We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with warm welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stowford Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Wingfield B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place with warm welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the loft conversion which provided quirky, clean & comfortable accommodation with lovely fresh flowers. Breakfast is a feast of fresh fruit, greek yoghurt, cereals & a full English with delicious home produced sausages and bacon. The hosts Gail & Tony are warm and welcoming with nothing too much trouble. There is a relaxing feel about the whole place which includes a couple of camping fields with lots of happy children enjoying playing in the fresh air. There are also Art & Craft workshops and The Manor serving lovely cream teas & ice creams. Arriving back from a day out it was great fun using the torch provided to find our way "home". A very nice place indeed.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
22
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gingins
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in July 2012, luckily during a time of gorgeous weather. We stayed in the loft conversion which was large & well-equipped by Gail with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits & snacks.
Gail & Tony were warm, friendly & helpful hosts who could recommend good places to eat & to visit. (There are great pubs within walking distance and a map shows footpaths & roads to get to them. We liked the New Inn.)
Breakfasts....WOW!! Everything you could possibly desire for brekkie is on offer. A wonderful dish of fruit awaited us to start with, followed by cereals & buns and a delicious cooked breakfast. Bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms...all sampled by us & all completely yummy.
We picnicked by the river and Tony helpfully kept our food & wine cool for us, then provided us with wine glasses - thanks Tony!
We couldn't have asked for more, except maybe less woodlice, but I'm sure they'll be seen off soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Arriving on a Friday night straight from work in London, the moment we turned off the road into the drive I could see this was going to be a special experience, and I was right.

Two pristine camping fields curve along a riverbank leading up to gorgeous old farm buildings, and as we parked host Tony appeared with a huge welcoming smile to help carry bags up to our rooms in the lovely annex.

We were there for a friend's wedding taking place a few fields along, and Stowford made a stunning setting for all our mates staying both in the B&B and tents. The bride had introduced her wedding venue as "all the convenience of finishing the champagne cider celebrations and crawling straight into your tent, only to wake up for a swim in the river and recovery breakfast the next day" and it was brilliant.

Gail was very flexible about when breakfast could be and it turned out to be a complete treat. I came-to very slowly in her cosy, colourful breakfast room decorated with vintage crockery, overlooking a stunning lawn and old and loved garden which was the picture of complete peace. A tempting dish of greek yoghurt and fresh fruit was a great start to the day and then I had a bacon sandwich and pots of loose leaf tea. Delicious food cooked to order in a very pretty place.

Over the next few days friends and their kids took advantage of the rain-fueled currents in the river to drift from the mill house banks round the curving river to the rope swings of the swimming club further down stream. I also loved my own dip past the trees and grasses getting in a bit further down river, though I left the rope swings to the braver at heart!

Chatting with Tony during my stay, he mentioned that locals running shiatzu workshops at the Mill had commented that the 'ford' marks the crossing of two laylines, if you're into that sort of thing, and that the farm had a long legacy of being a healing space over the years, which was easy to see why.

On arrival, as Tony put my suitcase down in my annex room, he told me he especially liked that bed, as you can lie and watch the sky from the windows in the roof. The next morning as I woke from such a comfortable sleep and looked up at the sky, I noticed yellow rose petals strewn over my pillow. It took a while to figure out they'd fallen from the fresh wild flower posy on a shelf above my bed. Magic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimakestracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here on w/e of 21 July with my family and was utterly impressed! Incredibly beautiful setting and charming and attentive hosts - Gail and Tony. The breakfast was delightful - fruit (some from own garden), sausages and bacon from their own pigs, stunning riverside setting.
You wont go wrong if you stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed here for a friends wedding and had a thoroughly bloody good time. Gail's warmth and hospitality is unrivalled, the rooms are comfortable and full of character, the breakfast deserves a review all of its own, we couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you don't mind crouching slightly to get in the room, stay in the loft across from the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We came to this gem of a place in order for me to enjoy a Glass Blowing Experience on the farm.
We stayed the night in the B&B and were enthralled by it. Our room was delightful, clean & tidy and very well appointed with views of the mill stream & rolling fields to the back, & the working farm & workshops to the front.
Breakfast was superb using fresh produce from the farm itself. It set me up for the day. Gail was adaptable as to what was offered & willing to change. The dining room was fascinating with an vast array of china & objects displayed beautifully.
Gail was a perfect host. She was very welcoming, nothing was any trouble, helpful, knowledgeable & passionate about the area. It felt like we were being welcomed into a friend's home.
We will definately recommend Stowford Mill and would happily return to it ourselves.
We could not fault it at all.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Spent one week here in the B&B in February while attending a glassblowing course in the nearby glass centre. Room with a beautiful view over the river (see attached photo), calming sounds of running water as a bonus.

Gail provided us with a hearty breakfast and a coupe of truly splendid dinners - if you can get dinner as part of the stay, it is highly recommended, she is truly a fab cook and friendly to boot.

Decent TV on the room as well as a coffee/teamaker.

The shower is the typical electric-heated little-water one which is too common, but the bathroom was clean and refurbished quite recently.

The double bed was average and quite ok.

Overall, very good value for money and a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishop4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingfield
1.2 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
960 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
3.4 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilbury Court Hotel
Hilbury Court Hotel
#3 of 15 in Trowbridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stowford Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stowford Manor, Wingfield, Trowbridge BA14 9LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Wingfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stowford Mill bed and breakfast is situated within the small medieval hamlet of Stowford Manor. It lies in the beautiful Frome valley, and has the river running through through the back garden. A couple of hundred yards downstream is the only surviving river swimming club that can be enjoyed by all at minimum price. Breakfast is a specialty with many products sourced from the farm itself. There is cream tea served daily in the manor house opposite, and a campsite that some younger members of the family may choose to stay in!! Despite the tranquil nature of the setting, we are within a 20 minute drive of Bath and Longleat Safari Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stowford Mill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowford Mill Hotel Wingfield
Stowford Mill b&b
Stowford Mill Bed And Breakfast Wingfield, Trowbridge, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing