We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
2 reviews
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

From the moment we pulled up to the beautiful Country Inn with it's spectacular view, until 2 days later when we reluctantly had to leave, we found this facility with it's hosts Paul and Annette, to go above and beyond our expectations. The personal service, the accommodations, and the food were all outstanding. They never overlooked an opportunity to be helpful and accommodating and represent all that we have come to admire in the people of Ireland.

  • Liked — customer service and facility
  • Disliked — It was all good!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
217
478
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We are a family of four (40+, 40+, 18 and 15) who travelled to the beautiful Loch Lein in late June this year as part of a larger family group to celebrate a significant age birthday. From the first phone call to book the hotel, to checking out after our weekend we were extremely impressed with the professionalism, friendliness, attention to detail and knowledge of the area by Paul, Annette and their staff. On our arrival a member of staff appeared into the car park to assist us with our luggage. The rooms are very spacious being larger than the standard hotel room and the views over the lakes are stunning – the hens on the front lawn were a bonus. The birthday girl was booked into a suite which was even more spacious again – the height of luxury living! I was particularly impressed with how quiet the rooms are. We discovered on the second morning that there were two small children in the room next to ours and yet we never heard any noise from the room. Loch Lein would be a perfect retreat for those looking for a de-stress break.
From the hotel there is a lovely laneway which leads right down to a picturesque secluded spot by the lake – ideal for photographers or artists or anyone just looking to chill out. We had breakfast both mornings in Loch Lein and a birthday dinner one evening. The food was fantastic – compliments must go to a super chef. The hotel location is ideal being away from the main hustle and bustle of the town and yet only a short taxi ride away from the night life and shops. It is also a great base from which to discover the wonders of the ring of Kerry and Dingle peninsulas.

  • Liked — Personal service and attention to detail of owners
  • Disliked — nothing - its perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Needabreak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

Loch Lein Country House Hotel, Fossa, is the place to stay in Killarney. Co Kerry. Give the larger hotels a miss - this is 5 Star in everyway. The location with lake and mountain views is fabulous, great spacious rooms all with separate bath and shower. The breakfast is as good, if not better, than any hotel and really sets you up for the day whether you are relaxing and sightseeing or out hill walking. Everything beautifully cooked and tasting better than home made. Paul, Annette and all their staff really know how to look after their guests. Just home from my 4th visit there and I’m sure there are many more visits to come. 5 Stars from me.

  • Liked — Great Irish Welcome, Fabulous comfort and Fabulous Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyannaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

We chose to stay in Loch Lein House because we had been invited to attend a wedding there. What a delightful surprise to discover that our modestly priced accommodation turned out to be a beautiful establishment in a lakeside location. We were warmly greeted on arrival and our luggage taken to our room. There was ample parking on site, our room was large, well appointed and everything we needed was provided. The iron and the hair dryer worked, the meals were delicious and the bed comfortable. We were reluctant to leave!
We thoroughly recommend Loch Lein Country House to anyone visiting Killarney, Co. Kerry.

  • Liked — The total package was excellent from arrival to departure
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normanmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

This is a very nice country hotel/BB with wonderful Innkeepers. The room we stayed in was very large, with excellent furniture and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Located about 7 K from Killarney it is in an ideal spot, on a beautiful lake.

We plan on staying here again.

Neil & Maureen

  • Liked — Quality of rooms
  • Disliked — No gym
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

My parents and I recently returned from a trip to Ireland and stayed for 2 nights at Loch Lein. Prior to our trip I had many questions for Paul and Annette and they always responded promptly and were very helpful. They booked a tour thru the Gap of Dunloe for us before we even arrived. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area and are very eager to share it with you.
The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious with lots of room to stretch out. The bathrooms are also a nice size with a separate tub and shower. The lake view rooms have a view over the water and it is just spectacular. I can't say enough about the place or the hosts. I will be back and can't wait to stay at Loch Lein again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychedoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

You will love it here! I took my mom to Ireland recently and this was our favorite place to stay out of all the B&B's and hotels we visited. First, the accomodation itself is lovely, from the lobby, to the spacious rooms, comfortable beds, best showers, and of course, we fell in LOVE with the view of the lake and the mountains! However, what made Loch Lein great was the fabulously warm, genuine and outstanding service we received.

Paul and Annette were wonderful and went out of their way to make suggestions, help plan the day, and go out of their way to help us with anything. Upon arrival, we were offered coffee in our rooms, and were able to relax and unwind after a long drive.

If you want to visit the Gap of Dunloe, the bus stops right at the end of the driveway.

I would recommend Loch Lein to everyone, it's a true gem!

  • Liked — Hospitality, the view, the hosts
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetskigal1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing