We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
97
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle toucheshomemade granolalovely coupleb and bperfect hostsfresh eggsfantastic bed and breakfaststar accommodationthought of everythingfull englishcomfortable bedminute walktop qualityvisiting somersetthoughtful touchesbreakfast choicessoft towels
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I spent two wonderful nights here. Easy to find and located at the end of a beautiful tree-lined private drive this wonderful barn conversion exceeded our expectations.

Warmly greeted by Alyson and Simon, we were shown to our beautiful accommodation, a large spacious bright room with a view over lovely open fields with cows grazing.

Our room was beautiful with quality furniture and fittings, a large exceptionally comfortable bed, with luxurious pillows, a comfortable sofa, there was nothing that had been forgotten to make our stay the most comfortable, pleasant experience. Simon brought us up a bottle of local fresh milk to keep in the fridge in our room, far better than the UHT rubbish that most hotels have! A wide selection of local teas, coffee and hot chocolate and a lovely jar of home made biscuits. Attention to detail in every way. And not forgetting a good selection of reading material with interesting, quirky books and info on local places of interest.

A spacious bathroom with large shower and luxury toiletries, large soft fluffy white towels, soft and fluffy robes....and then the breakfasts.......simply to die for! Fresh local produce, home cured bacon that Simon cures himself, fresh eggs from their lovely friendly hens, scrumptious sausages, lovely bread and selection of quality jams, tasty fresh fruit, croissants and yoghurt, selection of cereals, not forgetting home made pancakes from a family recipe. Such a warm, friendly service, we would not hesitate to stay here again!

The Old Stables exceeded our expectations, 5 star accommodation, 5 star hospitality in a picturesque part of Somerset, what more could you wish for? To visit again, and again and again and again......

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 931JulieW931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson T, Owner at The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

One of the best things about running a B&B is meeting so many lovely people and we are so happy to have met you both. Thank you for this wonderful review and we are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Old Stables. We shall look forward to you both returning - sooner than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Chelynch near Shepton Mallet is in the heart of rural Somerset. And also home to a design team from the UK's oldest fabless semiconductor company. I regularly visit on business, and one of the great plus points is that I get to stay in the Old Stables.

This is a luxury B&B, aimed at the leisure market. However it is a wonderful change from the large chain hotels I routinely find myself using on business trips. The English breakfasts are of the highest quality, and with the Poacher's Pocket at the end of the drive for dinner, I return from each trip a few pounds heavier.

Can I find any fault. Well I suppose there isn't a desk in the room, which is usual in a business hotel. But this is a leisure hotel, and in any case Simon and Aly are only too happy for me to set in the main room working at the dining table.

All-in-all a first class experience, which I look forward to each month.

Room Tip: The upstairs gable room has fantastic countryside views.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeremybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson T, Owner at The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We really do appreciate it :) We thoroughly enjoy having you stay with us and its lovely that we are already having guests, like yourself, returning. We shall look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We booked a room for three adults and there was plenty of room. We had a very warm welcome from the hosts who were lovely and most helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and highlights were the standards of the accommodation the fresh linen and fluffy towels. The attention to detail in supplying all you need was very impressive e g toiletries. If you are thinking of booking you should, you will not be disappointed. A wonderful stay in a beautiful setting. NB

The pubs and local restaurants stop serving food at 9pm so bear in mind if arriving late.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank curtis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson T, Owner at The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Royal Bath & West Show. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Brilliant two night stay at the old stables, both Alyson and Simon were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, food was excellent and the room was perfect (the granary room, very spacious with bath and shower!) All in all a beautifully presented, homely B&B that we would visit again. (Thank you for the biscuits :) )

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldStables1, Owner at The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both and are very glad to hear that you would visit again! We shall look forward to that! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We loved every second of our stay. Alyson and Simon are incredible hosts. The Old Stables is beautiful and the room we were in-The Granary-was perfect for my girlfriend, me and my 2 boys... They both want us to buy the house !! Breakfast incredible too!! We will definitely be coming back as soon as we get a weekend free and we will be spreading the word far and wide that The Old Stables is a MUST!!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank lukeTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson T, Owner at The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Luke, Minnette, Bertie & Charlie - we loved having you stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and your fantastic review. We truly do appreciate it. We shall look forward to seeing you all again soon and thanks for spreading the word!! Alyson & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews