We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most enjoyable short break to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
1 review
“Most enjoyable short break to date!”
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Living in Munster and accustomed to the accommadation available in the area, my partner and I were pleasantly surprised when we stayed at Loch Lein for a short break recently. Hidden among the magnificent Kerry mountains and lakes, we felt isolated from the hustle and bustle of Killarney town but in no way neglected of any comforts. It was exactly what we wanted. A traditional country house with a magnificent standard of hygiene and exquisite food. Managing staff Paul and Annette are fantastic and would do anything to make your stay more enjoyable! Thank You for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank LimerickAisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
220
489
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We have just returned from a weekend hiking weekend with some friends in Killarney and loved this place!. Paul and Annette made us feel very welcome and happily helped us with all questions on area attractions and directions. The hotel is in lovely quiet location with views to die for. The breakfast was delicous and served in a quaint dining room - really set us up for the day and more like something you would get in a 5 Star property. The bedrooms was hugh , very comfortable, and clean ( with great power showers ! ). We would definitely stay here again -

  • Liked — Great Value and quality
  • Disliked — just a bit far from killarney if you wanted to be very close to the noise !
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlanOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Ireland. One of the nicest places we stayed in was the Loch Lein Country House.
After reading some on the reviews about the hotel on this website and previous e-mails from Paul and Annette, who run the Guesthouse, we booked our stay in the Loch Lein Country House. We found on arrival in Killarney that our expectations based on the reviews were exceedingly met.

The Welcome was friendly and warm. We were asked to feel as comfortable as if at home, and this isn't just an empty phrase in this hotel.
With a pot of tea and coffee we were led into our room where we could unwind from the journey, admiring the magnificent view onto the lake and mountains.

The hotel is spotless and charming. The rooms are spacious and bright. It lies in a quieter part of the area as it is close to the lake and a bit away from the busy roads.
The breakfast was the best cooked breakfast we ever got during this stay in Ireland! There was a broad selection of cooked food and a buffet with nice things like different cereals, cheese, fresh fruit and many more, to choose from.
The staff is very friendly, there when you need them, but not intrusive.

The Guesthouse is an ideal place to start your daytrips in the surrounding area.

We can highly recommend a stay at the Loch Lein House Hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful views
  • Disliked — leaving and going back to work
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brawniertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

May 2008 for 2 nights, romantic getaway.

Really delightful stay - a great success. Professional and charming service matched to a smart and efficient operation. Large and light bedroom with lake view and well equipped ensuite.

Very high level of amenities, and my fiancée particularly rated the fluffy bathrobes!

Finally two examples of why this place succeeds - WiFi is officially only downstairs - modem socket in room, but they gave me the code to try anyway within seconds of querying (worked brilliantly), and went to the off licence especially to buy a bottle of champagne for our celebrating getting engaged earlier that day! (note - they do have champagne normally but had had delivery problems).

In short - nothing seems too much trouble.

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sekundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My husband and I stayed in Loch Lein for two nights recently while on a short break in Kerry. Paul and Annette created a family friendly atmosphere, they and their staff were courteous, very helpful and full of information on the local area. The hotel was impecccably kept, the rooms and facilities are second to none and the setting and scenery around Loch Lein is amazing. The food and service was also excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends or anyone who uses trip advisor, you will not be disappointed and it will make your holiday special. Hope to visit Loch Lein again soon.

  • Liked — Family friendly atmosphere, spacious accomodation, top quality food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We were on a 2 week trip in Ireland and we had 4 lovely nights here. Paul and Annette are exceptional hosts. Paul is a gold mine of knowledge for the area and things to do. My wife twisted her ankle and on a sunday morning he called and got an ace bandage from a doctor friend to keep us going - SERVICE BEYOND... The breakfast is well cooked and full of selections. Just a little out of Killarney proper - If you are looking for a smaller place with personality and service this is the spot. We had a huge room - very spacious - I could have only requested a full king bed but this was one of our top places for the money.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coolblueinteractive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This guest house is perfect for romantic get-aways. It has magnificent views to the lake and mountains, beautiful interior, amazing service. If you are looking for a busy place right in the middle of all action, this might not be the spot for you, but if you don't mind to stay in a location a bit further from town (allow €10 for one-way cab fare to town centre), it is more than worth it.

  • Liked — View and service
  • Disliked — Shower head could use replacement
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tantulyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing