We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Loch Lein Country House and enjoyed it very much. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The grounds were absolutely lovely and the views were stunning. Breakfast was very good as was dinner. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMac-201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
232
504
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Loch Lein is one of those establishments that promotes itself as a "Country House", offering the kind of experience you might expect as a guest in a grand mansion - and charging a little more too. The facilities are all of a very high standard, the setting picturesque, the grounds spacious, and the service very good. You are not really in the 18th century mansion of a member of the nobility, but it's a reasonable facsimile. I think they do enough to justify the title.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thionville, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this very quiet family-run hotel. Everything was perfect, from the room with an impressive view on the lake to the food that was served at dinners and breakfasts (apparently home made jams, excellent bread and cooked-dishes). Staff very friendly and always available to give advice.

Will definetly come back here if we ever go back to Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As others have said, Loch Lein is a wonderful place to stay. It combines the elegance and service of a four star hotel with the personal and friendly approach of a country B&B. The family suite that where we stayed on the second floor was perfect, with a pleasant view of the lake and countryside. We slept very well after our all-night flight. Annette arranged for our Gap of Dunloe tour and gave us a bag of fruit and pastries to take with us. She was also helpful in suggesting restaurants and other aspects of our itinerary. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. It was one of our favorite places during our eight days traveling in Ireland, and as it was the first place we stayed after arriving in Shannon, a pleasant introduction to the country.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. The views are amazing and it is so peaceful and relaxing yet in such a great location right on the ring of Kerry. The staff we wonderful but our biggest surprise was the quality of the food both dinner and breakfast were some of the best of our trip. A stay here will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield, mo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were met in the parking lot of Loch Lein and offered help with our luggage. Checking in was wonderful and they immediately brought tea to our room. There were wonderful suggestions for dinner in Killarney. We were able to walk to the water and see the lake from Loch Lein. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Truly they all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssharrison2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Loch Lein Country House, just outside of Killarney on a short dead-end lane off the Ring of Kerry, is (as their motto attests) “a little patch of heaven”, with an amazing view of Lough Leane, the lower lake in Killarney National Park. Many of the rooms in the 2 story hotel have picture windows that look out onto the lake. It’s so peaceful there that you probably won’t want to leave.

This is a great place to stay, with free parking, away from the congestion of downtown Killarney, but only a 5 minute drive to town.

We were met at the front door by the proprietor and welcomed by name, then shown to our room and given recommendations for dinner, downtown parking, and what to do the next day (you have to see the Ring of Kerry … a great day trip!). We were really made to feel at home.

Breakfast each morning is in a beautiful room, with windows on two sides, also looking out on the lake. There is a good selection on the buffet, or you can order a freshly cooked hot meal … delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,199 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing