We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Homely”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Though we did not get lake view room nevertheless the view from our room was equally good. It was green all the way with sheep grazing. Staff was incredibly warm, friendly & helpful. Vegetable omelette in breakfast was utterly butterly delicious.....
The only negative was the room heaters worked for fixed hours, which was a little discomfort but in spite of that our stay was comfortable and relaxing as they gave extra blankets.
We (me & my husband) will love to stay here again probably for a longer time. Thanks to Annet, Paul & Shaun.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    42
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
234
508
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

You will read a lot of "excellent" reviews for this hotel on this site, all fully justified. Paul and Annett hosted our group of 14 golfers from Hong Kong for a week in late May. On every level Loch Lein surpassed our high expectations. Paul, Annett and their entire staff could not be more friendly, professional, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. As one recent reviewer mentioned, there is insufficent commentary about the cuisine - it is outstanding and a reason to stay here all on its own. The location for anyone visiting this area is perfect - out of the town but great striking distance to all destinations and needless to say beautifully set. All of this at very reasonable prices.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank donald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

but I will try..................................................!

We were a group of 6 friends that stayed here May 2012. Paul was outstanding. I am wearing my Murphy's Pub (on College) t-shirt as I write this. His suggestion of Kate Kearney's Cottage was right on. We ate there twice. Book the entertainment room at Kate Kearney's for even more enjoyment. Paul also suggested Valencia Island. Listen to Paul now ~ add this to your Ring of Kerry day.

Killarney has some lavish hotels. I would not be happy now with them after enjoying the service, location, rooms and views at Loch Lein. This is the place. Easy in easy out to all of the most popular attractions. We are early risers and they allowed us to enter for breakfast before 7.

One of our rooms ~ 101 ~ picked up the wifi sometimes. I was in 102 but no luck. Minor suggestions: If you order a steak, make sure you discuss with them how it will be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a lovely room with an incredible view. However, the shower was a little small. Breakfast and Dinner were both excellent. Very convenient to lots of amazing scenery. Be sure to see the Gap of Dunloe and Muckross Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It was pouring when we drove in to this place after a long drive from Kilkenny via Cobh, Before we could think of getting out, Shaun was rushing towards us with two large umbrellas!! And as soon as we entered the reception lobby, smiling Annette's warm welcome took away half of the tiredness, she promptly showed us to the room and within minutes coffee was in the room to warm us up. Now I know why they call it a house and not hotel. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and the window opened into a green world. There were coffee table books for company and complimentary internet in the lounge. My wife is extrasensitive to low temperatures, Shaun made sure that the heater remained on late in the night so that we don't feel cold and next day on his own he brought an extra blanket. Breakfast was delcious and there vegetable omlette is something to die for!
At the reception, Paul was so helpful in planning our ring of Kerry trip next day and at the time of checking out, he advised us to go to Inch beach, Dingle and the Sleahead drive. Retrospectively, I think we would have missed one of the most beautiful treat for the eyes if it was not for Paul. I sincerely thank Annette, Paul and Shaun (in alphabetical order) for their warmth, support and care, that made our stay at this place so memorable that I would like to go back at least one more time! I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was so satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was just the right combination of location, service, elegance, and price. They greeted us with a cup of tea when we arrived late afternoon, and we were happy to find they had a dinner service given we had been on the road all day. The dinner was fantastic. The hosts (Paul and Annette) were terrific, and even mapped out a full day on the Ring of Kerry for us. I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a base in the Killarney area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Vey friendly and efficient. Super helpful staff and excellent food- especially breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing