We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Indian Brook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Cape Breton area as part of our 9 day trip to Nova Scotia. We reserved a room at the Sea Parrot based on proximity to the areas we wanted to see, and the ratings on Trip Advisor. However, when we arrived it wasn't what we thought it would be and suffice to say we were a little disappointed. We've stayed in many B&B's over the years and so we obviously have a certain expectation of what a typical B&B would be like. This one wasn't up to that standard, and wasn't as nice as many of the pictures suggest. The property leaves a bit to be desired in terms of appearance and landscape maintenance, and the room we were given was simply okay. The breakfast is served in the main house but it's a very small area. It's a very, very small kitchen area, and we didn't see any separation between the cooking area and the dining area, and there didn't appear to be anything resembling a typical sit-down and eat arrangement. The owners have small dogs who appear to have free roam of the house, including the kitchen area, which is a major turn-off for us. While we were in the house at the beginning the dogs were there and frequently barking. Since we weren't staying in the main house we overlooked it. However, we assumed that at least for the breakfast the dogs would be outside, but since they have a room adjacent to the kitchen where it appeared the dogs hung out we were concerned the dogs would be around for breakfast. Again, that's a major turn-off for us. Regardless, we never stayed that long so we can't say how it works out. We toured quite a bit of the Cape Breton area for the majority of the day, but left before evening and found another spot much more to our liking.

Our mistake was reserving a room before physically checking it out. We should have done that and had we done so we'd have passed on this spot and avoided paying for a room we never used. We wouldn't recommend this spot, but most certainly anyone considering it should check it out for themselves. Obviously from the ratings there are people who like it. Just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PaulBrawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
As anyone else reading this review make it known that this gentleman and his wife never even stayed at our resort. They came and looked at their room which I should mention is a lovely oceanfront and our most popular suite. And as far as his comments, he didn't even stay to get a breakfast or anything else. So we are disappointed in him not ourselves.

First of all I am sure you saw the room before booking.
And nothing changed from the pics to actual seeing.
You should have asked me about arrangements for breakfast and had you been honest with me and said you didn't want the room and not just tried to skip out I would have not charged you, I always appreciate it when people ask questions and don't make judgment calls before they have even had a chance to experience our site. I normally check-in all guest's but was off doing the large house. Being you checked in sooo! early, but I still had your room ready which even major hotels would not have. I wish you had spoken to me before writing this nasty review since you did not even stay I can't see could make so many comments. I think we both know why you made this bad review because I charged you for the room anyway. Sorry next time be more up front with an owner it usually goes a long way in your favor.

Sorry you were not happy again I wish you had said something to my face and not written this
review behind my back.

But we will continue to always give 100% and keep trying t please our guest's always.

Thanks
Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    20
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a very short 3 night stay. Lonnie was very helpful in our tourist plans which included Captain Mark's Whale Watching (even received a discount). This was by far the highlight of our trip. Sea Parrot's view of the ocean is breathtaking and actually brought a tear to my eye. The grounds are well kept and our hosts were super friendly and accommodating. I especially liked soaking in 1 of the 2 hot tubs available, star gazing in the evenings but the 6 things that made me smile the most were the Yorkies....OMG absolutely adorable!! Especially my buddy Spike. I miss everything this B&B has to offer and would recommend it to couples and families alike. You won't be disappointed :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This happens to be my best vacation ever. If you are looking for a place free from the everyday hectic schedule and freedom from the horn beeping, crowded highways and arrogant people, then this is the place to be. I honestly can not say one bad word about this place. Every room is clean and has an amazing view of the ocean. Hearing the sounds of the waves hitting the shore is just awesome. Looking up into the sky at night and seeing the amazing stars in the universe without the city light is breathtaking. Or waking up in the morning an looking at the ocean and seeing 5 beautiful seals relaxing and surfing the waves.

Take a ride around the Island to see the wonderful coast line. No traffic lights just a scenic view that will be part of your memories forever. Its like time has forgotten about this place. The drive around the entire Island will take about 5 hours and that's only driving. There is plenty to do if you want to explore, like whale watching, fishing, hiking, jet skiing, kayaking and more. If your looking for a place to party, I would not recommend this place for you. But if you are looking for some great FAMILY vacation to bond and enjoy what life is all about, then you need tho come to this place. Lonnie and Roy has done a great job and had made our vacation/honeymoon more enjoyable by taking the worries out of the mix. Rest and relaxation could not have been any better.

Room Tip: You cant get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Sea Parrot last summer on our family cruise across eastern and central Canada. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay on Cape Breton. Our Apartment was spacious and exceptionally clean. The hot tub on the edge of the cliff next to the ocean is an amazing place to sit and relax and take in the beauty of the island. The owners make you feel as part of there family. They were extremely helpful giving us advice on places to visit on the island. If the Sea Parrot were closer to my home in NJ I'd make it a regular summer get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank think2xaboutRIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Awesome! Fantastic! Breathtaking! Wicked! Delicious! Not just a bunch of words to describe something amazing.
Awesome hosts – Lonnie and Roy- waited for our very late arrival. They were outside, the second our car lights hit their driveway.
Lonnie gave us a tour of our apartment and also asked about our breakfast choices, to make sure we are having a great start in the morning.
Fantastic location – every room or cottage has an ocean view! Far enough from the main road therefore very peaceful and quiet property. Also located on Cabot Trail.
Breathtaking view from every angle.
Wicked rooms – playfully quaint and matching decorations with minute attention to detail. Even the umbrellas, key chains or kitchen utensils are matched to the room décor!
Delicious pancakes made by Lonnie every morning!
It’s hard to believe we made it so far, but it was worth every mile we drove from Toronto!
Thank You!
Cristina, Gabriel and Baby Rouge

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hey Gabe & Christina,
Hope you have a good trip home miss you already.
Give the baby a hug for me.

Hope to see you both again and of course your sweet baby girl.

It was a real pleasure all the best
Roy, Lonnie and all the kids say hi.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found the resort to be very attractive with a wonderful ocean view. The Hosts Lonnie and Jack were friendly and excellent and easy to find. We loved the location to the trail and the ferry. The hosts are always willing to offer suggestions and book trips.

Room Tip: The Cottages are eccellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapaldeo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAPARROT, Owner at Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We are sooo! glad you loved staying with us.
Hope to see you again.
Have a great fall.
Thanks Lonnie & Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was a trip for just my mom and I throughout Nova Scotia. I found the Sea Parrot to stay on Cape Breton and I am so glad I did! The place is just heaven. The view is AMAZING! Our room was the garden room - and don't be fooled it has more than a garden view. I could see the ocean from the bed! We loved the rocky beach, walking for hours finding sea shells and rocks. The owners had the large lawn decorated beautifully and comfortably with hammocks and places to sit in various locations. This place would be great if I ever bring my kids to Cape Breton.

The breakfast was fantastic. I have been to B&Bs before, but I have to say the breakfast here was #1. It gave us plenty of energy to hike all day.

Lonnie was great! Showing us everything and making suggestions. We really felt at home.

Thanks so much for a great vacation and some bonding time for a mom and daughter!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Brook
24.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
23.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
0.6 mi away
English Country Garden B&B
English Country Garden B&B
#2 of 2 in Indian Brook
130 reviews
18.6 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor

Property: Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor
Address: 45227 Cabot Trail, Indian Brook, Nova Scotia B0C 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Indian Brook
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce our RATED EXCELLENCE AWARD from Trip Advisor & Flipkey Oceanfront Luxury Suites & Sea-side Cottages & 1-oceanfront private houses **5-STAR** Canada Select property. New - Modern 2-story Cape Cod style, 3,100 sq. Ft. Of luxury. Decorated with authentic southwestern furnishings that will keep your attention for hours. A large wrap around verandah that overlooks 14 acres of lush greenery and oceanfront views at the mouth of the beautiful St. Ann's Bay. We are more than just a B&B. We are a full service resort. All windows in this Manor, Apartment suites and cottages offer picturesque views of either ocean, mountain's or woods of plenty. Two oceanfront hot-tubs, sauna and two playgrounds. So much to do for all ages.Every unit on this spectacular property have a great oceanfront view. Nightly bonfires hosted every night for our guests to enjoy and meet other guests from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Parrot Ocean View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing