We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunloe(Beaufort)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killarney Court Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$146
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,615)
Filter reviews
2,615 results
Traveller rating
2,067
335
133
59
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,067
335
133
59
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama restaurantoutdoor poolspa cafedessert buffeta lake view roomlake and mountainsthermal suitebeautiful hoteltop classsecond to nonefive star hotelspa facilitieshorse ridingmain restaurantstar experiencesteam roompublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,512 - 2,517 of 2,615 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Cork, Ireland
15
Reviewed 1 May 2006

We stayed at this hotel on the basis that it was extremely child friendly. The building itself is a dreadful eyesore from the 1970s that does not do justice to the amazing lake-side setting. The food was awful and incredibly expensive, particularly the children's menu, where you are forced to order several dishes merely to assemble a basic meal. The bar is ok but very old fashioned. The rooms are bland and need updating. The swimming pool is ok but not good for children as it's too deep and too cold. The children's indoor play area is hidden away in the basement and is very drab. However, the biggest turn-offs were the overcharging - euro 6.60 for two children's apple juices in the restaurant and, worst of all, a whopping euro 5.80 for a glass of milk for our baby that was delivered to our room. We were so disgusted by the latter incident that we disputed it when checking out and got it reversed. All in all, a very average hotel in an amazing setting. Unfortunately, we will not be back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Travelled to this hotel over the easter weekend with 3 kids (6,3,3). Hotel did an outstanding job in terms of catering for the kids. Pony Trekking (FOC), Easter Egg Hunt, Arts and Crafts classses, mini-disco, the works. Full marks to them they really pulled out the stops in that department.

The staff are very pleasant and in general do go the extra mile for you.

But this is not quite 5 star. The food in particular lets them down with a not very inspiring menu. The dining room (despite outstanding views during the day) is lacking in atmosphere come evening and the staff here we found a little disinterested. The bedrooms are without aircon.

The Spa area feels neglected and whist we didn't actuallly book any treatments - they certainly weren't promoting this aspect.

The views are truly spectacular but hotel is a litte too big and lacks that little bit of magic for us.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanDonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
416
Reviewed 12 September 2005

This hotel was huge but certainly not impersonal. The concierge was very helpful in helping us plan our stay, and the hotel room (the cheaper golf view room) was excellent. The room was spacious with great furnishings. They all come with balcony's, a safe, and a large clean and modern bathroom. The hotel has an excellent location along the the lake. The breakfast in the morning is the best we had in Ireland. And since the breakfasts consisted of the same thing at each hotel, this hotel by far had the best food and presentation of them all. The dining room has a wonderful view of the lake, and the restaurant is excellent, very professional indeed. If you don't have a car, the hotel provided a shuttle to the town tourism office every day.
In sum, an awesome hotel that is a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2005

We have been to Ireland many times, but we wanted our 9-year old son to see the lakes of Killarney. This hotel is beautiful, and has one of the best views of the lakes possible. The pool is large and clean, the dining area atmospheric with good food including kids' menu and a hugh breakfast, and you can walk the garden grounds that are complete with horse and cattle. The room was a good size with a large bathroom (but no tea maker in the room, strange for Ireland), and a pretty view from the balcony. The staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. The hotel is actually in Fossa, which saves you from the "touristy" traffic of Killarney. Be prepared for two things: it is not a cheap stay (but worth the price), and many times it is quite full (when we arrived there were six full tour buses just departing). We would certainly return. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2005

After a long, weary day of unplanned traveling due to checking out of a horrible hotel in Kinsale, we arrived at the Hotel Europe. It was very late in the day, with heavy rain, and everywhere along the way had been booked due to some major event going on in the area. We didn't think we'd have any luck finding a room here either.

Wet, tired, hungry and grumpy, the Hotel Europe was like finding a heavenly oasis. After hearing our plight, the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating in finding us a room and offering us a wonderful deal since it was late. In fact, we loved it so much that we decided to stay a few more days even though the hotel was fully booked. Once again, the staff went out of their way to find us a room, and we finally ended up in a much larger room with a lakeview, which the staff kindly provided us at no extra charge.

The room was breathtaking, and had the most unbelievable linens, with down duvets and pillows that I had to find the same type on our return home.

The view of the lake is worth every penny of the price, although we found the hotel to be very reasonable for what you are getting. I felt a sense of sereniity there that I fondly recall now on particularly stressful days.

It makes a wonderful base to tour the surrounding areas while it is a bit out of the way from Killarney if your goal is to spend a lot of time in town.

I dream of returning one day!

  • Stayed: June 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tripdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews