We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. The views are amazing and it is so peaceful and relaxing yet in such a great location right on the ring of Kerry. The staff we wonderful but our biggest surprise was the quality of the food both dinner and breakfast were some of the best of our trip. A stay here will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    42
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
234
510
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, mo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were met in the parking lot of Loch Lein and offered help with our luggage. Checking in was wonderful and they immediately brought tea to our room. There were wonderful suggestions for dinner in Killarney. We were able to walk to the water and see the lake from Loch Lein. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Truly they all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssharrison2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Loch Lein Country House, just outside of Killarney on a short dead-end lane off the Ring of Kerry, is (as their motto attests) “a little patch of heaven”, with an amazing view of Lough Leane, the lower lake in Killarney National Park. Many of the rooms in the 2 story hotel have picture windows that look out onto the lake. It’s so peaceful there that you probably won’t want to leave.

This is a great place to stay, with free parking, away from the congestion of downtown Killarney, but only a 5 minute drive to town.

We were met at the front door by the proprietor and welcomed by name, then shown to our room and given recommendations for dinner, downtown parking, and what to do the next day (you have to see the Ring of Kerry … a great day trip!). We were really made to feel at home.

Breakfast each morning is in a beautiful room, with windows on two sides, also looking out on the lake. There is a good selection on the buffet, or you can order a freshly cooked hot meal … delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights at the Loch Lein Country House, as part of a 2 week trip in SW Ireland. Loch Lein Country House is outstanding, and justly deserves its many high recommendations on Tripadvisor. Many other reviewers have specifically pointed out the hospitality provided by Paul and Annette, and this is perhaps the best quality of the hotel (though there are many others). We ate dinner one night at the on-site restaurant, and it was excellent, one of the best meals we had in Ireland. Though the hotel is a couple of miles from downtown Killarney, we had a car, so it was no problem driving into town for dinner, and its location on the outskirts ensures that you'll get a peaceful nights sleep. The Gap of Dunloe is only a few miles away, and we enjoyed that so much that we ended up hiking the Gap a couple of times. There is no shortage of things to do around Killarney; in 6 days, we were able to see the highlights, though we could have easily stayed 2 weeks. I can't imagine a better place to do so than Loch Lein Country House. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thank you Paul and Annette for a wonderful stay. Your country house is awesome, and your hospitality even better. Breakfast and dinner were excellent! My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I will definitely return on my next trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: The lake view is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked a night here during our trip as our base for visiting Killarney national park. Loch Lein is amazing - it was exceedingly comfortable, the rooms were huge. Paul and Annette, the proprietors were welcoming, kind, and fountains of knowledge on the area. I've never been to a hotel/b&b like this were the owners came outside to greet me at my car!! My daughter said the hot chocolate was the best. The breakfast - poached eggs - were some of the best I've ever had. Oh, did I forget to mention the view of the lake and mountains....will definitely return to this gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslievansant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not to be missed if you are traveling to Southern Ireland! This country house is owned and run by
Paul & Annette who are the most friendly and gracious hosts we encounted during our 10 day trip.The Country House is gorgeous overlooking the Lake, spacious rooms, fabulous food for dinner and breakfast. Breakfast included is you so choose. And they are full of information about the Country. They sent us to places we would not have selected simply because we were unaware of the area. They have a quaint bar downstairs and the friendliest young bartender in the whole Country. Price is right so it's a must if you are traveling to Ireland!! By the way, I am a Flight Attendant and am certainly experienced in travel so I know a great deal when I see one!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake view!! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agf10060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing