We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of The Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ditcheat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ditcheat B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our second visit to The Barn and we will be returning next year! Each time we have stayed we have been made very welcome; the B & B accomodation is comfortable, clean and very private comprising of double bedroom, bathroom and sitting room . Breakfasts, served in Jane's cosy kitchen, are delicious. Within very easy walking distance there is a good village pub for an evening meal and there is also a village shop. Would definitely recommend The Barn!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutree1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much Sue. It is always delight to see you and Colin and thank you also for the lovely treat of supper at The Manor Inn. I look forward to catching up again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at The Barn. A lovely B&B, really clean, delicious breakfast with a wide choice. The accommodation we had access to was very spacious, with a separate bedroom, living room and bathroom. Jane was really hospitable and we will certainly be returning if we are in the area again!

Room Tip: Not really applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelinaS474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Selina. It was indeed a delight to meet you both and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I seem to remember it was a very hot weekend and you walked to Glastonbury!! Hopefully, the birthday was a success and I know you are now a Mulberry convert after your visit to Kilver Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a family get together in Ditcheat. We needed somewhere to stay for just one night and were made aware of The Barn, only recently offering a very welcome B&B alternative to the other options in the village.
Never judge a book by its cover. The exterior of The Barn, a solid stone built structure which presents only a gable end entrance and stable door when viewed from the road, offers up a much classier and stylish interior when one steps inside.
The owner, Jane Follis, is a professional designer by trade and the mark of her skills are immediately evident. Breakfast is taken in a wonderful 'country' kitchen - a mixture of comfort and homliness with its range, flagstone floors and a small centred atrium. Jane certainly doesn't skimp on what's offered - 'proper' bread, cereals, preserves, fruit juice and a cooked mixture of excellent sausages, mushrooms, egg and bacon. Vine tomatoes and beans served on the side perfectly complement the thoughtful pine table setting with individual butter pots and a very decent cafetiere of coffee. All the while, Jane was attentive but discreet in allowing us to enjoy a cooked breakfast that we always regard as a bit of a special treat when staying away from home. And this certainly didn't disappoint.
Upstairs our overnight accommodation comprised three separate rooms - a bedroom, a separate small sitting room (with tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV) and a bathroom. All three rooms are within feet of one another, grouped as a sort of suite at the top of the stairs. Although none of the rooms is large, their compact nature is more than made up for by the attention to detail and the fact that one has access to separate areas. No more perching on the bed to read a newspaper or catch the news - simply pop next door and sit on the sofa. The duvet and pillows were top quality in terms of cotton and fillings, as were the bathroom towels and toiletries.
Whilst I was staying at The Barn, Jane showed me another totally separate self contained single room, kichenette and bathroom which would be perfect for one staying on one's own, a third person offering if also booking the B&B or a longer term let.
I wish Jane Follis well as a relative newcomer to Ditcheat's accommodation community. She offers a very personal and carefully considered alternative which is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelboff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
I was a bit overwhelmed when I read this and can only say huge 'thankyou' for your lovely words and for encouraging me to sign up to TripAdvisor. I have even signed up for special offers during the week. It would be lovely to see you both again should there be more family parties in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditcheat
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
182 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
177 reviews
3.0 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn

Property: The Barn
Address: The Barn Wraxall road, Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet BA4 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Ditcheat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ditcheat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the infectiously sleepy village of Ditcheat, The Barn oozes character and comfort with its suite of rooms and scrumptious food straight from the Aga and the inimitable warmth of a Somerset welcome. Right in the heart of the West Country, Ditcheat is a superb springboard to explore the delights of Somerset, Dorset, Devon and beyond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn Ditcheat, Shepton Mallet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing