We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, relaxing in an open cabana to sound of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Arquitectura sustentable
Playa Pikua Ecolodge, amable con la naturaleza.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Buritaca, Santa Marta District, Magdalena Department

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ElaineLen...
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, relaxing in an open cabana to sound of the waves”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We only stayed one night and wish it were longer!

These are well equipped huts / rooms that are covered but not fully enclosed, located close to beach where you can go to sleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to the birds twittering nearby.

Comfortable bed, lovely semi-outside bathroom, hammocks to hang out in and relax in resort or on beach. A lovely breakfast is included.

The friendly hosts Martha and Oscar helped organize local transport to bring us to the hotel from Santa Marta and then to Tayrona Park. Recommend to take advantage of them organizing transport. Otherwise you’ll be dropped by bus on main road and from there take a motorbike taxi (or a long walk past a large banana plantation).

A place to go relax, enjoy the beach and nature. Don’t expect WiFi (although we did have cell signal on Claro), or lots of restaurants nearby - not in a town- but a phenomenal experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolyn...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil Boutique Resort with Lovely Hosts”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My friend and I just returned from a three night stiay at Playa Pikua. The owners Martha and Oscar, along with all of their staff, were the nicest, most accommodating hosts I’ve ever encountered. They sorted out all of our crazy tour and food requests quickly and without issue. They also paid attention to details. For example, their driver was bringing me back from Tayrona Park and I mentioned I had a bit of a tummy bug, which I’d picked up before I had arrived, not there. Thirty minutes after arriving back at my cabana I got a text from Martha. ‘Jose will bring you lemon and ginger tea for your tummy later.’ It’s these kinds of things that make Playa Pikua so special.

The only issue we had was with our booking through Booking.com. We booked a Family Room as we were two friends traveling and wanted two separate beds and saw that in the Family Room pictures there were two beds. Perfect! However when we arrived we were in a cabana with just one double bed. Oscar quickly arranged for another bed to be put in the cabana and moved us to the larger cabana the next day. It turned out that apparently in Booking.com there is no difference in the room types despite what you book, so if you need two beds even if you are just two people request that directly through Oscar and Martha and they should be able to accommodate. They sorted the issue very professionally.

A perfect place to stay for visiting Tayrona Park and Don Diego River nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EddieGord...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful ecolodge and great place to relax!”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Playa Picua for three nights in March 2018 towards the end of our trip and had a really great and relaxed time there! Martha and Oscar have been extremely nice and of great help regarding restaurants, trips to PNN Tayrona as well as organizing transportation to the airport.

The cabañas (currently there are four with a fifth one being built) are very spacious and equipped with bathroom, kitchenette and patio. At night, you'll hear nothing but the sound of the sea and various birds but bear in mind that there will be insects around as the cabañas cannot provide a closed environment.

Also, there is a huge common area pavilion close to the beach with hammocks on the upper deck and a seating/massage area at the bottom. One could easily hang out in the hammocks either on the (deserted) beach or on the pavilion upper deck all day.

There are restaurants close by (i.e. hostel next door) as well as the possibility to order food from local fishermen to have dinner on your cabaña's patio, which was both delicious and very nice. All in all a great place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of Tayrona and its surroundings. Muchas gracias por todo, Martha y Oscar!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieW44
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oceanside Escape”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful casitas are steps away from the roaring surf. Stayed 3 nights but wish it were longer. Truly ecological (solar powered), clean and comfortable though basic, with fans, a fridge, cooking supplies, delicious coffee and good breakfast, lovely staff. Ten minute drive from PNN Tayrona (though it’s hard to justify leaving the hammocks on the beautiful secluded beach here). Blessedly few mosquitos (though netting provided). Martha arranged massages for us ($24!) when we returned from the Lost City Trek (highly recommended!). It is very quiet and there is nothing going on here, but 2 minutes down the beach there are hostels with food, music, tours etc.

You should know: No one here speaks English. The owners are rarely on-site but easily accessible through WhatsApp for planning rides, meals etc. There is nowhere nearby to get or exchange cash so make sure to bring all you will need. You can dip in the ocean but it is not really swimmable, but you can walk 25 minutes down the beach to the river.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamatti
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beach paradise”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Martha and Oscar were wonderful hosts, always friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer. We chose the place to be close to Tayrona but actually it was far more relaxing to spend a day in a hammock on this quiet and nice beach. The cabaña was spacy, clean and pretty. It even had a kitchenette to cook lights meals. Breakfast was included in the price and Martha helped us to order delicious and inexpensive dinners from a nearby seafood restaurant and it was brought to us to the cabaña. Especially the lobster dish is worth to try. Unfortunately the lunch options were very limited and there was no wifi available. A little bit pricey resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We planned to stay 3 days, but we loved it so much at this beautiful paradise-like place, that we prolonged our stay for another two days . Martha and Oscar are absolutely lovely, welcoming and incredibly nice!! They gave us the feeling to be at home, right from the beginning and helped and provided us with everything we needed! The little huts are adorable and everything is made of natural materials and super clean! The amazing beach is right in front of the garden and you are surrounded by palm trees, flowers and birds! For us, it couldn't have been any better and we would love to come back!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location - terrible owners”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The property was nice but the owners were extremely rude to us. The website said there was wifi available in public areas and when we checked in they said that it was actually a hotspot on their phone and to ask them anytime we needed internet. They started becoming very rude anytime we asked for internet and started berating us saying they never promised internet and that we were the only people who ever asked to use their phone. We decided we had enough and wanted to leave a day early. Once they found out we were leaving they cut off the water to our unit even though we had already paid for the extra day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing