We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a beautiful property and location. Hosts were amazing and always available and eager to help with everything from getting you a drink, helping with the luggage or providing recommendations. Views of lake, islands and mountains were stunning. Great dinner but we didn't stay to check out breakfast as we slept in. Even though we were past the breakfast time however they still offered us breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry147257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place was wonderful, a decent sized and beautifully presented room. The Hotel itself is in an inspiring setting near the lake. The staff were wonderful and helpful. My husband was ill when we arrived and we needed to find a doctor. All arranged in a couple of minutes - so helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights we were there and the food was also wonderful and well presented. Breakfasts also great. Very reasonably priced for the quality I thought. Would recommend this to anyone for a base while exploring Killarney, Dingle Peninsula and the Rink of Kerry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family of 14 descended on Annette and Paul our first night in Ireland. After exploring our way from Shannon to Killarney, we just wanted to relax. Girard was amazing as he helped us at their very quaint bar which we could relax at before we had their delicious dinner that night. (do not skip dessert!) It was great to walk to the lake and enjoy the beautiful scenery. We even had a rainbow! We stayed for 2 nights and I wished we could have stayed more! Do not miss breakfast. The food was delicious and they have take away cups for coffee. Annette, Paul and Girard were awesome. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: A view of the lake or a view of the sheep pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A great experience here. Not too expensive, a beautiful view of the lake and a really great breakfast. The thing that sets this hotel apart however is the hospitality of all the staff. Very pleasant stay and highly recommended. A good base for exploring Killarney, Kerry Dingle areas.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When planning our recent trip to Ireland we used Tripadvisor. This property had received excellent reviews and we can see why. The hosts, Annette and Paul, as well as their staff, were generous and 'right-on' with their recommendations for tours, sites and restaurants. They could not have been more helpful, finding us bus tours of the 'Ring of Kerry', helping with my husband and daughter's golf reservation at Waterville, even finding us pizza delivery (which we ate in their delightful little bar, which we had all to ourselves!) Beautiful property and garden setting on the lake, wonderful full Irish breakfast, helpful staff and good location. It doesn't get any better than this for Killarney! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a beautiful room with bay windows facing the lake. Be sure to ask for this. The setting is beautiful with lovely grounds and the dining room faces the lake. You can have anything you want for breakfast and it is served beautifully. The rooms are very large and quiet. The owners and hosts are charming and very helpful and they go out of their way to be accommodating. Tea and cookies are served in your room if you want it as well as wine. We sat in the afternoon in wonderful chairs reading facing the lake.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake with bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We really liked Loch Lein; its location, the warmth and hospitality of the staff and the excellent service. Our room was large and comfortable. The furnishing was homely rather than grand. There was a good size bathroom with a nice shower. The bed was comfortable and there was no shortage of pillows and cushions. There is something solid and substantial about Loch Lein.
Breakfast was very good and served by friendly staff who made us welcome and looked after us extremely well. Nothing was too much!
I think this must have been the only place where I did not hear a sound at night! Absolute silence. Needless to say we slept well.
The view from the front rooms is stunning. From the hotel a short walk takes you to an idyllic place where water is clear and still and there is perfect peace.
I loved the place and would go back to it again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Soraya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £124 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing