We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased we didn't cancel!”
Review of Manor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ditcheat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

On entering the Manor House Inn our first impressions was a friendly, warm, happy atmosphere; there were a lot of people stood around drinking and enjoying themselves in the bar area. This came as a big relief as we nearly cancelled our booking after being warned by someone that the place was under new management and had gone downhill.
The menu was varied with plenty of choice and there was a separate specials menu and the sweet menu was also not a let-down. When the food arrived it was a good portion size, nicely presented and even more important was very tasty, and the plates were hot! The vegetables were served separately and unlike some places there was plenty. The waiting-staff were very friendly and informative; my husband has a shell-fish allergy and the young lady knew that one of the specials included prawns (although this wasn’t mentioned on the menu). Both the food and drink looked like it had been sourced locally where available. The food was priced fairly for restaurant prices.
The dining area we were sat in was pleasantly warm and cosy and we didn’t feel hurried. The separate skittle alley area seemed nosier but didn’t interfere with us.
To anyone thinking of a visit, don’t let the few bad reviews put you off, we could find nothing to complain about. We are so pleased we didn’t cancel and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Poor Somerset. While your heart goes out to the beleaguered farmers and folks of the Levels, here, while we wait for the government to get it's act together, is an altogether happier Somerset story. The magical village of Ditcheat––and the gem that is the Manor House Inn. If you are looking for authentic, you've found it. A beautiful, red brick, flag-stoned, beamed and timbered building. Open fires. Friendly staff. Great ales--local, for the most. And, of course, the food.
The Manor House pulls off that trickiest of double acts--to be pub and restaurant both. With a perfect, balance and harmony between the two. This is much to do with the design and intelligent layout of the place, as it is to do the first rate service, should you wish to just lean on the bar with a lovely English bitter, or take a table for a warming venison stew and a top bottle of Argentinian Malbec.
We stayed in the mews--room two. It was first rate. Spotless. Well appointed. With a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious: accompanied by the gently clopping of hooves from the nearby racing stable. This adds much to the atmosphere of the place; the bar thronged with jockeys and stable lads and girls. A vibrant, young crowd, co-mingling and happy to chat to middle-aged tipplers like us.
In all, a great weekend. Both a world away, yet comfortingly familiar. All under a Somerset heaven that wasn't, for once, chucking it down. Thanks. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingjohnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

For the first time in a very long time, we went out for lunch as a family. So, there was the grumpy teenager, the hyperactive 4 year old, the scrupulous wife and me all out for Sunday lunch. We went out as a treat so my wife or I didn't have to cook nor plan to find a decent piece of beef to roast (not so easy these days). We had three adult roast sirloins and very good the meat was - all requested and served pink as was the child's small (er) portion. The beef was served with roast potatoes (poor) and an assortment of vegetables (also poor) with excellent yorkshires and gravy alongside. The bill came £60 with all the soft drinks. Atmosphere was fine, service good and overall experience 7.5/10.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timtrailfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at The Manor House Inn for one night in Room 3 ('See More Business') of The Mews. We had previously enjoyed weekend lunches here and chose the Inn as the venue for a relaxing night away. It has strong connections with the nearby Paul Nicholls Yard (7 times champion trainer) and the bar/dining room walls are adorned with photos of the many champions from the yard. The fixtures and fittings in Room 3 were functional but it was warm, cosy and spacious. We slept well and were refreshed in the morning. A minor quibble would be that the iPads didn't pick up the Inn Wi-Fi in the room but this could be easily found in the bar. We ate dinner in the Denman Bar (named after the great Gold Cup winner) and enjoyed a good meal in a convivial atmosphere. The chocolate puddle pudding is particularly recommended. The breakfast had plenty of options and the traditional English cooked breakfast included a very good sausage from the local Home Farm. This was a friendly village hangout with babies and dogs adding to the atmosphere. If you're a horse racing aficionado then this is a must visit where the memorabilia will invoke memories of great races and champions of the past. If you're just looking for a warm, friendly place to stay offering good food & drink then this is the winning option. The Manor House Inn will 'see more business' from us - thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights on business and my experience was near to perfect as you can get. The venue is an old building and has the classic interior to match. The staff on duty were attentive, welcoming and friendly and made me feel at home. The food was superb with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. Locals were friendly and chatty and I even got the opportunity to meet local celebrity Paul Nichols! There is a skittle alley on site which was fun to watch and the log burner was the icing on the cake. Can't wait to visit again!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had there been a 'better than excellent' mark, I'd have given it for my visit (and especially for the room and my brekkie). Basically I was there to do some work (on the computer - free wifi) and decided I'd stay there the night before, have a few pints, a bite of dinner and get down to work the following day. I arrived in the evening, checked in and headed to the bar. A wood fire was burning and skittles were being set up for a match that the pub's team had that evening against a pub from just down/up the road (nb: I always thought pub skittles was just for tourists but it was taken seriously). Anyway my evening was superb. I chatted all evening to wonderful friendly locals (nb: none of your Straw Dogs types). Had an absolutely terrific dinner (spoke to the chef who takes his grub VERY seriously) had some wonderful beers, went to bed late and slept like a top. Breakfast the next day was as good as I can remember anywhere. You could honestly taste the quality of the produce. After this feast, I had a quick walk around the village, which on a misty morning, was picture-postcard stuff, especially with horses from the local stables being put through their paces close by. I started work at about 10.00am and was (more or less) done by 1.30pm. I should have gone then but I noticed there was a lamb-shank on the menu. The rest as they say is history. Quite simply a magical place. If you want to treat yourself for no real reason, I can recommend few places higher.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This place has gone to pot. It used to be in the top five pubs within a 3 mile radius of Castle Cary but that was when it was well-run, even under management, serving great food, ale and sparkling clean. Last week we went for the first time in ages as the main road has been closed for 6 months, involving a lengthy diversion, but recently re-opened. It was 1.30pm on a Saturday, 6 customers in the bar, two in the dining room. Fire hardly burning, not a flower in site, tacky-looking furnishings, smell of dirty mop-heads. It was cold in there but, after a long wait for someone to appear behind the bar, we ordered a half pint lemonade shandy and a black coffee for which £5.30 was demanded. I queried the price and it came down to 4.65 which still seemed a helluva price if the coffee was £2.20 it made the shandy £3.10! The menu was uninteresting and the chalk board of sandwiches no longer existed - they were always very good and served with chips. Instead there was the monotonous ciabatta with fillings which didn't tempt us. The pub seems to revolve around Sky Sports now and has lost it's finesse with no-one in charge or appearing at all interested unlike some time ago when staff were attentive and efficient. We decided not to bother eating and probably won't visit again unless Paul Nichols wins the National again! Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Drive on don't bother stopping
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pubbuff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Hanrahan, Owner at Manor House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Dear PubBuff25
thank you for review. I didn't respond at the time as we had just bought the pub and we were going through a lot of change at The Manor. We had inherited a team of people and practices that we knew needed changing. We have now refurbished The Manor throughout, adding new meeting rooms and new guest bedrooms. We also have a new chef and a new, motivated, management team that have completely addressed some of the issues that plagued The Manor before we bought it. We very much look forward to Paul Nicholls winning the Grand National once again, perhaps we'll get to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditcheat
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
980 reviews
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
190 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Address: Wraxall Road, Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet BA4 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Ditcheat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ditcheat
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manor House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Manor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Inn Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing