We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of le Jardin

le Jardin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: a newcomer. This new restaurant in the old town of Marrakech is welcome as a calm oasis. Coulour are all in green and black( and white ) there is a large patio with a slight market feeling , then lots of terrasses ,and alcoves. As it was quite new when I went there lin February it feels a bit empty , but with Easter holidays approaching it is certainly a great place to relax during your shopping spree in the souks
Palermo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It's a lovely place. You can choose to dine in the garden or the several terraces. Good food, and filling portions. Great service

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giuliettt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    473
    154
    62
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found le Jardin early on our trip to Marrakech. We'd heard about it from our Riad hosts and followed small signs to it through a busy Souk. As soon as we stepped over the threshold the craziness of Marrakech melted away. The Staff are all friendly and appear to speak every language under the sun.
le Jardin is stunning. Effortlessly cool with perfect colour pallets, tweeting Canarys and MASSIVE palms in the centre of the courtyard. The Food was fresh and tasty. I had a Lamb tagine and my partner a lemon and chicken tagine. both well cooked and authentic.
come for the food and atmosphere, STAY FOR MOJITOS!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, didn't deliver.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant in the first week of May. It had been highly recommended to us by other tourists. The restaurant was less than half full and we were led to an undesirable table beside the stairs next to a walkway. We were given a better table when we asked to be moved, luckily. The food was mediocre at best. Vegetarian couscous was mostly couscous and quite dry. The same went for the chicken couscous. We were given a wine list for wines by the glass only and then discovered that there was a by-the-bottle list. We could have bought a bottle of wine for about half the price of four glasses. When we mentioned this on paying our bill, the waitress became quite surly. The cashier did deduct two glassed of wine from our bill which we greatly appreciated. We would not recommend this restaurant to anyone even though the setting is lovely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Not bad food, if from a fairly limited menu, nice friendly service, and a chilled fun relaxing atmosphere with pleasant surroundings.Decent value including wine selection.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing and upsetting!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was recommended this resteraunt by the Lady who worked in the Riad we were staying in, so we decided to look for it ( took a bit longer than we thought ) but once we did we were stunned by the attractiveness of the restaraunt grounds, PLEASE DO NOT LET THIS FOOL YOU!!! We were not even shown to a seat, had to wonder around looking for somewhere to sit, took someone 10 minutes to take a drinks order and when we asked for a menu that had alcoholic drinks on we were told he would bring one to us..... this didnt happen. Ordered the tart and the ceasar salad for starters, which took a considerable amount of time, was obviously not made in the resteraunt as was cold and looked remarkably like ones that you could buy from the local patisserie. The ceasar salad had tiny portions of chicken and alot of salad leaves, not worth the £8 we had to pay.... once they had taken our main order, the stroppy waitress, one hour later brought us our food, I had ordered the chicken ''Le Jardin'' Burger and my partner had ordered the chicken Tagjine, wow....what a let down, not only was the chips that came with my ''burger'' cold but the burger was nothing but dry dry dry chicken and tiny pitta breads and that was it, no butter, no dressing no salad. once i told them this was unaccaptable and that I wanted at least some warm chips she SNATCHED the plate away from me and brought it back TEN MINUTES later baking hot- had obviously placed my ''meal'' in the microwave on full, I refused to eat and shared, what could only be known as a baby portion, of Tagine, with my partner. Drinks are over priced and service....well I would have rather of been served by a chimp in a fez!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaymaker121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed le Jardin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing