We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly the BEST B&B we've been to! [ B.B&B ]”
Review of Fat Fish B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fat Fish B&B
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As a 68 year old person and having travelled extensively in the RSA & abroad, Neville & Linda's place is the most tasteful, neatest & practical B&B we have ever been to! Only negative thing I can mention is that my Wife got so many "tips" from Linda's décor etc., that I will be inundated with work when we get home again! A lovely tranquil setting with all the necessary amenities + the most helpful & friendly hosts. Like my late Mom always used to say:- " what more can you ask for!!"
When heading from PE to E.London via the coast, do Yourself a favour & stay over at Fat Fish.
You won't be sorry, that I can assure You!

Room Tip: Both rooms we and our Friends were similar and outstanding + Honesty Bar & Dining/TV room was ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Des925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We chose Fat Fish B&B based on its great TripAdvisor rating and we weren't disappointed. Although it has no sea or river view, it's located in a queit spot next to a green belt and adjacent to a game reserve. The first view we had in the morning was a monkey sitting in a thorn bush eating his
breakfast! The river and beach are a comfortable walk away.
The rooms are absolutely wonderful: Comfortable, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are equally impressive, with a huge bath, plus shower...nicer than our bathroom at home! Every
room is equally lovely, but the two garden-facing ones get more sun. Each room has its own little outside terrace with seating - a lovely spot for reading, enjoying the sunshine and pretty garden and just contemplating life!
Hosts Linda and Nigel are most gracious and serve a lovely cooked English breakfast as well as a continental spread of great filter coffee, selection of teas, juices, fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, etc. The bright breakfast room and an honesty bar (complete with big screen TV) adjoins the bedrooms. There is also a braai area and outside shower and plenty of safe parking. Absolutely great value for money and truly highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Perfect place to stay!
very quiet cul-de-sac end of the road house.
Beautiful tiling, extra length mattresses, cool cotton quality bedding, really worth 5 stars.
Linda and Neville are great hosts!
Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Welcomed by Linda and Neville, our family was made to feel at home. We loved the spacious rooms, beautifully furnished, helpful and cheerful staff, and delicious breakfasts. Highly recommended. 5 minute walk to the beach and short drive to kenton.

Room Tip: Any one of the three rooms is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

For many years we used to go to Bushman's River mouth (Boesmansriviermond) to a family owned property, on a regular basis. Bushman's is an idyllic seaside location in the Eastern Cape, with a stunning 5 km sandy beach and rocky river-mouth.We went back this year in May and stayed at the Fat Fish B&B. We fell in love with the place the minute we arrived and were welcomed by the lovely hosts, Linda and Neville and their friendly little Jack Russel, Skwiza!
As we have arrived late, they assisted us in getting a late dinner booking at one of the local restaurants (already more than one would expect from your hosts!) The evening turned out to be a wonderful experience as was the rest of our time. The tasteful decor and care for detail were some of our favorite characteristics of this B&B! It is walking distance from the river and the beach. It met all our expectations and more.
Breakfast was a delight! We can sincerely recommend this as a short or long term holiday destination to everybody.
Tony & Linda L
Sheffield
UK

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Tucked away at the end of a cul-de-sac, is this absolutely wonderful B&B. Everything is so immaculately appointed, with such exceptional care to detail, that one feels as though you have entered an oasis, away from the maddening traffic and chaos of city life.
Neville (Linda was away when we visited) is an exceptional host, greeting us personally on arrival.
The breakfast was superb and our only regret was that we didn't have any extra days just to stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortably appointed. We occupied two of the three rooms on offer, and both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColleenM771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fat Fish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Fish B&B

Address: 29 Umthathi Street, Bushman's River Mouth 6190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bushman's River Mouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bushman's River Mouth
Price Range: £52 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fat Fish B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing