We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently with our three month daughter. The lobby is spectacular, when you walk in you know your entering into a real five star hotel. We were staying in one of the golf course view rooms on the east wing. The room was close enough to the lakeside that we still enjoyed a lovely view of the lake and mountains. Rooms are recently renovated and are a massive improvement from the old rooms which were very dated. Nice big comfy bed with a separate elevated sitting area with a flat screen TV. No tea or coffee facilities which is disappointing however they are provided on request. Bathroom is new with a walk in wet room type shower, no bathtub. Only complaint with the room was the lack of AC, it got far too warm at night and we had to open the balcony door.
The lobby and public areas are beautifully appointed and very comfortable with loads of places to sit down and relax. The spa and pool area is second to none.Sitting in the heated outdoor infinity pool with the rain coming down gazing at the mountains is a great way to spend some time.
Where the hotel falls down is the quality of food. The spa cafe was the low point, service was very slow and the food was well below par. We ate in the brasserie and while it was an improvement from the last time we ate there, it still wasn't great for the price. The wine is particularly overpriced. The bar & lounge are comfortable places to finish off the evening.
The hotel is undoubtedly five star with great facilities, friendly staff who are great with kids and breathtaking views. However it does come at a stiff price. However as a treat it is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twoquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,185 - 2,191 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Staying here for 3 nights , we stayed here last year and al I can say is " if carlsberg made hotels this would probably the best hotel in the world " ... It's flawless from the minute you arrive the staff can't do enough , the building itself is stunning , the fittings are 1st class in every inch of this fine hotel ( its hard to believe its over 50 years old ) worth every penny , stay here and I defy you not to agree

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilmainham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Europe is 5 star in every way cannot fault anything. Staff are friendly, helpful cannot do enough for you. the rooms are excellent spotless with views to die for. Food is superb two restraurants the quality is outstanding. Spa is probably the best in Ireland and can cater for anything you want , as can the rest of the hotel. It's not cheap but what you get is worth every penny

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was my second visit and it was equally as good as my first, the room was luxurious and comfortable with a fantastic view of the lakes. The spa and pool were outstanding and spa cafe proved very useful if a little overpriced. Overall though a great visit in wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabelle221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel was fantastic! Our room on the fourth floor had a balcony which overlooked the lake and islands beyond...just magical. The service people were always warm, friendly and accomodating. The food was also excellent. The grounds were pastoral from the front with sheep grazing and easy access to a walking path through a national forest. I highly recommend this hotel and area of Ireland.

Room Tip: I recommend the top floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We enjoyed the Europe first time but some times when you return to a hotel its is not as good but not the Europe. Everything about the place is special the views the food the spa [love the pool} the staff we even noticed that the cleaning staff aside from doing a great job looked well groomed and had a very smart looking uniform. It is a bit expensive but worth every cent. I got a voucher for Christmas so ladies drop the hint because you will enjoy it and because "You are worth it"

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What a wonderful place to stay - the view from the Lakeview rooms and the main dining rooms in the hotel can't be beat. The mountains and the lake are breathtaking. I've never been in a hotel where the waitstaff was so genuinely friendly and eager to please. Everyone at the hotel bent over backwards to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. The breakfast is amazing with eggs cooked to order, pancakes, sausages, bacon, all types of fruit and cheese, etc., etc. Our stay was exceptionally memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
2.9 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney V93 KHN6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £204 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing