We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips”
Review of Mel's Fish & Chips

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mel's Fish & Chips
Ranked #57 of 123 Restaurants in Woodstock
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We visit the restaurant every Friday and have never had a bad meal. Pick the special and two people can dine for as little as $9.50!! How's that for a deal in these days of rising prices and diminishing returns. The staff is extremely friendly and all have a great sense of humour. The restaurant has been around for many years and is a local fixture. Worth giving this restaurant a try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay but not brilliant”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I will say I have visited mels a few times now and the most recent visit has been the most disappointing by far, the chips were a little greasy, the fish seemed smaller than last time, and the battered mushrooms were still frozen in the middle. Very friendly as always but I do think they do need to update the decor and maybe refresh the cooking and menu. At $48 it wasn't cheap either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PBphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth exiting the 401!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stopped in on a long drive from Ottawa to London. Got the family pack of pollock and it fed 6 of us. Delicious! We ate it in a beautiful nearby park they recommended. Great experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smeep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Don't go by the outside, the staff are very friendly, the fish & chips are the best around. Also only place I can go for mushy peas, a must have with fish & chips for any english person. Prices are great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lakievan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MMMMMM”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Best fish around.. Dont want to compare to the world but I have told them there that they are better than the big name franchises, wold go weekly if I could.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mel's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing