: Room was clean, bed was comfy. Nice fluffy towels and pillows.
Food ok, good breakfast.
Negatives: The fact that the website didn't mention that none of the rooms were en-suite. There is 1 toilet and 1 shower for all 4 rooms to share, however, there were washing facilites in our room.

Reasonable price but probably wouldn't stay for more than 1 or 2 nights of you're spoilt like us and used to having your own bathroom!

Room Tip: We had room 1 which had a bit of noise from traffic but if that doesn't bother you, as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent a night at the Crown at the weekend. The new owners had only been there four days and they'd already revamped the snug and the dining room, and the bedrooms are next on their list. They were super-friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great. Go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groombridge
2.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
11.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
271 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn Groombridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn Groombridge

Property: Crown Inn Groombridge
Address: Groombridge, Groombridge, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Groombridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Groombridge
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Groombridge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing