We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in some areas, excellent in others.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing in some areas, excellent in others.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from hotel europe having frequented it for many years, but not since the renovation was completed.
Absolutely fabulous hotel. Fantastic makeover. Warm and comfortable. Situated on an amazing site overlooking the lakes, with beautifully kept grounds and amazing view. Warm welcome by a member of staff who is working at the Europe almost 40 years. Very friendly and remembered us from long ago.
We were allocated a big spacious room with lake view. Beautiful bathroom with large shower head, good pressure and plenty of hot water .
Dinner, omg, for a five star Hotel, it let itself down badly. Starters okay. Beef and duck had to be returned. Unedible. The presentation was diabolical. Both dishes were a lump of leather. Off putting to look at, and so tough not possible to eat. Dried out. We did send them back, and settled on fresh vegetables which were delicious, and we were not charged for our dinner. Desserts a huge delight. Chef obviously takes pride in her work. The best cheese plate ever. Amazing selection and presentation.
And then to breakfast. Huge quantities of precooked, dried up hot buffet. Looked poor quality products. Choose two fried eggs and was literally ill with them swimming in oil. Nice selection of breads, some fruits, leaving a lot to be desired.
Following morning decided to try an omelette. Ingredients put on pan and a LADLE of oil pored on top to cook before eggs were added. I said to the chef no thank you, too much oil, and she said it is Sunday, will do you no harm. Ha. But she did a fresh one with hardly any oil. Just okay. So restaurant experience one star.
Had two treatments in the wonderful Spa. 5 star experience here. Very friendly staff, well trained and pleasant. Treatments excellent and felt wonderful after.
However, the swimming pool area was a nightmare. The Europe has become very family orientated. And if like us, you work hard all week, and want a quiet and restful time, this is not the place to go to . There was loud and not controlled children running around, and I could not believe to see them in the jacuzzi including a baby in nappies. I called a member of staff and she said there was nothing she could do, but if we wanted to move to a quieter area ourselves. To move to the spa area male and female areas are separate, so we wanted to relax together and read, which was impossible with wild children.
And the really annoying thing was at night time in the main restaurant, there were buggies being wheeled in and more children. Very off putting .
Not a good experience.
One of the nights we went to Nicks restaurant in killorglin, where we enjoyed a fabulous meal, and warm and inviting atmosphere. No complaints here.
Our overall stay in Hotel Europe was quiet enjoyable, but spoilt with not up to standard food, and bold children. Even at breakfast this morning one boy jumping up on the window ledge at our table. Staff just ignored.
Coming down in the lift, in the lift champagne bucket, dirty glasses, tray, napkins and empty bottle. As I got out of the lift concierge was passing and I called him. Unpleasant to be asked to take them out of the lift, and just glared. Previous day on our floor, on the window sills, empty glasses and bottles taken Out of rooms and not collected, and left there all day.
Oh dear, not the Hotel Europe we remembered. You need to get your act together.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    275
    110
    50
    16
See reviews for
384
1,266
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I visited with my husband for a weekend break. We had a lake view room and the views were well worth the extra money. The room was very spacious and had every amenity I'd expect from a 5 star hotel.
Lots of nice areas downstairs to enjoy a quiet drink.
Breakfast was lovely, great choice and a funky pancake making machine. The breakfast chef seemed to love her job and was so friendly and enthusiastic.
The pool area was lovely especially the hot tub. It was snowing and was very cool being outdoors in the freezing cold but feeling snug and looking out at the views.
We had a lovely dinner in the main restaurant which was excellent. We chose the desert buffet which meant we went to the bar to finish but I wouldn't recommend that as the bar was busy and we were wandering around trying to find somewhere to sit for desert.
All the staff were very friendly and professional and it was lovely to see so many locals working in the hotel.
Highly recommended. Great weekend.

Room Tip: Room with lake view. Not ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fantastic hotel and views that cant be beaten. However it was too hot in the hotel and also in the room, this definetely needs to be addressed. The breakfast was beautiful, the staff very friendly and will definetely return. Would be nice to have tea facilities in the room also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK,IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I returned to the Europe with my Mother and Sister for an overnight stay on Mother's Day. As always the welcome was warm and not at all pretentious. The hotel was very busy with overnight guests checking out and people lunching, we were checked in by Miriam who had organised a triple room for us. When our room was ready we were delighted to discover it was two separate bedrooms, spacious and luxurious. We enjoyed the spa and ate in the bistro, food was lovely. The staff throughout the hotel are hugely accommodating and do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Special mention to Miriam for sorting a room that ,order than met our needs, Mom was thrilled, will be back!

Room Tip: Explain your needs and the staff will do their utmost to meet them, lake view rooms worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAST5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff who just get huge enjoyment pampering their guests. My only complaint was when checking out, my bill had over €125 of additional charges that were not mine. This issue was addressed with speed but no apology! I was looked at as if I was the one who had done something wrong... Pity.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pjjoriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having stayed in this hotel for over 40 years this was the first time to stay since the hotel had major renovations. It was always 5star and nothing has changed. The staff were very helpful and efficient and the restaurant staff very friendly. The dining room very comfortable but missed the atmosphere not the same as the old decor. Overall a very pleasant stay and the views from our lakeside rooms breathtaking.

Room Tip: Lakeside room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butler_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I recently (March '14) visited the Europe spa using their 2 Night Experience deal. I chose this over other hotels in Killarney due to the reviews and location. I was not let down.

When we arrived the staff were nicely attentive and held a welcoming smile. Throughout the stay they were always polite and nothing was too much bother. A particular thank you to our waitress in the Brasserie - she was very diligent.

We chose a room with a lakeside view upon multiple recommendations. It was idyllic. Wall to floor windows and cascading sunshine greeted us each morning (there are blackout curtains). We also had a balcony to sit out on although it was a tad cold!

We ate in both restaurants. The brassiere was informal and held a buzz with excellent portion sizes. The panorama was delicious with a more formal touch. For breakfast the first morning we had a menu to select from, the second there was a buffet style. I preferred the former, but regardless there was an enviable spread.

We each had a spa treatment. The other half informs me her scrub left no skin unruffled and the subsequent wrap complete with head massage amazing. I plumped for a deep tissue massage and despite being on the painful side it left me feeling loose and relaxed.

The spa has two main levels. One of which is separate sexed and is for the treatment users only. The second was for everyone using the complex. Throughout the spa there are heat rooms, outdoor heated pools and a surprisingly large 20m pool as a centrepiece. Fresh water was always on hand too. It never became too busy, perhaps due to the dates we went.

Overall I could not recommend it more. And the only justice I can give it would be to say that the full two days were simply not enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,156 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,524 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,384 reviews
21.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing