We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cannot be faulted"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel (sometimes 2/3 times a year) since it opened in its present form and current Management. It is set in the most Beautiful of Scenery, close enough yet far enough from Town and the Hosts are exemplary in all respects. Paul & Annette and every member of Staff cannot do enough for you.

On this occasion we stayed 3 nights in mid May and as usual cannot fault absolutely anything.

If only all places we stay were anywhere near Loch Lein standards !

Room Tip: The Best we have stayed in on regular trips to the Emerald Isle
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiteetoile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Loch Lein Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I will be leaving this hotel tomorrow for Dublin. It has been a delight to stay here. The room was spacious, with two sinks, a shower and a bathtub. We had an excellent view of one of the lakes in Killarney National Park out our windows. We had a delicious dinner tonight in the hotel restaurant: very tender beef filet with truffle mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables for me, and sea trout on a bed of linguini flavored with a pineapple chutney and mixed vegetables for my husband, for dessert an apple-rhubarb crumble with vanilla bean ice cream and an Irish cheesecake. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. I would definitely return here and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgseim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Loch Lein Country House Hotel for two wonderful nights. The staff were attentive to all our needs, and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. This hotel is one of Ireland's hidden gems, and not to be missed. I am traveling Ireland with my niece and 7 year old grand niece, Loch Lien was the best place we have stayed. Thank you Annette and Paul, and Matthew and Sean, for making us all feel so special...we will be back!

Room Tip: This place is perfect, all room are quiet, it is wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

In ten days of travel in Ireland this was by far the most wonderful place that we stayed.Paul & his staff meet all of our needs in the best way anyone could have.When we come back to Ireland we plan to stay here for a week & made day trips to other parts of the country & come back here to stay.I can not say enough about the wonderfull time we had at Loch Lein Country House.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray55128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

It was just excellent, loaction was great, service was perfect, great breakfast and superb dinner. Thank you Loch Lein for making this trip excellent for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 2 week trip through Ireland. We stayed in major hotels, castle hotels, bed and breakfasts. Our favorite stay throughout the whole trip was Loch Lein! The hotel has a beautiful view of the mountains and the lake. It is ideally located if you want a convenient drive to town but prefer somewhere a little quieter. It is very close to the Gap of Dunloe and Killarney National Park (Muckross House and Lake) and on the Ring of Kerry. The service was impeccable. Paul, Annette, and the staff (we loved Sean!) were very attentive but never intrusive. We had fresh tea, coffee and beer or wine brought to our room after long drives. Included breakfast is fresh and delicious with very generous portions! They have dinner available on site if you don't want to have to move and just enjoy the view:)

The only negatives could potentially be if you want to go to a restaurant in Killarney town you need to drive 5 minutes. It's a very short drive but not walking distance. At first, we would have thought this was a drawback but in the end we actually appreciated our slice of heaven (and it is only a short drive). Paul had excellent suggestions for dinner. We loved Milano's pizza in town, Treyvaud's, and heard great music at O'Connors pub.

We debated a lot about where to stay in this area - Killarney or Kenmare. I am sooo glad we chose Killarney (we preferred Dingle to Kerry but still loved proximity to Killarney town) and equally happy we chose Loch Lein. Ireland is beautiful and Loch Lein is the ideal place to stay when planning your vacation! Thanks Paul and Annette!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Having spent two nights at Loch Lein, I would give it the highest marks in every category. While we enjoyed the "shabby chic" of some older establishments on our trip, it was refreshing to stay in a place with such pristine and luxurious facilities, with the feeling that everything was brand new. Paul and Annette were most helpful in their advice and attentive to our every need. Breakfast was wonderful and we appreciated being offered coffee early. While the location was right off the main highway, making it perfect for visiting Dingle, the Gap of Dunloe, and the town of Killarney, the lakeside vista and surrounding properties made it peaceful and quiet. I can't imagine this place disappointing any guest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilohmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,427 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £122 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing