We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Country Garden B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Indian Brook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent a few nights at the English Country Garden B&B and had a truly incredible experience. Ian and Penny were gracious hosts and made sure to make our stay extra special. We stayed in the Russian Room and needless to say it was beautiful. The food was also top notch, especially if your stay includes dinner! Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Tim,

Happy New Year and all the best for 2014 to you and yours from Penny and I !

Even with our present over abundance of snow the English Country Garden B & B looks quite beautiful . We are planning our year for 2014 ,wondering about food changes for breakfasts , Fine Dining and what classical music recitals we shall be hosting at our Fine Art Gallery.

We are always grateful for the time spent by guests to write of their stay with us and we shall always endevour to surpass expectations .

It is hoped you will be able to stay with us again,

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner,
The English Country Garden B & B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The English Country Garden Bed and Breakfast.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Our meal on Friday evening, prepared by Ian and served by Penny was five star.
Breakfast both mornings was delicious. We will definitely return to this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryjanens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Mary Jane,

How heart warming to read your review and know that you had a romantic time with us , thank you .I certainly enjoyed preparing dinner for you both and I was especially pleased with the very decadent chocolate mousse for dessert.

Our signature dish English breakfast I know was a hit with Rob especially ,along with Penny's scones and banana loaf.

Penny and I look forward to welcoming you here again and we wish you a very Happy Birthday later this month,

Yours sincerely,

Ian,
Co-owner ,
The English Country Garden B & B Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in the Iris Suite one night on our two-week tour of Nova Scotia, and enjoyed it very much. The suite is actually three rooms --- a bedroom, bath, and small sitting room with a lake view, good reading lamp and comfy chairs, where I read for several hours. After traveling/hiking on the Cabot Trail, it was good to relax there. Dinner was at the cute Clucking Hen deli/restaurant just down the road, and Ian gave us an especially yummy french toast/berry/cream cheese dish for breakfast. We thought about staying up late to go to the Celtic Colours festival after-hours at St. Ann's, but driving to St. Ann's and back just seemed like too much trouble after our adventurous day, and we were very content to unwind at the English Country Garden B&B.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Donna ,

When I read your review my initial response was one of joy ,not just because you so obviously enjoyed your time with us and The Iris Suite but because of Bisbee. Bisbee ,Arizona where Penny and I has spent a very pleasurable afternoon when on vacation ourselves .We cannot wait to return.

I still cook the stuffed french toast and other breakfast foods including a traditional English breakfast . Perhaps if you visit again you will be able to order our Fine Dining and still have time to read .

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and all best wishes for Christmas ,

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner,
The English Country Garden B & B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in Rose cottage which overlooked the lake - and what a place to stay and wake up to stunning views! Ian greeted us in the driveway and was incedibly welcoming, showing us to our stand alone cottage. The cottage was indeed luxurious with one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in. Due to the time of year there was very little open in terms of eating in the area to we opted to go for teh fine dining option for dinner. Ian is very very accomplished cook and delivered a delicious 4 course meal on both evenings - very varied and accomating given our non-meat requirement. Breakfast matched up to the standard of dinner and genuinely felt like we were being served in our own personal hotel. Ian was the perfect host throughout and a massive asset to the area - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityhobgoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Kirsty and Sam,

Thank you so,so much for such a wonderful review .It is always encouraging and heart warming to know that our guests enjoy the products and experiences that we are able to create.

We take pride in providing the niceties of life which we hope are so welcome in the hurly ,burly of today's everyday life. Luxury is a very subjective notion ,but we do consider it an art form ,hence our belief in the Art of Luxury as our constant aim in providing to all our guests every day.

All the best in the future,

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner,
The English Country Garden B & B Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had planned to stay at the B&B and to my surprise my now fiance had an engagement planned while traveling the Cabot Trail, so once we arrived we were greeted with open arms, we were fortunate to stay in the Russian Room thanks to our lovely hosts, and we stayed for dinner all to ourselves which was FABULOUS, we were treated like royalty, food was amazing down to the very last detail. In the morning we had a spectacular breakfast and wonderful service. It was very hard to leave...can't wait to return! Thank you Ian and Penny!

Room Tip: We got a tour of the rooms and would not have a bad thing to say about any of them...although the Ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jday1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

How heart warming and uplifting it is when guests arrive with such happy news as an engagement ,especially when it happens on the Cabot Trail !

In a world where misery,strife and discord are seemingly the norm - happiness is to be celebrated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us Jennifer and we look forward to greeting you again when we hope you will have just as good a sleep in another room ,as good service and delicious food .

All the best for the future,

Ian,
Co-owner ,
The English Country Garden B & B Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great little place on the Cabot Trail.

Ian was a wonderful host, tending to every little detail.
We stayed in the Iris room the first night and the Russian room the second night, both were excellent with GREAT beds and the tubs are very relaxing.

If travelling the Cabot Trail its a wonderful place to relax and re-charge.

Thank you Ian, and I do hope you have fully recovered from your fall.

Room Tip: Call early for reservation :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Bert,

I am fine ,thank you so much for asking .I do not normally make such a spectacular entrance to greet our guests .Though greet our guests as soon as they pull into the car park we do love to do .It was only my pride that was hurt and of course embarrassed !

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy two of our five suites whilst you were with us . Relaxing and re-charging is the perfect way to savour what we have to offer here ,whether the hot breakfasts each morning , Java Blend coffee and baked goods or our Fine Dining .The soaker baths soothe away the aches especially as we are adding Nova Scotia Pearl and Daisy bath salts in our en-suite bathrooms.

Thank you for taking time to write this review and again for your concern,

Yours sincerely ,

Ian,
Co-owner ,
The English Country Garden B & B Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Only regret was we did not stay longer. we are already planning a return visit. Breakfast was amazing! Iam and Penny were very helpful and accommodating. Room was beautiful and spotless. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golferrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiespencer, Owner at English Country Garden B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We certainly hope that next time you can stay longer , try a different suite and enjoy even more breakfasts;the home made muffins ,scones,breads , hot dishes and not forgetting the coffee from Java Blend . Perhaps you will be able to take in one of our Fine Dining experiences as well.

To be considered " Paridise " when there are so many other amazingly good places to stay is a true accolade and gratefully and graciously received .

Thank you for taking the time to write such a heart warming review,

Ian,
Co-owner ,
The English Country Garden B & B Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Brook
21.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.0 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort and Retreat
0.6 mi away
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
#2 of 2 in Indian Brook
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
19.9 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
216 reviews
17.6 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Country Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Country Garden B&B

Address: 45478 Cabot Trail | Rr 1, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Indian Brook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Brook
Price Range: £87 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax with us and experience the art of living. Overlooking a tranquil lake, our inspired rooms are the beginning of a Bed & Breakfast experience like few other. 5 Luxury Suites with 4 piece bathroom en-suites. Full Breakfast. No Stairs for most of our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your English Country Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing