We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cannards Well

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cannards Well
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Cannards Well Hotel for a short break.

A good all round experience:
Well sized rooms with adequate facilities
Excellent food, particularly the Thursday night carvery
Friendly atmosphere
Value for money

We will certainly bokk here again when next in the area.

Jim
Cornwall

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    50
    16
    16
    27
See reviews for
35
44
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We used the Cannards Well Carvery to meet for dinner with my Family. The food was very good and we had a very pleasent get to-gether. The only downside was that there was not a baby changing area and the door was left open whick created a draught. The landlord had the door closed for us so all was well. This is a very busy Carvery and would recomend booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Having spent a night here last fri 28/feb I noticed the trip advisor sticker in reception,,and I thought , it must be half decent here.....having met up to work a show at the bath n west showground with friend, we spent a few hours at the bar then I went to bed having had a 5 hr drive , the night manager, saw me to my room ,,no,5 from here on refered to as the fridge...
having left the corridor and entered the room, the drop in temp was dramatic! er sorry the fridge,,i instantly asked the manager the whereabouts of the heating,,,to my horror he opened the door to the bathroom and pointed out a tiny towel rail app 600mmm x 300mm ! I laughed when he said by leaving the bathroom door open it would indeed heat my room..sorry again my er fridge! after seeing the absence of humour from the mans face I knew at this point he was serious! I told him that I actually have fitted such rails n indeed radiators I explained that the expected output of the rail wouldn't even heat the bathroom! so if he expected this tiny rail (see photo) to indeed heat both rooms he was mistaken,,so I asked for a room heater as it was fore cast minus 3 n was well on its way by now to zero..he said that they didn't have one,,so I asked for a move , he said they were full , n that wasn't possible,,n with that he left,,,so iturned on a large red switch on the bathroom wall thinking it may be linked to the rail , but on inspection it wasn't, and after 20 min it was still ice cold,,after my 5 hours drive and an early start I went to bed,,lights off in both room n bathroom , also I at this point decided to switch of the tablet on the wall they call a tv! in the middle of the night iwas awoken by the extreme cold ,I turned on the light n began a search , for extra bedding,and a pillow, there wer neither the thin summer duvet was wholly inadequate for winter, and I had to prop up the pillow with a coat, I then put 2 tee shirts on and a thick pr of socks!
After a some what restless night, I had thought of the film the excorcist as I was seeing my breath and by now it was quite a misty room? , my alarm went off at 6 am.. so I ran the shower,,put the kettle on,,and the noticed the absence of er a bath towel? then with the kettle boilled, I put in the tea bag.,i then noticed NO MILK?? so no brew then,,?,and made do with a quick wash the th sm hand towel! and decended the stairs to breakfast,,,to my surprise it was excellent and I told the girl who attended me of my dreadfull night,,she took my name and would indeed raise the complaint with tim,,the manager? whom would call me the very next day,,/? I am still awaiting the call I gave my business card with all my details on but nada , nowt no call, so I complimented the cheff and left to scrape my frozen van into life..and the moral of this tale,,,room 5 is ok in a heatwave...but other than that , take a heater, s leeping bag, oh and a bath towel. n milk, n a pillow,,or just camp? needless to sayi had a torrid days work ahead of a 5 hour drive which incidently I had to pull over on the m5 and fell asleep , thankfully not on the m,way,,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cannards Grave hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My friend and I stayed here on 17 February, at very short notice on a business trip. We thought we were booked into a Travelodge near Frome, but when we got there we found that we had pressed the button for the wrong month, so our booking was invalid. Of course they were full and bookings have to be done in advance and online anyway. So we Googled nearby hotels on Trip Advisor and found this one, we phoned Jim (the manager) at 8 pm and he was extremely helpful, he offered us a large room with twin beds, ensuite bathroom and large Sky TV at a very reasonable price. We had hot baths, and a very comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was a full English and delicious, well cooked and presented. We will certainly stay here again when we are on our next trip to this part of the UK. Thank you Jim.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aelfwyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for over a month while working close by stopping Sunday to Friday and it has been great.

The rooms are always clean warm and have everything I needed.

The staff make the hotel. They were always very friendly and helpful

The food in the hotel was fantastic and great value. No need to go anywhere else.

As other people have said the suites are great and very big.

Thanks

Room Tip: best room is suite F
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked for last Saturday night.

Having booked Suite C, I was then told we were in Suite F.

Not a problem in slightest. The room was big, really big. I have stayed in Suites before, so I know what one looks like & only once have I stayed in one larger. The bathroom was equally as large.

The heating had been switched on in advance and the room was lovely & warm, so much so that we had to turn it down.

With room for two sofa's, another single bed, wardrobes & a large coffee table, I was certainly not dissapointed, especially when I remembered what I had paid for the room.

A lovely large LED TV with Sky was another bonus.

I could only find 2 possible faults with the room. Both shower heads (the bathroom had a corner bath with shower and a large, seperate shower) need replacing.

The towels were huge, so another tick.

We then went downstairs for a drink & snack. The bar manager couldn't do enough to help and a good selection of drinks were available.

Although we didn't eat a meal as we had eaten earlier, the other meals that came from the kitchen looked lovely.

A good nights sleep was then in order. Unfortunately, where we live is very quiet at night with no road traffic. The pub itself is on the road & our room was facing the road & I did wake up a few times with the noise of the road traffic, but this is NOT the fault of the accommodation, only mine as I am not used to it.

Breakfast was quite simply magic. A buffet english breakfast with everything you could imagine possible, all cooked fresh & tasted great. I would visit again just for the breakfast.

I really enjoyed my stay here & will be back again in the future. It may not be the Dorchester or the Ritz, but it does what it says on the tin at a very fair price, with everything you could hope for.

Room Tip: Suite F is the furthest away room & up quite a few stairs, but is Large & is comfy. I will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIchardHCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was here with my fiance over valentines as we were meeting up with friends in Wilton the day after. Arriving at Cannards Well was a bit tricky, sat nav and maps sent us in the complete opposite direction but we got there in the end. When we got there we were put in suite E. Lovely view but basic room, although did have sky TV which is a plus. Didn't have to pay for our room straight away so gave us time to chill before dinner which was nice. The staff are lovely and friendly. We both had steak at dinner and I ordered mine rare. When I order this in restaurants it's never rare, or its rare but cold, not at Cannards Well, it was the best steak I've ever had in this country! We both slept well and breakfast was lovely. Like I said, rooms are a bit basic and mismatched but we weren't bothered, the service and food more than made up for it ... And when your shattered after a long drive and busy day and you just need a pit stop for the night what more do you need?! We will be back in the near future I reckon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannards Grave
0.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#6 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannards Grave Farmhouse
Cannards Grave Farmhouse
#1 of 2 in Cannards Grave
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#20 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highwayman Inn
Highwayman Inn
#34 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannards Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannards Well

Property: Cannards Well
Address: Cannards Grave, Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Cannards Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cannards Grave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannards Well 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cannards Well Hotel is situated within close proximity of the beautiful Cathedral cities of Wells and Bath, the caves at Wookey Hole and Cheddar, as well as the cornucopia of a shopfest at Clarke’s Village and not least the magic of Glastonbury.We have spacious suites benefitting from the full package of Sky channels, an evening in after a leisurely meal may be a fitting close to the day.Alternatively, our bar is stocked with locally sourced Ciders on draught, as well as beers from the West Country,. We pride ourselves on our selection of malts and cognacs, in addition to the quality and value of our wines.With no rush as to the time you rise and have breakfast, our aim is to make your stay highly enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cannards Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannards Well Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing