We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Country House is actually located on a beautiful lake outside of Kilarney. Our room was extremely large, with a grand sitting area and view out onto the lake. The queen bed was comfortable and breakfast included eggs to order or a "full Irish breakfast." But what made the place extra special was the welcoming and friendly attitude of the hosts. When we inquired where we could get a windshield wiper for our rental car they offered to check it for us. They then cleaned the windshield of some resistant grime and said a wiper wasn't needed. When we offered to pay for the service they declined. The City of Kilarney is charming, but for a relaxing, welcoming stay, Loch Lein can't be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    42
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
234
508
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband & I were traveling with a group from the USA and stayed two nights in September, 2013 at Loch Lein. Our room was wonderful; very roomy, clean, & comfortable. The dinner and breakfasts were also wonderful with very personalized service. We wished we could have stayed longer there to enjoy the quiet and the beautiful scenic surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Loch Lein Country House two nights. It is a country setting, so the nights were quiet. The rooms were lovely and very up-to-date. We had breakfast both days and one dinner. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. We were treated as valued guests. This stay was a real treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We came upon this wonderful county inn by chance, and how fortunate were we. Paul and Annette treated us like royalty and made us all feel very special. They run this establishment extremely proficiently, and everything is 'just right'. The rooms are great, the food fantastic, and the setting is breathtaking, looking onto the Louch Leane waterfront itself. Well done to you both. We hope to return one day.
Gavin M

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We drove into Killarney looking for the loch lein country inn not knowing what to expect. The location was picture perfect. The place is beautiful. The owners were very friendly and both Paul and Annette went of their way to make our stay not just comfortable but memorable. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts and dinner were excellent and the the fireplace by the living room was perfect for the after dinner drinks! Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Loch Lein four nights; we wanted to stay longer. Everything about the Loch Lein was superb. The setting, the house and rooms, the breakfast (wonderful views along with the food), the small bar, and especially Paul and Annette Corrigan, the owners, and their staff. Paul, Annette, and their staff (from housekeeping to the breakfast staff to their nephews) were friendly, charming, and extremely helpful. Even if you don't have an a car, which we did, Paul and Annette are more than happy to arrange taxis and other transportation.

It is hard to believe that anyone in their right mind could find the Loch Lein anything other than at least "very good."

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadofSpreesUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful property. Paul and Annette were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Afternoon tea served in the lounge area was a real treat and they served the best Hot Chocolate we had the whole trip. Dinner was fantastic and the view from the dining room breathtaking. If you are visiting Killarney Loch Lein Country House is a must visit. One of the highlights of Ireland for us! We would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing