We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after”
Review of Ramscombe Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramscombe Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Northend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Although not far from the centre of Bath, you feel like you are in the countryside. The views are lovely. Breakfast was one of the best I've had, with fresh bread and fruit salad, as well as everything else you'd expect. Accommodation is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Ramscombe Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night on Thursday 28th March after spending the day in Bath. Location is stunning and the minute we arrived there we didn't want to leave! We decided not to go back into Bath for something to eat in the evening (which is what we had originally planned to do) and instead, we ate at a local pub/restaurant which was great.
Room was so pretty; I couldn't get over the view out of the window. Bathroom lovely and modern. Slept very well indeed as it was so peaceful! Breakfast the following morning was amazing. Fresh fruit salad and freshly baked bread lovely, not to mention the fry up. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opeth_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Ranscombe Cottage at the weekend as we were in the city for the Bath Half Marathon. It's a short drive out of the centre, set in the picturesque countryside surrounding Bath. The cottage itself is stunning - traditional on the outside but well kept with clean modern bathrooms and comfortable, cosy bedrooms. Breakfast was amazing and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. Definitely worth a stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Peaceful yet handy location just 4 miles or so from Bath, within easy reach of the A4. We had a lovely stay - a great B&B all round. Incredibly welcoming hosts, beautiful bedrooms, very clean, warm and dry (on a very wet November weekend!). Tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms with some shortbread biscuits too. And as for the breakfast, absolutely outstanding - it kept us full all day!

It would be good to come back again in the summer months as our walk from the Cottage was impassable due to so much rain, even with wellies. That said, the views of Bath from the local hills were worth the boggy muddiness.

Highly recommended to others who are looking for a peaceful stay in the close vicinity of Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and will certainly be back again. The breakfast is great, especially the fruit salad. The location is handy for Bath and easy to reach from the M4 but very peaceful. A very friendly place to stay in a marvellous location. If you cross the Avon via the toll bridge you can park at the George and walk into Bath along the canal towpath.

Room Tip: There are only two bedrooms and both are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at Ramscombe whilst attending a two day music festival, and wow what a lovely place it is to stay. Clean, amazing views, and as for the breakfast......WOW WOW WOW....as the other reviewer Kelly said the fruit salad is a must have, it's gorgeous...the breakfast menu is so varied and it's nice to choose what you want to eat off the menu, makes a change from set menus. Didn't feel under pressure to leave as soon as we had finished, so chilled out on the terrace and soaked up 'that view'. The family who run this cottage are so welcoming, and it really felt like we had the run of the cottage as the atmosphere is so relaxing. Would definitely stay there again, and hopefully that will be very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent our tenth anniversary weekend with Vivienne and Richard Rogers in Ramscombe Cottage, a country cottage bed and breakfast a little outside the beautiful city of Bath. We wanted peace and quiet, and views of chickens and green rolling country (which we got from our bedroom window) as well as some stargazing by night away from city lights. All of this was wonderful at Ramscombe. Access to Bath was very easy - a short drive takes you to the canal and you can walk about 20 minutes or so to the centre of Bath. It was a lovely walk and showed us the spread of this historic city. Overall I can't recommend Ramscombe Cottage highly enough - clean, comfortable, scenic and with probably the best breakfast I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy (check out the amazing fruit salad....). We will certainly be going back to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northend
1.0 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bailbrook Lodge
Bailbrook Lodge
#27 of 157 in Bath
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poplar House
Poplar House
#1 of 2 in Batheaston
130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 157 in Bath
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#104 of 157 in Bath
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramscombe Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramscombe Cottage

Address: Ramscombe Cottage Ramscombe Lane | St Catherine, Northend, Bath BA1 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Northend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northend
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ramscombe Cottage Bath/Northend, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing