We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lein Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Completely Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

When planning our recent trip to Ireland we used Tripadvisor. This property had received excellent reviews and we can see why. The hosts, Annette and Paul, as well as their staff, were generous and 'right-on' with their recommendations for tours, sites and restaurants. They could not have been more helpful, finding us bus tours of the 'Ring of Kerry', helping with my husband and daughter's golf reservation at Waterville, even finding us pizza delivery (which we ate in their delightful little bar, which we had all to ourselves!) Beautiful property and garden setting on the lake, wonderful full Irish breakfast, helpful staff and good location. It doesn't get any better than this for Killarney! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    39
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
217
478
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a beautiful room with bay windows facing the lake. Be sure to ask for this. The setting is beautiful with lovely grounds and the dining room faces the lake. You can have anything you want for breakfast and it is served beautifully. The rooms are very large and quiet. The owners and hosts are charming and very helpful and they go out of their way to be accommodating. Tea and cookies are served in your room if you want it as well as wine. We sat in the afternoon in wonderful chairs reading facing the lake.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake with bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We really liked Loch Lein; its location, the warmth and hospitality of the staff and the excellent service. Our room was large and comfortable. The furnishing was homely rather than grand. There was a good size bathroom with a nice shower. The bed was comfortable and there was no shortage of pillows and cushions. There is something solid and substantial about Loch Lein.
Breakfast was very good and served by friendly staff who made us welcome and looked after us extremely well. Nothing was too much!
I think this must have been the only place where I did not hear a sound at night! Absolute silence. Needless to say we slept well.
The view from the front rooms is stunning. From the hotel a short walk takes you to an idyllic place where water is clear and still and there is perfect peace.
I loved the place and would go back to it again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just loved this B&B! Paul & Annette really make you feel at home. We went on walks around the area and it's just a stunning views. The food was excellent even though we were completely stuffed by day two. Paul gave us some much needed tips for driving the ring of Kerry. We always had tea waiting for us when we got back in the evening. We will definitely be back to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin3235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just completed our 4th trip to Ireland, this time with our entire family (18 of us) celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, one year late. Over those trips we have stayed at many fine hotels and manor houses, but none as welcoming and comfortable as Loch Lein. In any future trip we will head directly to Loch Lein. In addition to the beautiful scenery one of the joys of an Irish visit is interacting with the Irish people. There are no finer representatives of the Irish than Paul and Annette. The rooms, the food, and the staff are all terrific. They prepared a dinner for 15 of us that each found excellent. Sitting in their lounge after a day of sightseeing and reminiscing the days activities was a joy. We also met many other nice travelers from around the world who were drawn to Loch Lein.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of six agrees that staying Loch Lein for four nights was a first-class experience. We all felt at home while experiencing five-star hospitality from Paul, Annette and staff. We started each day with a lovely full-service breakfast overlooking the hills of Killarney. From there we would set out for the day on an adventure complete with maps and tips from the hosts.
If a hotel could receive more than five stars, Loch Lein would easily earn the rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

When you walk up to the hotel, you are kind of overwhelmed by the view from the lawn. I noticed all arriving guests had this same wow moment and it did not take long for us to settle on the lawn overlooking the lake. A wealth of tranquility supported by the excellent service from the staff the entire time. Nothing was too much, excellent support with booking restaurants, a tee time etc. The room was spacious and spotless. If you are looking for real relaxing time in and around Killarney, look no further.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing