We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just ok”
Reviewed 1 May 2006

We stayed at this hotel on the basis that it was extremely child friendly. The building itself is a dreadful eyesore from the 1970s that does not do justice to the amazing lake-side setting. The food was awful and incredibly expensive, particularly the children's menu, where you are forced to order several dishes merely to assemble a basic meal. The bar is ok but very old fashioned. The rooms are bland and need updating. The swimming pool is ok but not good for children as it's too deep and too cold. The children's indoor play area is hidden away in the basement and is very drab. However, the biggest turn-offs were the overcharging - euro 6.60 for two children's apple juices in the restaurant and, worst of all, a whopping euro 5.80 for a glass of milk for our baby that was delivered to our room. We were so disgusted by the latter incident that we disputed it when checking out and got it reversed. All in all, a very average hotel in an amazing setting. Unfortunately, we will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    270
    101
    50
    16
See reviews for
364
1,230
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Travelled to this hotel over the easter weekend with 3 kids (6,3,3). Hotel did an outstanding job in terms of catering for the kids. Pony Trekking (FOC), Easter Egg Hunt, Arts and Crafts classses, mini-disco, the works. Full marks to them they really pulled out the stops in that department.

The staff are very pleasant and in general do go the extra mile for you.

But this is not quite 5 star. The food in particular lets them down with a not very inspiring menu. The dining room (despite outstanding views during the day) is lacking in atmosphere come evening and the staff here we found a little disinterested. The bedrooms are without aircon.

The Spa area feels neglected and whist we didn't actuallly book any treatments - they certainly weren't promoting this aspect.

The views are truly spectacular but hotel is a litte too big and lacks that little bit of magic for us.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanDonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 September 2005

This hotel was huge but certainly not impersonal. The concierge was very helpful in helping us plan our stay, and the hotel room (the cheaper golf view room) was excellent. The room was spacious with great furnishings. They all come with balcony's, a safe, and a large clean and modern bathroom. The hotel has an excellent location along the the lake. The breakfast in the morning is the best we had in Ireland. And since the breakfasts consisted of the same thing at each hotel, this hotel by far had the best food and presentation of them all. The dining room has a wonderful view of the lake, and the restaurant is excellent, very professional indeed. If you don't have a car, the hotel provided a shuttle to the town tourism office every day.
In sum, an awesome hotel that is a great value.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

We have been to Ireland many times, but we wanted our 9-year old son to see the lakes of Killarney. This hotel is beautiful, and has one of the best views of the lakes possible. The pool is large and clean, the dining area atmospheric with good food including kids' menu and a hugh breakfast, and you can walk the garden grounds that are complete with horse and cattle. The room was a good size with a large bathroom (but no tea maker in the room, strange for Ireland), and a pretty view from the balcony. The staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. The hotel is actually in Fossa, which saves you from the "touristy" traffic of Killarney. Be prepared for two things: it is not a cheap stay (but worth the price), and many times it is quite full (when we arrived there were six full tour buses just departing). We would certainly return. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2005

After a long, weary day of unplanned traveling due to checking out of a horrible hotel in Kinsale, we arrived at the Hotel Europe. It was very late in the day, with heavy rain, and everywhere along the way had been booked due to some major event going on in the area. We didn't think we'd have any luck finding a room here either.

Wet, tired, hungry and grumpy, the Hotel Europe was like finding a heavenly oasis. After hearing our plight, the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating in finding us a room and offering us a wonderful deal since it was late. In fact, we loved it so much that we decided to stay a few more days even though the hotel was fully booked. Once again, the staff went out of their way to find us a room, and we finally ended up in a much larger room with a lakeview, which the staff kindly provided us at no extra charge.

The room was breathtaking, and had the most unbelievable linens, with down duvets and pillows that I had to find the same type on our return home.

The view of the lake is worth every penny of the price, although we found the hotel to be very reasonable for what you are getting. I felt a sense of sereniity there that I fondly recall now on particularly stressful days.

It makes a wonderful base to tour the surrounding areas while it is a bit out of the way from Killarney if your goal is to spend a lot of time in town.

I dream of returning one day!

  • Stayed June 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

When we planned our trip to Ireland Kilarny had not been on our list of places to stay, but when we arrived at a planned hotel it was so horrable and gross that we called a family friend who frequently travel to Ireland to see if he had any suggestions, which was Hotel Europe. It was the second best hotel we stayed at. We arrived late that night and where greeted and accomdated nicely, we got a suit with a view of the lakes. The food was delicous and there where many activties and beautful food. Not only that but the surronding area was great. Leaving the origanl Hotel and changeing to Hotel Europe was the greatest thing we could have done.

  • Stayed August 2001, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2005

Myself and my Fiance stay here every year and the staff always remember us and ask us how we are. The hotel itself is so beautiful and the views are just spectacular. Each time we have gone we have done something different, we went fishing on the lake,went horse riding on the Hotels Shetland ponies (free of charge!) we went out on the boat to the old ruins, we always walk into Killarney through the National Park which is about a 20 minute walk, we played golf in the Killarney Golf course, we got a horse and cart and went up the Gap of Dunloe etc. Theres just so much to do and see and its all amazing.
The Pool is the best part, you are looking straight out over the Lakes and across to the mountains while swimming. Breakfast is fantastic, truly a 5 star experience, enough for us for the whole day.
Well worth the visit and the hotel offers great special offers on their website.

Helpful?
6 Thank Newyorkkeengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,503 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
21.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Europe Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Europe Hotel & Resort

Property: The Europe Hotel & Resort
Address: Fossa, Co. Kerry, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Europe Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lough Lein, The 5 Star Europe Hotel and Resort has been welcoming guests for over fifty years and has reopened after a 70m face lift which includes the stunning 4,600 sq.m. spa called ESPA at The Europe. From the moment you cross the threshold of the hotel you step into another world. A magnificent two story atrium with glass doors leads onto a garden terrace with a view of the lake and the mountains beyond which leaves you breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Europe Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Europe Hotel Killarney
The Europe Hotel And Resort
Europe Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing