We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place, Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longhill Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ditcheat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longhill Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Ditcheat B&B and Inns
Grasbrunn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous place, Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed a couple of days at this lovely place. Great bathroom with superb shower and everything was superclean. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast with a variety of dishes, different from the traditional English breakfast. The kids loved the pancakes. Neville was very helpfull and friendly. Nice rural area with some good and reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Bath, Glastonbury and Wells are easy to reach. All in all Most enjoyable. Thanks to the Dykes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diary room, which suited the four of us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoseGrasbrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Received a very warm welcome in spite of Gayle and Neville's unforeseen family crisis. We stayed in the Orchard room which was ideal for Mum who is disabled. The breakfast room was handy for her to walk to with her walking frame. Our breakfast was healthy and adequate for our needs. The menu in the folder did not make it clear whether full English breakfast was available so I can imagine there being some confusion for those too shy to ask. Also I struggled to access the wifi in the orchard room.

It was unclear whether the lounge was private or for guest use. I sat in there as it was a good wifi signal, then realised I may have embarrassed the young daughter who had apparently been relaxing in there. It would be helpful if this could be made clear to save embarrassment all round.

Overall though a very comfortable enjoyable stay, thank you. I do hope the family are well now. Thank you to Neville for your hospitality. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Orchard room ideal for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for one night with family (3 children) in middle of Easter holiday. Cosy rooms, extremely comfy beds and lovely breakfast - the children especially enjoyed the pancakes! Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are finding that children love the pancakes, especially when they can choose the toppings!

We chose high end 'Sealy' beds throughout all our accommodation because they are far more comfy than the typical standard contract mattresses used in hotels/guesthouses, as my hubby and I have spent many nights away in really nice places, but have mostly been disappointed with the comfort of the beds.
Kind regards,
Gail & Neville Dyke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Our room was nice and the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was ordinary, it was lacking in both variety and quantity. Everything appeared very measured and not at all generous. Now I'm a small woman and I don't really eat that much but my plate looked rather spartan (I had declined the beans). It was 1 sausage, 1 egg, 2 back bacon and half a tomato (precisely). There were no mushrooms, no black (or white) pudding and no potato cake/scone. We were there for two nights so it can't have been a one off. In fact, I can't understand why the other reviews think the breakfast was so good.
The owners were pleasant and civil but not what I would call warm or welcoming.
At £80 a room per night it was quite pricey and I was very disappointed with the bathroom toiletries; I certainly was not expecting sachets for the shampoo and shower gel. I had to go to the supermarket to get replacements! I also would have like to have known in advance it was just a shower en suite rather that with a bath. The website doesn't give this detail.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear 'Annie'
Thank you for your feedback, which is important to us. We are sorry you found our breakfast disapointing. One of the issues with a 'Full English' breakfast is that each guest has a different idea of what it should include (eg very occasionally a guest is disappointed we do not serve black pudding, but most guests detest it and it would only be wasted if we stocked this food item routinely; or if we routinely serve mushrooms, many guests simply leave them all on the plate and request a different item the next day, many do not like tomatoes etc, etc). The main issue though, we feel is that more and more guests are wanting more variety on the breakfast menu, which we discussed in detail with VisitEngland prior to our annual regrading (four stars again) in November 2012. As a result, we have long since changed our breakfast menu and have received very positive feedback.
Since your stay in Aug 2012, we have also up-graded the complimentary toiletry items in our en-suite bathrooms. It is not usual for en-suite bathrooms to contain baths as well as showers. We have only had one or two guests so far who want a bath and they have always specifically asked about this at the point of booking. However, we will ensure this information is more prominently displayed on our website, as we do not want any guest to feel disappointed.

Kindest regards,
Gail Dyke, Longhill Farm Bed & Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We recently stayed here for the New Wine Convention at the Bath & West Showground very convenient House and grounds lovely and peaceful very amiable host and the breakfast is one not to be missed. The Orchard room is very comfortable with a very comfortable bed and super wet room ideal for someone with mobility problems. All in all a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernieg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear 'Bernieg54',
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your feedback, which is important to us.
Kindest regards, Gail Dyke, Longhill Farm Bed 7 Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay in Creech Cottage, which is in self-contained 2 bedroom cottage at Longhill Farm. Property is furnished in a modern contemporary style, beautifully clean and had everything we needed. Downstairs bedroom and wet-room shower are excellent for those with mobility issues. Central Somerset location is excellent too as it means there are lots of interesting and varied places to visit in all directions. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We are pleased your stay was enjoyable and thank you so much for your feedback - it is important to us to use guest comments to enhance our accommodation. Regards, Gail & Neville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

What a lovely place! We were in Shepton Mallet for a fencing tournament and stayed here for two nights. The beds are super comfortable, the facilities excellent and the breakfast was gorgeous. they certainly deserve their excellent reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verrierjonesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that you found our accommodation as we have tried to make it - peaceful and relaxing. Happy fencing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditcheat
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Huxham Farmhouse B&B
Huxham Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 3 in East Pennard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#15 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.0 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhill Farm B&B

Property: Longhill Farm B&B
Address: Ditcheat | Shepton Mallet, Somserset., Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet BA4 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Ditcheat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ditcheat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star bed & breakfast in grade two listed Vitorian/Georgean farmhouse in beautiful countryside location. One family room, two twin/double rooms. Also a beautiful Suite of rooms - sleeps up to five and one self-catering cottage - sleeps up to seven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longhill Farm B&B Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing