We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars and then some”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We ended up in The Europe only because we booked our trip so late, but it was the best mishap that ever could've happened. The hotel was AMAZING. The layout, the view of the lakes, the restaurants, the rooms, and the staff were all incredible. We had very little planned prior to heading out on this trip, and each day the staff helped us by making calls to help us make what we wanted to do happen. Totally worth the extra money to stay. Absolutely elegant, yet completely comfortable. The only downside is that you end up with about a 15E cab ride into town because it's further out, but when you look out the back to the view of the lakes, it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

As soon as we arrived the stresses of life and the world slipped from our collective shoulders. The elegantly decorated foyer backlit by extraordinary vistas of the Killarney lakes greeted us. Every room thereafter was a tasteful use of space and light to create an aura that is almost indescribable. This hotels oozes comfort and promises immediate tranquility with a service that is colloquially friendly. Our rooms were magnificent. We enjoyed the Penthouse suits as a gift to my parents who were celebrating their 50th Wedding anniversary. I am not exaggerating we would have been content to stay in the room for our entire stay it was so beautiful, with the most breathtaking scenery. We felt truly spoilt. I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a break from the worlds madness or a romantic hideout.

Room Tip: I cannot say more about the rooms or the location I suspect you will not be disappointed with any ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradaprincessDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was promised a weekend of pampering and romance and this hotel provided the perfect setting for both. The hotel staff, from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay, could not do enough for us. The treatment in the spa was fabulous and only matched by the high quality of the food. The room was spacious and luxurious, and the complimentary chocolates and fruit didn't last too long.

I am looking forward to repeating the experience, as soon as possible.

Room Tip: A room in the main body of the hotel is preferable, for a magnificent lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda040175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel is simply unbeatable when it comes to location, scenery, faclities, character and luxury. It literally has it all and so much more...you will NOT want to leave! I didn't and have already booked my next visit for this weekend. It has to be seen to be believed. If you want the wow factor, sheer indulgence and something that little bit special, this is it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and baby girl this week for one night. It was fabulous. great food, service and facilities. The best 5 star we have stayed in, hands down. Waiter Joe was so friendly to our baby, in fact everyone was. This is a relaxed and fantastic place. Not at all stuffy, just perfect. Keep it up lads! (-:

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank SusieTravz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

One of my favourite hotels in the world is The Connaught Hotel in Mayfair London, They know how to do it. I have found one in Ireland that achieves the same Standard and thats the Europe hotel in Killarney. Perfectly placed just outside the town in one of the most beautiful areas in the world. The General Manager there is a guy called Michael Brennan, he runs as if it his own. Ever present in the hotel he's there day and night and his attention to detail knows no bounds. I don't do spa's but this one has one of the best i have ever seen.The staff there are fantastic and take time to show you all the facilities. The hotel has many areas where you can slide off for a bit of peace and quite and the comfort is fantastic. Big oversized couches and lots of newspapers,magazines etc. The rooms which you will find hard to leave are finished to the highest standard i have seen in a long time. We dined in the brassiere and the food is fantastic with efficient,friendly local irish staff you will be well looked after. Breakfast is a truly a splendour with lots of fresh local foods,you just cant go wrong. if you have children with you they will not want to leave, they have a full top notch programme to keep your darlings occupied and happy. I have only done a few reviews so you have to impress me greatly to get me to react. Forget about the 5 star chain of hotels that are dotted around the world, Go to the Europe in Killarney and see hows its done.Perfect i shall be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview room just a lake and a mountain in front of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judeDrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have considered staying at this hotel many times, the public areas are stunning and the location is unbeatable, however the rooms let it down in the past. They have recently completed renovations of the rooms and they are spectacular. The hotel now has the complete package, fantastic rooms, amazing spa (the best I have been to in Ireland and I have probably been to them all!), incredible restaurant and idyllic location. The swimming pool has to be seen to be believed, total opulence. The staff are warm and friendly, everything about this place is 5 star plus. Every inch of the hotel is immaculate and furnished to the highest standard, it really does have the ultimate wow factor. I can't recommend The Europe highly enough and am already booking my next visit. I don't usually write reviews but couldn't resist after my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eire00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,499 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,627 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,400 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney V93 KHN6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £205 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing