We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest not a customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The difference between 5* and lesser hotels is that 5* hotels treat you like a guest. Nothing was too much for the staff here, they were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely, in a beautiful location. We had a lake view room which was fantastic, wonderful views, huge room, huge bed, large clean bathroom with walk in shower - like a mini wet room. Balcony with lake views, very relaxing. The grounds are large and well laid out, perfect for walking.
The breakfasts had plenty of choice from full Irish to continental breads and fresh fruit or smoked salmon if you wish. Staff were on hand to cook eggs whichever way you wanted them, also pancakes available. We dined in the Brasserie and Panorama restaurant and had room service- all of which were excellent. Panorama is a bit pricey though. Room service was very prompt and efficient - some hotels make room service a low priority - not the Europe. Food was hot when delivered. In the Brasserie you can have anything from a snack to a 3 course meal, you are a guest you are not forced to pay for something you don't want. Did not try the Spa cafe, will do next time.
This hotel is fairly expensive but the pool and the ponies make it all worthwhile. The infinity pool was fantastic. There are individual changing rooms, if required, something that I cannot remember seeing in a hotel. Not everyone likes communal changing. The pool is large and well heated, fantastic views of the lake. The outdoor pool is heated to 36 degrees. I highly recommend swimming outdoors, in the dark, in the pouring rain, in late October. It is not cold at all, wonderful experience. Likewise, pony riding in the grounds, in the woods. This is complimentary to guests, which helps to compensate for the overall cost. Did not have time for Spa treatment or sauna, again will do this next time. There is plenty to do without leaving the hotel but we did go sightseeing as well. Staff are full of help and advice e.g. shopping is better in Tralee than Killarney - did not have time to find out if this is tru or not. There is also a children's play area for families and a helipad for those who can afford a helicopter!
We will return for the food, ponies and leisure facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeview. Keep an eye out for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,901 - 1,907 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 and had a lovely stay. Had prawn salad for lunch which was lovely. Rooms were basic for a 5 star but comfortable. The Spa was very nice with the highlight being the outdoor pool. Lovely on a cold morning. Would visit again but would consider a room upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Europe for a night back on the 10th of August and, while there, we took the option of having dinner in the Panorama Restaurant as part of the package.

I have to say that we loved our room, the hotel in general, the pool (in particular the outdoor section), the grounds, the view and our time in the lounge after our dinner where the excellent dessert buffet was located and where we were entertained by a fantastic duo. I should also mention on the positive side that I was very impressed with breakfast, in particular how it seems that the sausages, puddings an so on are individually cooked and not all deep-fried together as in many other hotels (at least that's how they tasted). The presence of someone to freshly cook your eggs was also a nice touch - that he was open, friendly and chatty was a bonus.

I must however also say that we did not enjoy our dinner very much. We mentioned it to the chap on the desk who was checking us out and who, in fairness, offered us the chance to talk to a duty manager but we felt there was little to be gained and, at the time, just wanted to get on with our day.

First off, the view from the restaurant is amazing so we had good first impressions. Some of the staff were a little more reserved, cold, stand-off-ish or disengaging (not sure how best to put it) than others (who seemed genuinely friendly) but we didn't initially let that bother us too much. What would matter most to us was the food. We ordered a bottle of wine and our food selections and awaited our first course.

For starters, my wife had a Fois Gras Bavarois which, while very rich, credit where credit is due, she found tasty and innovative. I had a prawn salad. While the prawns were big and fairly plentiful for a starter, they were stone cold and plainly cooked and so lacked any flavour - what a waste of such fine specimens. The salad leaves were quite wet with the result that soon the whole dish was wet and the admittedly delicious but inexplicably sparse tomato chilli dressing was diluted and scattered. The prawns could definitely do with being freshly cooked and served warm in their jus with the salad and the leaves should not be wet - I do not subscribe to the Gordon Ramsay philosophy of serving wet leaves on the basis that they have been barely touched and are therefore better/crisper/crunchier. Cold, wet leaves are not very pleasant to eat and less so in a starter for €13. More of the lovely chilli dressing would not go astray at all - it was the best part of the dish by a mile!

Anyway, on to the main course, which we were more interested in: a chateaubriand for two persons at €38 a head (full menu price). This was going to be amazing, wasn't it? My heart sank when I saw the same dish arrive at another table as the waitress proceeded to carve up a large, single fillet and divide it between two people. Moments later, the same occurred at our table. I realise that the establishment is probably aiming for more gourmet than gourmand but charging two people €76 for a single piece of beef that I've had elsewhere to myself (including alas the resulting meat-sweats) for under €30 is a bit much. Perhaps the accompanying sauces and side dishes would compensate, we thought. Two covered plates arrived at the table and were unveiled with a flourish. What pantomime! A second disappointment! The Emperor had no clothes! The accompanying vegetables were limp and unspectacular and they lay atop a tiny mound of nondescript mashed potato. The beautifully- and meticulously-turned potatoes tasted like they had merely been fried and there was no garnish, no work, no effort gone into the dish as a whole. The beef itself was fine; it was tender, moist and tasty although there could perhaps have been some better caramelisation on the outside - that said it can be a delicate balance getting the outside and the inside just right and in this case it was the latter which is most important to me. The pepper sauce was also good but sadly the bernaise sauce was not so much a sauce as practically a solid eggy-butter lump which was just terrible. My wife wasn't as gutted as I was with the size of the beef when it first arrived but, by the time she'd sampled the rest of the offering, she had reached a similar level of disappointment.

We noted that, during the whole serving, no one took a minute to explain any of the dishes to us or what each component was. Our service was, by this stage, best described as plainly efficient.

We were offered the dessert options of either staying at the table or going to the buffet, both of which were, to the server's credit, well explained and after this we were presented with our bill. This was a source of confusion for us (a) because we were paying for the whole thing as part of a room package and (b) because the prices shown in the bill were the full menu prices and not the prices that we were paying. There was also space included for gratuity which we understood we were paying as part of the room deal again. After having to call a staff member over to clarify the situation, we proceeded to the buffet and thereafter our experience was once again as brilliant as it had been before dinner.

As stated near the start of the review, the dessert buffet was excellent and was basically all-you-can-eat although I was unusually restrained and sampled only the yummy profiteroles. There was superb musical duo playing here who kept us going well after midnight and the pints of Guinness were good - served with a smile by enthusiastic Irish staff. The only problem was that the area was too popular at one point and hopeful loungers circled like sharks hunting for stools and chairs in the otherwise calm waters of this haven.

It was not the price of the meal that bothered us. Only a few weeks before, we had stayed overnight in MacNean House, Neven Maguire's Restaurant and Guesthouse, where we had spent a hefty sum both wining and dining ourselves. That was a true five-star food experience which, we thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish and was worth every penny. All the staff were on top of their game, the food balanced, well-presented and tasty. It was obvious that a lot of work went into the preparation and presentation of each dish and the staff took the time at each course to go through what it was that we were about to consume. I'm sure that the Hotel Europe is using the only the very best of locally-sourced, raw ingredients but unfortunately the final results that we sampled did not come up to the fine dining standards that we expected and did not justify to us the prices being charged at all. I'm not sure if this is due to the experience of the chef, a lack of numbers in the kitchen compared to tables needing to be served, a perception that dishes must be ready quickly or any other number of reasons. Before our stay, we had heard from someone else who had stayed there within the last year that the restaurant was not five-star and not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. We both truly wished that we had listened and perhaps either tried the bistro or eaten in Killarney itself although perhaps then we would have missed the mesmerising musical duo (whose names I forget) playing in the dessert buffet lounge area, which was a pleasure.

Perhaps we should have complained more at the time but we did at least mention it and, all that said and as already mentioned, we loved the rest of the hotel experience. Perhaps we were more than a little beguiled by it as it is only after we left that we felt the true disappointment of the meal. Sitting in a cheaper restaurant, enjoying simpler, tastier food, we wondered how the Europe was getting it so wrong in this one area. We certainly could not afford to stay in the Europe with any regularity so we would consider such a stay to be a treat and we would expect a high standard across the board on the basis of what to us is a significant outlay. Regretfully, in this case, I don't feel that the Europe ticked all the boxes - it's so frustratingly close though and perhaps that's the worst part.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms are better than others (some may have been revamped/remodelled while others ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Our suite was spacious, beautifully decorated with a terrace overlooking the lake of Killarney. We took advantage of the spa a few times. The spa was beautiful and the treatments were top notch. Food in restaurant was delicious although the space itself was lacking in ambiance. If there was any criticism at all it would have been the disappointment in not being a truly intimate hotel as there was business function space and bus groups. While we were not directly impacted I fear it might have been different if we stayed during peak season. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Europe and, after a bad start, really enjoyed the experience. The location and views are excellent if you have a room overlooking the water. The decor and building itself are also in excellent condition. Our room did have air conditioning, but it seemed to struggle to cool the room down as the temperature increased despite the air con being set to lowest temperature and at full blast. Our initial poor experience was with housekeeping - coffee machine in room had not been cleaned or emptied prior to our arrival, and housekeeping promised to bring more capsules and milk but had to be reminded twice before actually doing so. Restaurant and breakfast were excellent. General manager had picked up on our frustrations and met with us in the morning to apologise. However, overall very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank East_Lothian_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here recently for a wedding. From the minute we arrived we were met by the nicest staff. No problems checking in and bags taken to our room. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The views from the lake view rooms are amazing. The hotel really is located in the most idyllic setting on the lakes of Killarney. Food was excellent and staff couldn't do more for us to make us comfortable. The spa and pool are excellent and staff are happy to provide you with towels and bathrobes while there. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Lakeview are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is one of the best in Ireland and definitely the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Cleanliness was faultless, staff were beyond brilliant. Really liked Lisa the duty manager. Very genuine.




View was breathtaking from our room. We stayed on fourth floor. The view gets better the higher up you go. I spent the mornin on the balcony reading a book.

I was so happy there I didn't want to leave. The pool and thermal area are just wonderful. Super clean and the view from the outdoor pool is
Unreal.


Only downside is the food. I found it a little disappointing...


Really loved the hotel thou and will def be back!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank landofheartsdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,310 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Address: | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney V93 KHN6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £209 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing