We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to base yourself in Somerset”
Review of Longhill Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ditcheat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longhill Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Ditcheat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved staying in the Creech View Cottage as it was central to everywhere we were visiting while in Somerset. The cottage was very quiet and comfy and the beds were great too! Each bedroom had their own bathroom which was great as we were travelling with my Mum. We enjoyed the fact that the cottage was self contained and we could eat out or eat at the cottage. The local area is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmchurc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for a quiet weekend away whilst visiting the show-ground. We found this nice rural retreat close by and we're able to escape the stormy weather.

Originally we wanted B&B, but as that not available, we enjoyed the self catering apartment. Warm, clean and comfortable, exactly what we wanted and able to use the local pubs for dinner.

Everything was as it should be and we would be happy to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michaelphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This was ok but a bit disappointing for an RAC (I believe) 4 star rating. The bed linen as described was good but all other fabrics, including towels and furnishings (curtains, carpets etc) are rather tired. Bathroom clean but old fashioned and could be upgraded considerably. Comfortable enough I guess but don't expect anything special if you decide to go. From the choices given, we were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast the following morning!? Beware also, egg and bacon, literally means that…!! Toast and buffet fruit etc. included, as detailed, but that's it. No tomato, mushrooms etc, as you usually get. All rather basic, nothing special, but ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked this B&B because it was so convenient for the Bath & West Showground. We were not disappointed. The ensuite room was bright, cheerful & clean and wonderfully peaceful. A perfect place for a restful holiday or to come back to after a busy day at the showground. For breakfast there were a variety of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts to start then a choice of cooked dishes to follow. The coffee was good too. We will be going again if we can get a booking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely location,views across the valley,very restful.Good food and drink kin the local pub as recommended.Rooms were great,as was the NetSuite,BUT the breakfast was certainly not good.A farmhouse platter,two slices of cheap supermarket ham,bits of cheap cheese and 4 small tomatoes,bacon and egg ,on request,1 egg 2thin bacon,again supermarket cheaply,and the pancakes,were so obviously scotch pancakes Tesco cheaply again.Such a shame in the middle of the country that nothing was locally sourced.Would not return

Room Tip: Any room is good,huge beds,but breakfast very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail_Dyke, Owner at Longhill Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your comments - they are important to us and we only wish you had mentioned your qualms during your stay, so we had a chance to discuss them with you. It's a shame this now has to be done in retrospect, especially after a two night stay when no comment was made at breakfast times. This now means we have no way of meeting your expectations and we always try to meet the needs of our guests druing their stay.

However, it is very suprising to hear that you refer to the local dairy speciality Cheddars (Barbers of Ditcheat, Wyke, Greens of Glastonbury etc and Wiltshire/Somerset ham as "cheap supermarket" varieties! Our butter is also from Wyke Farm (3 miles away) and we serve organic Somerset yoghurt and milk, Ditcheat honey in season and free range Somerset eggs and we also make blaccurrent jam from our own land and serve local fruit in season, so quite how anyone can say nothing is locally sourced is a mystery.

Perhaps, there are those for whom nothing short of a full fat fry up suffices, but guests always have the option of requesting other options at booking. Bacon and eggs was ordered off-menu by some of your party and we had thought you were happy with this, but we are sorry the breakfast fell short of your expectation.

Mr & Mrs Dyke, Longhill Farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed a couple of days at this lovely place. Great bathroom with superb shower and everything was superclean. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast with a variety of dishes, different from the traditional English breakfast. The kids loved the pancakes. Neville was very helpfull and friendly. Nice rural area with some good and reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Bath, Glastonbury and Wells are easy to reach. All in all Most enjoyable. Thanks to the Dykes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diary room, which suited the four of us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoseGrasbrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Received a very warm welcome in spite of Gayle and Neville's unforeseen family crisis. We stayed in the Orchard room which was ideal for Mum who is disabled. The breakfast room was handy for her to walk to with her walking frame. Our breakfast was healthy and adequate for our needs. The menu in the folder did not make it clear whether full English breakfast was available so I can imagine there being some confusion for those too shy to ask. Also I struggled to access the wifi in the orchard room.

It was unclear whether the lounge was private or for guest use. I sat in there as it was a good wifi signal, then realised I may have embarrassed the young daughter who had apparently been relaxing in there. It would be helpful if this could be made clear to save embarrassment all round.

Overall though a very comfortable enjoyable stay, thank you. I do hope the family are well now. Thank you to Neville for your hospitality. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Orchard room ideal for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Longhill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhill Farm B&B

Address: Ditcheat | Shepton Mallet, Somserset., Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet BA4 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Ditcheat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ditcheat
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star bed & breakfast in grade two listed Vitorian/Georgean farmhouse in beautiful countryside location. One family room, two twin/double rooms. Also a beautiful Suite of rooms - sleeps up to five and one self-catering cottage - sleeps up to seven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longhill Farm B&B Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing