We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killarney Court Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,669)
Filter reviews
2,669 results
Traveller rating
2,110
342
135
62
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,110
342
135
62
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama restaurantoutdoor poolspa cafedessert buffeta lake view roomlake and mountainsthermal suitebeautiful hoteltop classsecond to nonefive star hotelspa facilitieshorse ridingmain restaurantstar experiencesteam roompublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
2,552 - 2,557 of 2,669 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2008

Having previously stayed in another 5 star hotel in Killarney (and always enjoying our time there) we decided to pay a visit to the newly renovated Hotel Europe. We were not dissapointed! They have spent a lot of money on revamping the hotel. The new Spa was amazing. The pool and gym were also very impressive with Andy helping with our fitness routine! The food in the Brasserie was great though we did not eat in the restaurant. Our room had a wonderful view out onto the lake shore and was more than comfortable. There is quite a impressive conference centre attached. The staff were very friendly must mention Padraig the Conceriege, Stephen the Assistant Manager , Jer the IT Assistant and Nickolett the very pleasant receptionist who all helped make our stay so nice. Can't think of any negative thing to say about our stay. Killarney is spoilt to have so many 5 Star properties that are truly top class. Would highly recommend if you are visiting Killarney to check out The Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shelby1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I stayed at Hotel Europe for 2 nights and had low expectations given some of the reviews. I was however impressed by the Hotel. It has been recently renovated and so perhaps is a different hotel these days. The front of the hotel is quite Germanic and not overly inviting but the reception area is impressive particularly the views over the lakes. The room was good. Spacious and comfortable. Not outstanding however for a 5 star hotel. Also, no coffee or tea making facilities, which I always find annoying. Where the hotel really stood out for me was in terms of its spa, swimming pool and fitness area. The outdoor pool looking out over the mountains and lake was magnificent. The sauna and steam room were also excellent. The views over the lakes and mountains are amazing on a clear day and the garden area took advantage of this The Brasserie bar was fine for food. I avoided the main restaurant for dinner as there are loads of places to eat in Killarney. The conference area is also most impressive. Very modern and spacious. They clearly have invested a lot of money into their facilities. The hotel has some nice areas to relax in and there is a feeling of plenty of space throughout. The hotel is close to Killarney golf and fishing club and a short taxi ride from the town centre. One thing that was bad, however was the fact that on the morning I was leaving, two cleaning staff decided to start cleaning my room before I had checked out. I was told that they had to get the room ready. This was poor from a good hotel. Furthermore, breakfast was very very average and a let down for a reputed five star hotel. So there a few areas where they could improve but overall the hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

stayed here for 2 nights. they are renovating so expect some problems. we didint sleep much as there was a pump room right next door to ours, so we may as well have not slept with the banging of pipes all night long!
location is gorgeous, a littl eout of town if thats what you're after. spa very nice, not fantastic, very poor gym.
food good, but astromically expensive! do not eat in the hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank betDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I have been staying at the Hotel Europe since 1980 and have always impressed by the continual upgrading and refurbishing over the years. I stayed there again recently and was astounded by the recent transformation.

It is undoubtedly now one of the finest hotels in Ireland and is a true 5 star. The service is excellent, the food superb and the new Spa is world class. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition and facilities offer something for everyone, young or old. The view across the lake to the mountains remains incomparable.......some things never change.

This hotel is simply top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ballycraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I am currently writing this review from the media centre in the hotel.
The moment you enter the lobby you are met with a stunning view of the mountain range and lough.
I'm particularly fussy about first impressions and this hotel did not disappoint with a pleasant and competent receptionist and friendly doorman who delivered our car to the car park and brought our bags up to the room. These first observations are important.
Chilled wine (part of the deal) came within minutes to the room which, by the way, was a Lake side with balcony. Very spacious, the room is airy and contemporary with a separate sitting area. The bathroom is large with a separate bath/shower and shower.
As you walk through the main corridor, a variety of sitting areas leap out at you with their opulent decor and furniture. These include: the brasserie, library, main lobby and main bar. The Panorama restaurant's view over the lake is a welcome sight as you tuck into your freshly made poached eggs.

Possibly the most impressive feature of the hotel is a new spa.
If sprawls over 50,000 sp feet and as you enter you are immersed in calming oriental tones. Colour scheme is dark and moody that is broken up by chrome and subtle lighting. After a steam (it's very hot!!!) rub your self over with ice fresh dispersed from this rather exotic ice maker!!
The fitness area has state of the art facilities and the swimming area is simply sublime. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. My wife was in seventh heaven when she received one of the special facial treatments available.
As yet we have not dined in the main restaurant. i'll let you know how I get on since I am a fastidious foodie!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews