We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Ramscombe Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramscombe Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Northend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked an overnight stay to visit the Bath Christmas market. Stayed with my wife and 2 friends and had a lovely stopover, wished we could have stayed longer! Lovely location, the cottage has so much character and Vivienne and Richard have done an excellent job in preserving that. We always try and find places a little out of the way and Ramscombe Cottage fitted the bill perfectly. The rooms were great, very high standard with lovely views over the fields behind. Nice touches in the room like a corkscrew for those wine emergencies, a nightlight and a tray in the wardrobe for muddy shoes. Breakfast was outstanding, so much choice, cooked to perfection and so relaxed, could have sat there all morning.
Many thanks to Vivienne and Richard for making us so welcome and looking after us, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyMan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We book a stay for my wife & I to visit the Bath Christmas market along with our teenage daughter & her friend.
Vivienne agreed we could drop of our bags before heading for Bath & on arrival gave great advice on leaving the car in the village & catching the bus. Great advice as it is quicker & cheaper than parking in town.
Both the rooms were clean & comfortable with not only the usual tea & coffee provided but also fresh ground coffee with a cafetiere' & a jar of shortbread.
Breakfast was outstanding with oven fresh bread & homemade jam adding to a great full English.
Next time we visit the area we will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lovely, lovely and very helpful and accommodating hosts. Just a few miles out side of Bath on a narrow English country road adding to the full experience of either driving or a taxi ride for Americans not used to the left hand side system. Very pleasant lodgings, wonderfull breakfast and the most beautifully presented of any where we've been.. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank dederee1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Beautiful, quiet location, amazing views. We were visiting friends in Batheaston and stayed in the newly converted barn. Apparently we were only the second family to have stayed there. Vivienne and Richard have created a complete home from home - everything was brand new and it was beautifully decorated, They provided everything you could possibly need from tea, coffee, biscuits and condiments to shampoo, shower gel and kitchen foil. There was also a washing machine and iron. We had breakfast in the "cottage". Possibly the best full English breakfast ever with home made bread, fresh fruit salad and a large choice of cooked food. We even asked Vivienne for her recipe for the fruit salad! We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyamidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a fantastic start to our holiday (en route to Cornwall) in this lovely place. We were welcomed with delicious home-made cake and tea upon arrival (and the cottage did take a bit of finding and negotiating narrow lanes!). The rooms were lovely and comfortable with amazing views over the beautiful valley. The owners were the friendliest people you could wish for and made our stay even more perfect. Breakfast was delicious with home-baked bread and an amazing choice of cooked options. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. My parents from Germany were most impressed.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, a double and a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules14266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We loved this place. Our hosts were most gracious, friendly and welcoming. All of our expectations were met and more. This is a true English Bed and Breakfast experience and not to be missed. Located not far from the centre of Bath, it is in a very quiet, peaceful location down a country lane and sits among luscious green rolling hills. The room was spotlessly clean with all necessary amenities. The hostess even had coffee, tea and some delicious biscuits available in the room. An extensive breakfast menu was available including a true English breakfast if you wished. The homemade breads, marmlade and jams were great. A wonderful fruit salad was included with breakfast. The breakfast room was warm and inviting and added to the total experience. Our host was very helpful with suggestions regarding getting into Bath and he even offered to come and meet us the night before when we made a wrong turn. Getting off the beaten path just a little you can find wonderful surprises that add to your vacation/trip. Ramscombe is one of those wonderful surprises that leave you with that "we have just had a great experience" feeling and a warm memory to take with you. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Traveling from Suffolk, we topped and tailed our Cornish holiday by staying at the Cottage, and it really added to the experience. Deep in the hills above Bath, the traditional cottage is spotlessly clean, with everything needed supplied in the room. After a good night's sleep and watching the ponies in the fields outside the bedroom window, the smell of fresh baked bread enticed us down to a fabulous breakfast spread which included, amongst other things, a fresh fruit salad and a full English breakfast for those who were really hungry. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming, attentive but not intrusive. A perfect start and end to our holiday - will definitely become a regular stop!

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northend
1.0 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poplar House
Poplar House
#1 of 2 in Batheaston
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#102 of 155 in Bath
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cedars
The Cedars
#1 of 2 in Bathford
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramscombe Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramscombe Cottage

Address: Ramscombe Cottage Ramscombe Lane | St Catherine, Northend, Bath BA1 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Northend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northend
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ramscombe Cottage Bath/Northend, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing