We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother's Day Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Europe Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
CORK,IRELAND
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I returned to the Europe with my Mother and Sister for an overnight stay on Mother's Day. As always the welcome was warm and not at all pretentious. The hotel was very busy with overnight guests checking out and people lunching, we were checked in by Miriam who had organised a triple room for us. When our room was ready we were delighted to discover it was two separate bedrooms, spacious and luxurious. We enjoyed the spa and ate in the bistro, food was lovely. The staff throughout the hotel are hugely accommodating and do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Special mention to Miriam for sorting a room that ,order than met our needs, Mom was thrilled, will be back!

Room Tip: Explain your needs and the staff will do their utmost to meet them, lake view rooms worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAST5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    240
    93
    47
    16
See reviews for
314
1,102
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff who just get huge enjoyment pampering their guests. My only complaint was when checking out, my bill had over €125 of additional charges that were not mine. This issue was addressed with speed but no apology! I was looked at as if I was the one who had done something wrong... Pity.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pjjoriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having stayed in this hotel for over 40 years this was the first time to stay since the hotel had major renovations. It was always 5star and nothing has changed. The staff were very helpful and efficient and the restaurant staff very friendly. The dining room very comfortable but missed the atmosphere not the same as the old decor. Overall a very pleasant stay and the views from our lakeside rooms breathtaking.

Room Tip: Lakeside room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butler_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I recently (March '14) visited the Europe spa using their 2 Night Experience deal. I chose this over other hotels in Killarney due to the reviews and location. I was not let down.

When we arrived the staff were nicely attentive and held a welcoming smile. Throughout the stay they were always polite and nothing was too much bother. A particular thank you to our waitress in the Brasserie - she was very diligent.

We chose a room with a lakeside view upon multiple recommendations. It was idyllic. Wall to floor windows and cascading sunshine greeted us each morning (there are blackout curtains). We also had a balcony to sit out on although it was a tad cold!

We ate in both restaurants. The brassiere was informal and held a buzz with excellent portion sizes. The panorama was delicious with a more formal touch. For breakfast the first morning we had a menu to select from, the second there was a buffet style. I preferred the former, but regardless there was an enviable spread.

We each had a spa treatment. The other half informs me her scrub left no skin unruffled and the subsequent wrap complete with head massage amazing. I plumped for a deep tissue massage and despite being on the painful side it left me feeling loose and relaxed.

The spa has two main levels. One of which is separate sexed and is for the treatment users only. The second was for everyone using the complex. Throughout the spa there are heat rooms, outdoor heated pools and a surprisingly large 20m pool as a centrepiece. Fresh water was always on hand too. It never became too busy, perhaps due to the dates we went.

Overall I could not recommend it more. And the only justice I can give it would be to say that the full two days were simply not enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous! The Spa and thermal suite are out of this world. The staff are more than helpful, I have never seen such a high standard of service. We had a fantastic stay, our expectations were truly surpassed & we are already looking forward to another stay in paradise in the future! Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at The Europe Hotel & Resort for one night last weekend. Our stay from start to finish was flawless. Our Lakeview room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The reception staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The spa is wonderful and we made full use of the leisure facilities. The pool and outdoor pool is fantastic. Dinner and Breakfast were both excellent with very good service. We couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Agree with previous comments - five star in looks but not five star in service. Its the little things that make the difference between a 4 & a 5 star hotel and this place didn't get the little things.

Firstly the rooms are fabulous, we had a beautiful lakeview double with a fabulous view. The beds were comfortable but they had the European approach of putting two single duvets on two single beds pushed together - not exactly a king room in Ireland! The bathroom was fabulous, amazing shower and huge deep bath. We found the rooms to be very quiet, the only niggle was our next neighbour who seemed to chain smoke on his balcony meaning we had to close the doors or our room ending up stinking of smoke. According to reception there is little they can do about people smoking on a balcony...hhmmm...I've stayed in plenty of hotels where they have done something.

The facilities are great, the pool / spa area is really nicely done and is definitely a five star experience. The outdoor pool is lovely and warm with amazing views. We found that towels were replenished frequently around the pool area and water cups etc removed.

Our biggest complaint was the quality of the food and the lax attitude to service. We ate room service twice for lunch during our stay and on both occasions, it was excellent, both service and food. Breakfast too was very good with a great choice and no queues. Dinner was where we really felt cheated by the hotel. We ate in the Panorama restaurant on our first night as a treat - at between €10 - €15 for a starter and €25 - €38 for a main course, it was not expected to be a regular dining experience. The food was dreadful considering the price. All of our dishes came with unexpected ingredients that were not mentioned on the menu i.e. dill sauce with mozzarella, cherries with the beef. The duck had to be sent back as it was so tough that it could not be cut. This was replaced by (at my choice) the most disgusting risotto I have ever tasted- an apple, fennel and smoked cheese risotto. The general manager was disinterested in our comments and appeared annoyed that we were not enjoying his "fabulous" food. Despite the duck and mozzarella both being removed from the price of the bill, we still paid €140 for dinner for one with two desserts and a bottle of wine (wine was €30) - not cheap given the standards. For those prices in Dublin, you would expect excellent food and even an amuse bouche.

On the second night we ate in the brasserie, the food here was much better, we ate burgers and steak which were both excellent although not cheap at €20 for a burger! The dessert buffet was the saving grace of the dining experience - it was fabulous!! What a great idea to have a buffet of desserts for guests to help themselves to in the lounge.

Overall, a lovely hotel stay but disappointing dining. For the prices being charged for the Panorama restaurants, the quality of food would really want to be improved. Oh and one more big niggle for an Irish person - why don't you use salted butter? Kerry is home of one of Irelands most famous exports - Kerrygold butter - I was astonished to find that the only option was unsalted butter in this hotel, that is definitely not typically Irish.

Room Tip: Lakeview doubles are beautiful but try to choose one above the first floor where there is some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnwln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel And Resort
The Europe Hotel Killarney
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing