We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginary Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

For Americans, this place is what Ireland looks like in your head. And we second every nice thing said about it in other reviews. It's my understanding that this inn is not open year round, and if that's the case, you might check out The Europe Hotel & Resort very nearby. The two are dissimilar properties but share a similar view. While walking along the lake, we got caught in the rain and popped into The Europe for a pint. Seemed very nice with welcoming staff. Our honest recommendation: go for Loch Lein first. You'lll enjoy its intimacy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAtibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have been traveling around the the southern part of Ireland and after undertaking the Ring of Kerry, we decided to stay over in Killarney at the Loch Lein Country House. What a wonderful stay it turned out to be, an outstanding property with outstanding facilities and an exceptionally high standard of amenities.

Hosts Annette and Paul were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, with advice about the property, advice about the town and it's highlights and advice around the best places to eat. The property itself exceeded our expectations and our room was of the highest order with inclusions being of quality and well presented.

This property is highly recommended and I am sure that no one will be disappointed. The location is on the verge of the township and has an fantastic view of the lake and the mountains, a view second to none.

You will not be disappointed If you decide to stay, enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Over the course of the last ten year's leading tours to Ireland, I have stayed in many different hotels. The Loch Lein Country House knocks the spots off them all. The location is perfect, quiet and secluded with a beautiful view. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, and extremely comfortable. The food was first class: every meal was a treat. Paul and Annette could not have been more welcoming or more solicitous. My group of 24 seniors included a couple of retired hoteliers: they were full of praise for every aspect of the hotel, as were we all. I cannot recommend the Loch Lein Country House highly enough. It lived up to all my expectations.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 918tour_guide918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

A lovely warm friendly welcome from Paul & Annette. Early check in was no problem even with 24 hours notice
Rooms are large & very comfortable. Ask for loch facing if possible.
Would highly recommend this Country Hotell if you are visiting Killarney

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here for a wedding nearby. The staff met us on arrival with an umbrella and looked after the luggage. There followed 3 days of warm hospitality in very comfortable environs. The staff were very helpful. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was very good. The Country House has fabulous views over the lake and is very convenient to the town of Killarney.

We booked on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. We will be back again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ArdvarkNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Following a successful family stay at Loch Lein some 4 years ago we were looking for a venue for a special family celebration and remembering the great service and attention to detail from our previous event we opted for the familiar. We were not disappointed in any way. Paul was particularly helpful in advising on local service providers we needed for the event and in planning the dinner menu etc ahead of the event. I'm not sure how he managed it but the weather was fantastic on the day itself which has led to wonderful family photos given the already fabulous setting of the hotel. The dinner was once again excellent with top marks to the chef. The staff make all their hard work look effortless. Well done to Paul Annette and staff for helping to make some wonderful family memories from a lovely eveny. I would recommend the hotel as an ideal location for a small family wedding. Engaged couples might consider the picturesque Fossa RC church just down the road teamed with Loch Lein as a stunning scene setter for their special day.

Room Tip: All rooms to the front of the hotel have stunning views over the lake with the mountains rising beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Needabreak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A breathtaking view of the lake and beautiful mountains greeted us upon arrival at Loch Lein.The warmth of the welcome from Paul, Annette and Sean was equally impressive. We recently stayed for two nights and were treated like family, nothing was a problem, and extraordinary efforts were made by the staff to ensure all of the guests were kept happy. Rooms were large, bright and comfortable. The food was excellent throughout. This is a very relaxing and peaceful place.We would recommend a visit.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank BrenGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £123 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing