We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectatcular location great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Spectatcular location great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here back in October for 3 nights. This is a very nice hotel with lovely wide open spaces to relax and very friendly service from all the staff. The weather was very stormy when we were there and it only added to the feeling of comfort looking out at it.
We ate in the fine dining restaurant on one night and in the bistro on another. The food is excellent in both but the fine dining restaurant is very big, it is also the breakfast room and can feel very empty and airy at night. Food in the bistro is as expensive as the other and I suppose a bar food option would be nice instead. There is lounge food during the day but thisd stops in the evening.

We used the gym every day and it is very good. The spa was excelent and we both had very nice treatments. The pool area was not so relaxing as it was full of children all day and as children do they make a lot of noise!

The only gripe I had was parking. There is plenty of it and yet people parked right outside the front door in the no parking area and not only that but up on the footpath with no regard for anyone who might be in a wheel chair or have dificulty walking. I'm very surprised at the hotel allowing this to spoil their entrance and even more surprised that 2 of the monster 4x4s were parked there from the moment we arrived until the monent we left 4 days later!

So in summary, apart from the rudeness of some guests i would highly reccommend this hotel and in my opinion it is better than powerscourt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tevezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    240
    93
    47
    16
See reviews for
314
1,102
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is hotel is just stunning, both inside and out. I stayed for just one night last year and am returning shortly again. I would recommend staying in a room with a view out over the lakes of Killarney. It is such a wonderful setting and it's a joy to wake up to such a beautiful view. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious.

The grounds are wonderful to wander around. They are so well maintained and well laid out. The leisure facilities are fantastic. I did not use the tennis courts or golf club but I did use the swimming pool. The gym area also looked great. The indoor pool area was fabulous and the outdoor heated pool was a real treat! You very rarely get to swim outdoors in Ireland!

We had dinner in the Brasserie Restaurant, which served fantastic food. We also enjoyed a lovely drink in the bar area. Breakfast the following morning was delicious with fantastic choice.

This is an expensive hotel to stay in but it is well worth it. The hotel is beautiful and staff could not have been nicer. It is located only a short bit outside of Killarney but I think when visiting a hotel like the Europe it is best to just stay in the hotel and make the most of the wonderful surroundings and facilities. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Europe Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for only one night but would definitely go back for more! Beautiful view of the lake from our room. Room was spacious, clean and modern. Evening food was very good. We both thought the breakfast was fantastic and with such amazing views from the breakfast room made it all the better! The thermal suite in the spa was lovely and I could easily have spent a couple of hours there had I the time! Wanted to go back for a break over Christmas but was disappointed to find the the hotel closed for the holiday period.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPD211213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lake view.
High standard of cleanliness and comfort in rooms -delightful bed!
Spa is to die for! Only suggestion is a heated hot tub/ jacuzzi.
Food in the brasserie is in fact better than the panoramic restaurant in my opinion - it is in fact one of the best places I have eaten.
Maybe a little lacking in atmosphere around the hotel in the evenings but still beautiful hotel and surroundings.
All in all just perfect.
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onmytravelstohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

First let me say that this was a lovely property, modern, luxurious and located on a beautiful lake. A short enjoyable walk of the property took us past horse and cows at pasture, along the lake, and through lovely gardens and landscapes. The furnishings are top notch, the rooms spacious, the baths modern and everything is clean and in order. Now to why I could not give this hotel a 5 and what you need to know before you book. Most importantly the staff was very cool and we noticed that they seemed to be bothered by questions or requests. Secondly, rooms are situated in such a fashion that truly the only ones worth the price are those that look out onto the lake. One of the main reasons to stay here is the view and there are rooms on the lower floor that look into a blocked off courtyard with no view at all. Also keep in mind that there is no climate control system only radiator heat which I understand may be customary in Ireland, however we were here with a large group (over 60 couples) in late September and many in our group left there sliding glass doors open day and night because the rooms were uncomfortably warm. The buffet breakfast had a wonderful view but average offerings at best. Our group had a special dinner the final evening which was quite good. Again service was the main problem. One morning two of us were seated at breakfast and asked another couple in our group to join us. When we asked to have two more places set while they went to the buffet the server seemed very annoyed and we actually had to remove the tableware from an unused table because she did not return. There are other places a short drive away which provide better food and service. Our suggestions: request a lake view room and if none is available go some other time, go by car so that you can take your meals at other locations and expect lovely surroundings but not warm or friendly service. (We're not sure that this is a concern for the management though, since we noted a lack of response to any of the reviews we looked at before we took this trip.)

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the only ones worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for a week-end in July.The rooms were fantastic with beautiful views over the lakes of killarnye,spa was wonderful especially the outdoor jucuzzi,dinner in the main resturant 5 star standard,all staff were highly trained .It is expensive but worth every cent,didn"t want to leave .

Room Tip: get a room with balcony overlookint the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels around Ireland but this hotel is the nicest i have ever stayed in, luxurious finish in every single aspect of detail, picture perfect setting on the lakes of killarney, friendly and welcoming staff, great food and pints and the swimming pool is the nicest i have ever had the pleasure of using. Scenery from restaurant is stunning with a sweeping vista of the lakes and the reeks, could not recommend this hotel enough.
The spa is a must as is the outdoor jacuzzi as they are two of the nicest i have ever used. I highly recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxurious getaway in picture perfect surroundings or just looking to give someone special a fantastic treat!!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony and was facing the lake where as the family rooms whilst larger do not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theroomnottaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing