We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed two days with Paul and Annette at Loch Lein Country House and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms are wonderful and the meals are the best we had in Ireland. They also suggested some side trips on our plan that turned out to some of the best scenary on the whole trip. The five star hotel in Dublin we stayed at did not compare to Lock Lein Country House. A must stay in the Killarney region!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
232
504
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

my family took a trip to ireland, touring the west coast. we were able to stay three nights at loch lein. Everywhere else we stayed was excellent, loch lein was by far the best. Friendly, helpful, just plain old nice as can be, is the best way to describe the owners and staff. The view was lovely, everything neat and clean. anyone who goes to ireland must stay at loch lein. When we go back, I know i'll be there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We recently travelled from Canada to spend a week at Loch Lein on a sightseeing and Golfing holiday. Put simply the hospitality was outstanding. We have travelled extensively and never met such genuinely warm and hospitable people. Paul and his team went over and above at every opportunity to ensure we had everything we needed. His knowledge of everything local made day trips and activities so easy that by the end of our stay we felt totally relaxed and felt we were saying goodbye to old friends. Breakfasts and dinners each day were wonderful, and we looked forward to having a glass of wine each evening overlooking the lake...what a view! The location and surrounding countryside are stunning. This piece of paradise really is a must see if you travel to Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My daughter, husband and I had the privilege of staying at Loch Lein Country House. We were greeted by the host who then provided us with coffee and sweet bread on the lawn overlooking the lake. Our room was large and comfortable, spotlessly clean as were the public areas also. We were given suggestions for things to do in the area and would have liked to stay longer however the facility was fully booked for the following night. It is easy to see why. Breakfast was tasty and well presented. This is certainly a fine place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnbmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We came to the Loch Lein House from the Ritz. Both locations have thier charm. We ended requesting a room with the view of the lake and was very satisfied with the room. We decided to do the ring of kerry and the trails in killarney. Breakfast exceeded our expectations and one of the nights Paul was thoughtful enough to order us a pizza because we had a long day and didn't want to venture out again.
All-in-all, thrilled with our choice, the service is there when you need it but you also feel at home, and just good people providing excellent service. Only complaint from my wife was that she was awakened by the sound of dishes in the morning given our room was above the kitchen. She is a very light sleeper so I was fine but just keep that in mind if you wake easily.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbryan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Loch lein, Killarney is one of the few hotels you cannot find a single critic to tell fellow travelers. Set in a magnificent location with a view of the lake, the countryside is beautiful with so much to do. The staff is so friendly and helpful and the room very comfortable. Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnonafek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The service was excellent, the environment is very quiet, clean, and relaxing. Our room (the first on the left) was clean, quiet, with a beautiful view of the lake. The staff was helpful in advising us about planning our road travel to see the nearby sites, and there is a small bar where you can pay for a nightcap and enjoy it in the living area. This had the quaint feel of a
B & B, Breakfast was in a bright, beautiful dining room, and the food was a combination of buffet and hot meals to order, and was of high quality. This was one of our favorite places to stay while in Ireland, and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: WIfi only works in the lobby (living area/dining area & the first room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodellcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing