We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hacienda Tijax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Tijax
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hacienda Tijax is wonderful. We've stayed at the Tortugal many times in the past, and love it, so I wasn't sure what to expect at Tijax. But it surpassed my expectations. Great location on the Rio, maybe two minutes by lancha to the docks at Sundog or Rio Bravo. Tranquil waterfront bar/restaurant, with killer coffee starting at 6:00 a.m. Really good food if you don't feel like hitting town.

And they have Lucy! Lucy is a trip guide. She took us up to the tower and through the jungle one evening, and organized another trip to a waterfall the following day. she's friendly, funny, and super helpful. Look for her when you are there.

Almost forgot--the swimming pool is beautiful and a nice way to cool off in the evening. The fountains/waterfalls on the sides are a nice touch.

The only problem with Tijax is that it is so far away from where we live...I'm ready to go back now.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    82
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
72
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have a small bungalow, not big, but clean, an aico, no neighbours, so very quiet. We liked it very much. And a wonderfull walking trp with Lucy, their guide, to a vieuwpoint where you have an nice vieuw and a nice sunset vieuw. After the tour, we had a great pasta with garlic and a lot of srimps in it. Wonderfull. A place to go. Very friendly staff.
And a nice swimmingpool, clean and a relaxing place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leia-obi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I make this place my stop on my route to farther place away. I am always pleased with the accommodating nature of the staff. The food is good, and at a reasonable price. The waiter we had last night was one I had seen seven years before. He was very good, and made our stay special. The facility is a great place for couples and quite romantic.

Room Tip: They have three different types of bungalows that offer a different vibe. Some are on land in the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here! It is a great place to hang out over the water and have a cocktail at night. Just beautiful! There are many of adventurous activities you can do in the daytime as well. It is a very special place.

We loved all the yachts around us, Rio Dulce has a great vibe. Hacienda Tijax is exceptionally well situated on the water, close to everything yet far away from the noise.

We have been traveling for 9 months and we had the most restful sleep here than anywhere else. No dogs barking or roosters! Very unusual in rural Latin America!

Three helpful hints: bring bug spray, a flashlight and be careful walking on the boardwalk after it rains!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms with a private bath. It rains almost every night and if you are prone to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We didn't stay at the lodge but boated over to do the jungle tour with guide Lucy. It was a highlight of our eleven days in Guatemala - two hours worth or unbelievably, beautiful scenery. We especially enjoyed the suspension bridges and view from the tower but also loved being encapsulated by the thick, lush vegetation of the jungle. Lucy's expertise regarding the trees and plants, as well as her encouragement to the over 60 contingent in our little group, was much appreciated! Along with the boat trip down the river to Livingston, this is a must-do activity when in the Rio Dulce area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I booked for 3 nights & stay'd nearly two weeks !
After months of travelling at quite a pace I found Hacienda Tijax is the place for a holiday .
Beautiful surroundings , very friendly & helpful staff good food & bar, laid back , great pool , situated on the river with the biggest, best, back garden of jungle , farm land & rubber plantation .
To get there I took a bus from Antigua , as I stepped off a tourism rep walked me to the dock & rang Tijax who sent their motor boat to collect me .
After meeting Ninneth the friendly & helpful receptionist & booking in , Lucy the activities officer & tour leader introduced herself , she described all the tours on offer , Hikes , Horse back riding , Kayaking & more , Lucy will also help you get the boat to Livingston or Lago De Izabal , I took a bus to the lake & was meet by Benjamin Castillo , from Aventuras Ecologicas Castillo , my primary aim was Bird Watching but had the good fortune to see four Manatees . It didn't seem to matter that I couldn't speak Spanish , Benjamin was one of those gems that could overcome the language barrier & with signs, sounds & gestures tell me everything .
Morning one , just before sun up I set off on a Kayak tour to Monkey Point , paddling across the river at dawn was just divine listening to the howling monkeys in the distance , we moved into narrow waterways that opened up into little areas over hung by branches & vines , the water
carpeted with duck weed .
Overhead families of Howler Monkeys searched up & down for the tasty new leaves , leaping from tree to tree but the most exciting was a close up view of a Northern Tamandua ( a large brown & gold Anteater )
In the afternoon Lucy gave me a mud map of the Jungle Walk , one of the beauties of this place is that being private property you have lots of safe area to wander around alone if you want .
On the path to the jungle there is a beautiful little Museum devoted to the local flora & fauna .
Photographs & Botanical drawings with explanations of medicinal use of some plants .
The cabins are delightful , private with wooden walkways over the water where you might see a turtle .
I spent days walking through farm land into the jungle , amazing suspended bridges & well maintained gravel pathways . I photographed birds , Laughing Falcon , Summer Tanager , Mealy Parrot
to name a few .
I left for a few weeks Birding in Honduras , Tijax kindly looked after the bulk of my luggage until I returned for another balmy fee days .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The hotel is situated on water. Each room is just a small house sitting on water. Houses, the reception and the dining areas are connected by the wooden boardwalks and hanging bridges, and when it rains, they get wet and become slippery. The houses are quite small and there are ants all over the place inside. The showers are quite difficult to manage as you can't set the temperature right away - either it will be very hot or very cold. The food at the hotel is quite mediocre, and the service is very slow. Avoid meat dishes since the meat is not of a good quality and you will spend time chewing it, but the fish snook is very good. The salsa sauce served at the table is good, but make sure you get the green and not the brown one. Pretty much you will feel like Shrek in the swamp staying at this hotel. Since the hotel is on water, it has lots of blood sucking insects so be prepared, and also bring a flashlight with you because there are no lights above the bridges/boardwalks and you don't want to fall off of them at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkramaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio Dulce hotels
15.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
0.9 mi away
Tortugal River Lodge
Tortugal River Lodge
#3 of 18 in Rio Dulce
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tijax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tijax

Property: Hacienda Tijax
Address: Tijax, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Rio Dulce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tijax 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Tijax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing