We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

From the breathtaking view upon arrival. The welcome and service, my stay at Loch Lein Country House Hotel could not be bettered. The rooms are superb and the staff friendly, courteous and willing to help. The proprietors Paul and Annette epitomise Irish hospitality and the breakfasts especially the bacon has to be the best ever ! I can recommend this Hotel wholeheartedly and can not wait to return !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
217
478
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

If you want a quiet place to stay outside but close to Killarney this is hands down the one. Wonderful accommodations, scenic views and within three miles of Killarney itself. Annette and Paul are wonderful hosts and very helpful with suggestions, directions, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian35235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed a mile or so outside Killarney at the Loch Lein and it was amazing. The country hotel was really pretty, spotless and had a wonderful scenic view. We stayed in a family room with a double bed and 3 single beds. The bathroom was newly renovated and just lovely.

A great find in Killarney - away from the noise of the city centre. Need a car to drive to the centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at Loch Lein for our honeymoon and could not have loved it more. We were made to feel so welcome even when we were leaving. The view from the rooms is incredible and the location is great as you're close to the city but not in the middle of it.
The room we were booked into was lovely and super spacious for a European room. Breakfast was included in our stay and the menu was wonderful, I had the full Irish breakfast and it was phenomenal. The last day of our trip we slept in a bit late and they even called to see if we wanted breakfast; when we came down several hours after breakfast was over they had a selection of pastries, tea and coffee waiting for us.
I would definitely recommend Loch Lein, it is lovely and cozy and the staff are beyond nice. Thank you Loch Lein!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Googlebears26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This Inn is outside the main town of Killarney, but close enough to get in for dinner and shopping. Fantastic, large rooms, great breakfast (best we had in 2 weeks in Ireland) and great staff. Paul was fantastic, charming and very helpful, even loaning us his own bikes for the day (take the bikes on a boat up the lake, have lunch, bike up the pass (it isn't that bad) coast down Dunloe and have a pint at Kate Kearney's). This is an ideal location and a fantastic place - not the cheapest but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

From the time we arrived, Paul and Annette made us feel like family. As a family of 7 plus an 18-month old, we found the accommodations very spacious, super-clean, and well-appointed. The bathrooms were especially nice; ours had a huge tub, a stand up shower, and heated towel racks (although I couldn't figure out how to use them)! Staying at Loch Lein House was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. With the feel of a grand country manor, Loch Lein House is a perfect and picturesque retreat from the bustle of Killarney, and served as a relaxing home base for us as we explored the many attractions in the area. Truly incredible Irish hospitality. The lounge/common area has a weak wireless network, but no complaints from us on that score; we enjoyed the cozy bar! And the library, stocked with games and books. The neighborhood/road around the House was not great for walking, as it quickly led to a dead end in one direction and a busy street in the other, but the House has a large yard and outdoor seating areas for taking tea and enjoying the beautiful view of the lake. When you go, tell Paul and Annette that the Walshes said hello!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larkinloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Loch Lein is in the country and has glorious views of the lake. The rooms were large and immaculate and the hosts were very friendly and obliging and even offered me cups of tea when I was browsing the internet in the lounge. The breakfast was delicious and we felt reinvigorated after our short stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing